Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
Banger-GT

Type: Putt and Approach
Diameter: 21.1cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Discraft Pro D

Banger-GT
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 04-04-08
Submitted by colombo117 colombo117@gmail.com
PDGA:
Location: Northern Michigan
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I have two of these putters. I bought a new one yesterday cause I wanted another to practice with. They fly with a slight anhyzer when thrown hard, and dead straight when thrown with a slight hyzer release. They float real nicely so if you miss your target they aren't going to go flying past it. This putter is my favorite and I use it all the time on short drives <200. The groove top feels great and putting your thumb in it feels very natural.
Posted 06-04-07
Submitted by Jason Williamson discgolferjw@yahoo.com
Location: Des Moines, IA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I work for a local sports store & have had plenty of time to practice putting indoors with the full gamut of putters... I have to say that althoughthe Aviar & Challenger are nice putters, the Banger GT is a great disc. It's very straight & holds its line VERY well beause of the bead under the rim. Recently I've been playing my local, shorter course w/ my putter & Roc only - to practice my short game - and have to say that I'm in love with how this putter will drive & hold a slight hyzer line, will hold a slight anny line as well. It holds onto whatever line you release it on. The Thumb track & Rim work very well together for hyzer putting, banging, or straddle/loft putting. TWO THUMBS UP!
Posted 05-07-06
Submitted by Michael Erickson sssdm24@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I have been playing with the Banger GT for 2 months now. After a weak or so adjustment period, I am starting to really enjoy it. The grove top tech mixed with the tacknies of the plastic give it a comfortable cofident grip. It holds a great line on long putts, and stays in the chains on short putts. I even use it off the tee on some holes under 240ft, it flys both anhyzer, and hyzer well. Overall very plaesed will stay in my bag for sometime.
Posted 04-25-06
Submitted by Harold Bramton pagan.harold@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: If you are looking for a putter that will also take a 200' tunnel straight shot and make it look so easy this is the disc! I bought this disc for windy day putts and as a slightly more stable companion to my putt'r. I was not disappointed. I use my banger for windy putts, tunnel approaches, short hyzer shots, and for some holes 200' or so with a moving river on either side. Shots I used to hate, now are pure honey! My only complaint is the durability on Pro-Line D. If Discraft releases this mold in Elite X grab it!
Posted 03-24-06
Submitted by Jason Lewis jason.lewis@gmail.com
PDGA: 27961
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I have now been using the Banger for about 2 weeks and I am just ordered 4 more. I started about a year ago and my putter up to this point has been a wizard. While I think the wizard is good for me in windy conditions, I have always been unable to properly release it to make it fly "my" line. I decided at a tournament of all places to buy a Banger and give it a go. I was able to immediately able to release the disc prefect for my putts and was making putts I would usually miss. I love this disc for upshots as well, although with the success I had with the banger I have ordered a buzzz-gt to give it a try as well. Thanks Discraft for a great putter.
Posted 03-06-06
Submitted by Mike D not the guy on ebay superhonkey@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: Any
Review: I have always kept a mix of all manufacturers in the bag which I feel is a benefit for any player. As far as putters go, it has been a long, flip-flopping journey. Right now I've got two banger gt's in the putter slot. They feel great. The blend of the plastic is very grippy even in wet conditions, i.e. Buckhorn Open '06 day one. Wooooo! Fun in the rain. The disc is more firm than a Swirl Apx or the JK-Pro Aviar X, but softer than DX Aviars. The thumb track seems to put the weight of the disc on the fingers (if you use a fan grip or modified fan grip with first finger on the front edge of the disc) while allowing the thumb and hand to remain relaxed. This helps me in not griplocking the putter and I have less of a tendancy to "push" those stressfull puts into the wrong side of the chains. The bead on these discs is monsterous making for a great place to put that first finger on shorter puts. Warning! These discs do like to roll!! I read annother review that claimed floppyness. If the disc is floated in zero wind on a flat and grassy green, maybe it will flop. My experience is this: If the disc hits the basket or catches an edge on the way down, it's rolling. The plastic is too firm to flop on angled surfaces. The easy solution, Don't put to miss. My overall impression of this disc is very positive. They're only 8 bucks so why not try it. Don't fear the thumb track, unless you keep razorblades in it, then definitly fear the thumbtrack. BUTRUS BUTRUS.
Posted 02-16-06
Submitted by Channon Quillen channon@hot.rr.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I've been playing Disc Golf for almost a year. My one and only putt and approach for the first six months was a 175 Innova DX Birdie. This disc is great for go-for-it shots as it sits-down and rolling is minimal. It also has the Thumtrac which I really like. I then purchased a 174 Innova First Run Pro Aviar. I used the Aviar for putting and the Birdie for approach. I became quite accurate with both of them. However, the Aviar tends to roll on missed putts - very frustrating! Enter the Discraft Banger-GT! It has the top profile of a Birdie and the flying edge of the Aviar. The groove top is awesome and feels great too. I use it for putt and approach. It will sit down like the Birdie on approach shots and fly like the Aviar on putts. The Birdie and Aviar have been replaced with two 172 Discraft Banger-GT discs.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page
and Aviar have been replaced with two 172 Discraft Banger-GT discs.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page