Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
Elite XL

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.0cm
Available Weights: 165-174g
Plastic: Discraft Elite X

Elite XL
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
The XL is one of the farthest flying discs ever made. This disc holds an almost perfect line on big throws yet manages to be a very easy disc for beginners to control. Now everyone can reach their maximum distance with the XL.
Maximum Flight Speed 7.0
Resistance To High Speed Turn 4.0
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 6.5
Propensity To Fade 4.0
Glide 8.0
Relative Distance 10.0
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 2.0
Predictability 2.0
Uniformity Of Break In Period 3.0
Overall Durability 4.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 09-22-07
Submitted by Jean jean.christyn@club-internet.fr
Disc Weights: 172
Review: My favorite !

Highly controlable, thow it flat it will keep a wonderfull line. Right turn are easy to throw also.

One should have in the bag or better in the hand !

Have nice flights !
Posted 08-15-07
Submitted by Tim timothymichael@gmail.com
Location: Madison, WI
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Great forehand disc. I can really control my forehand throws with the XL, flies straight and slightly understable when thrown with power. Good s-curving disc, predictable flight, the only problem I have is I max out at distance around 275 feet with my forehand.
Posted 03-20-06
Submitted by David C Location: Chattanooga
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 165
Review: For me, this disc is more stable with a scotch more glide than a Cyclone, and easier to trow than an XS. Only due to the recent advent of wider rimmed drivers (Orc, Beast, Crush, Avenger, ect) do I not use this disc as my primary driver. I can actually throw this prety far into a headwind.
Posted 02-18-06
Submitted by Scottie D dorknader@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I love this disc it is very rare i like a disc from the first throw. I use the JLS a lot for tight spots were i need to go straight this disc felt just as good for that kind of accuracy. But seems to have more glide.this is my first Discraft driver, I'm gonna like this disc alot.
Posted 08-05-05
Submitted by Alan Sweeton afsweeton@liberty.edu
PDGA: 22691
Location: Princeton, NJ and Lynchburg, VA
Level: Advanced Am
Avg Drive: 325-350
Disc Weights: 174
Review: Ahhh, the XL. What can I say about the XL. I started playing about 3 years ago and the XL was the first disc I bought in the better plastic (Elite X) and was also a tye dye. I loved this disc. I used to throw only tomahawks and this disc was my bread and butter, I cannot say enough good things about it. I could throw it for regular backhand throws and it would go fairly straight, but I got the most consistency out of my tomahawks. I eventually had to give up the hammer throws to improve my game, but thats beside the point. I still have this disc in my bag and I use it sparingly. If I'm in a tight spot and I need a gentle tomahawk I will use this, or for a long field roller (that's how much I beat this bad boy up). If you need a good tomahawk disc, whether you use them all the time or only when you're in the rough, I would recommend an XL above all else. And when you hit enough trees with it, you end up with a roller!! Done deal.
Posted: 4-08-05
Submitted by eggstu@yahoo.com
This is my favorite disc. I do not think it is anyting like Innova's Eagle like one reviewer said. The XL will fly straight where you want it to and the glide at the end is amazing. The fade at the end is not as extreme as Eagle, Beast but more like a Buzz (midrange). I use this stable driver for 95% of my drives only because it goes exactly where I tell it to. My drive distance also is increased when using this disc by a good 10-20 ft. I would easily give this disc a 10 out of 10 but maybe its just me. I think this is a good disc for any skill level but beginners might get alot more help out of it because it flys so straight. I have 2 backups of this disc in case anything bad ever happens to it. If your XL is older it tends to become understable just a tad but still keeps the glide and straightness that its known for.
Posted: 5-14-02
Submitted by Derek Kainz <derekkainz@hotmail.com>
This is a good disc. I tend to turn it over (elite) to the right sometimes though and it won't come back. I think the eagle is a little better disc with similair distance.
Posted: 02-18-02
Submitted by Jon Turner <oxdisc@thets.demon.co.uk>
The XL is a fast straight driver with a slightly overstable fade. When new, it will hold a straight line when released flat before gliding virtually straight then fading slightly left (RHBH throw). As the disc ages, it starts to become slightly more understable and fades less. I have also found that they are ok with light winds but strong wind can cause them problems. I use XLs as my workhorse driver - they will do what they are thrown to do, which can cause problems. When I started playing, I was lucky enough to already have a straight flat throw so the XL fitted in nicely. However, if you don't, the XL will hold whatever line you put onto it including wrong ones! In spite of this, the XL's long range and great glide make it a good beginner disc as it will offer easy rewards of long drives as a player learns to throw flat and straight.
Posted: 7-26-01
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The XL is a fast, slightly overstable driver. This disc has a fairly deep rim compared to a lot of drivers and a moderatley high dome in the ballpark of a JLS or SE Teebird. Speedwise it is a hair slower than an X2, closer to the speed of a Gazelle or Cheetah. The XL is a very long driver with tremendous glide. It does have quite a bit of low speed fade for a straight driver but I guess that is the trade-off for having a disc that keeps gliding and doesn't die and drop. The fade seems to me to vary a little depending upon how it's thrown. Thrown slight hyzer or flat it will have quite a bit of fade, a little more than a Cheetah and a little less than an Eagle, but given a slight anyhzer it will maintain a nice glide in a straighter path with less fade. The XL does not have a very high resistance to high speed turn. I find it about as easy to turn over as a Polaris LS or Cheetah which can lead to long gliding s-curves or if you turn it over a lot, a roller. If you turn the XL over too much, it will not fight very hard to fade back left. For that reason I do not recommend this disc for forehand throwers or headwinds. The XL may be the longest disc for the novice thrower but also might be a bit tough to control due to its glide and fade but players who are accustomed to smaller-diameter drivers should find it controllable and far flying. This is the first disc I broke the 300 ft. barrier with.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page