Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
Elite Z Buzzz

Type: Midrange
Diameter:
Available Weights:
Plastic: Discraft Elite Z

Elite Z Buzzz
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
The Buzzz is a straighter flying version of our popular mid-range driver the Wasp. Thrown hard this disc will hold any line you put it on.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 02-13-08
Submitted by Garrett gmg51@yahoo.com
Location: Whitmore Lake, MI
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 275
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I have been playing for 6 months now. When I started I was concerned with distance. Now that I have been arround better players I am more concerened with acuracy. Thats where the buzz comes in for me. I have three of them and thay are all different my new one is the 172 z buzz. this one is my go to mid it was its brother 173 flx but this one handels much better. if thrown flat this disc will go straight for me on what ever line i put it on. I love the buzz started with the roc dont care for that one
Posted 08-14-07
Submitted by Anonymous Location: Arlington, Texas
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Absolute straightet disc ever. Anyone that is looking for a disc to start out with and learn how to play... I hope you get this disc. For those that have been playing and do not have this disc.... Need to get one. I love my roc like none other but, when i have a 3 foot gap between trees and about 150-200 to go to a hole out comes the buzz. Terrific for sidearm approaches, and backhand. Go get one... Innova still rules though
Posted 10-22-06
Submitted by Dan Anderson frontman311@gmail.com
Location: Michigan
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: Any
Review: I believe it was Blake who said himself that a Buzz is 5% longer than a Roc, but I'll go ahead and review it anyway!

I recieved my fav. Z Buzz about 15 months ago. Brand new they will fly straight and fade just about as much as a Roc at the end. However if you throw it on an anhyzer (and throw nose down!) it will hold that line as long as you need it, same with hyzers. This disc is now beat up for Z plastic, and throw flat and fast it will turn HARD to the right. Naturally, thrown w/ needed hyzer angles it will flip and turn, flip and fly straight, etc...

The only thing keeping this disc from being your main disc off the teepad (300'-350') is your own inconsistencies!
Posted 10-08-06
Submitted by Mike Phillips starboy_@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 177g
Review: The Buzzz was one of the first discs that I learned to throw. I got one when they first came out and I have loved the Buzzz ever since. Recently I purchased a "2nd 1st Run Buzzz" as a fundraiser for the '06 Player's Cup tournament. It came with a really cool mini and a certificate. The original mold variation was used complete with the "Wasp" writing on the inner rim. The plasic used is a soft, slightly opaque version of Z similar in feel to the first runs.

The flight of this Buzzz is definetely a bit different than that of the regular Z or ESP. While it stills retains the overall straight feel of every Buzzz, it is the fastest Buzzz I've thrown. It also seemed a bit more high speed understable than other Buzzes with excellent carry and glide. Because of the superior speed and glide closer to the ESP the standard stiff Z, I think this Buzzz is probably the longest variant to date. I was throwing it at a 390' hole for practice and though I failed to keep it from going understable both tries I felt like I could hyzer flip this disc to 400' without too much effort.
Posted 10-05-06
Submitted by moonlit Location: MN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 178
Review: I love my Buzzz! I throw RHBH and use my heavy 178 Buzzz for mid shots up to about 270 where I can count on it to give me a predictable fade. I can crank it and make it go straight if I want. But for those straighter shots I usually reach for my Breeze(173) or Glide(174). The Z Buzzz is a great mid. If I were to enter a one disc tournament, The Buzzz is my disc.
Posted 08-21-06
Submitted by Stairyo stairyo@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 178
Review: The Elite Z Buzzz is an amazlingly straight approach disc. It took me a few rounds to get the hang of it, but once I did, it became my primary disc for the 100-225' range. It's just stable enough to need a little bit of power to keep it straight, so I use a Rhyno for anything under 100 ft. It will also turn over if I try to go for more than 250', but for anything in between it threads like a needle. The one major draw back I have found is that it will bounce like a superball when I hit a tree at even medium power. I want to get an Elite X Buzzz to see if it corrects this problem. My KC Pro Roc has the same super-straight flight now that it is beat in, but the Buzzz did it right off the shelf. I highly recomend this disc for anyone who is looking for a straight shooter and doesn't want to take the time to work-in a Roc.
Posted 07-11-06
Submitted by kgomez kgomez21@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 178
Review: Z-Buzzz is a great disc. I personally like the max weight 178 gram z plastic. It is more stable then the lighter wieghts. I found that the lighter wieghts flipped a little with high speed torque. The 178 ones are more stable and will not flip if thrown correctly. I love it for controlled tunnel shots. They fly farther then you think. Compare with your fairway drivers and you see that it can fly pretty far for a mid-range.
Posted 06-07-06
Submitted by Chris Kortsha Disc Weights: 175
Review: I love this disc!!! So straight, so true, this disc is a life saver. I can throw it on any line and it will just hold, hyzer, anhyzer, or straight. I throw this disc just about every chance I get. It truly has changed the way I look at some holes.
Posted 05-23-06
Submitted by Louis Doench blotzphoto@gmail.com
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Disc Weights: 176
Review: I dunno if its me or what, but the Z-Buzz has not lived up to expectations. I find it too overstable for most of my approach shots, but it still turns over too easy when i drive with it. It also catches whatever wind there is, i guess because of the wide diameter, and can seriously fly off line. For Hyzer approaches I reach for my MR-X and for straights I've been grabbing a DX Roc. The Buzz is now on the trading block.
Posted 04-04-06
Submitted by Keith Location: KY
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 176, 178, 179
Review: The Z-Buzzz is one of the straightest midrange discs that I've ever had the pleasure to throw. I am an AM player who has used the Z-Buzzz as my primary option for backhand shots straight and hyzer, 150 to 300 feet since I started playing. This disc has stayed in the bag through my novice days of chasing every fad and new disc that I read about on the internet, too. And I don't see it leaving anytime soon, either. Especially not after recording a fairway ace last week with it...but enough about me. Let's talk about this disc.

I've consumed 3 of these discs in the past year. These are great discs for players of all skill levels, as they are crazy overstable, and the larger diameter can help players with less power get more D. It's been my experience that the Z plastic on the Buzzz does "beat in" much quicker than the Z plastic on Discraft's Z drivers. For me, a Z Buzzz typically loses it's "newness" in about 3-4 months. Your results may vary, but my experience comes from using the Buzzz exclusively as my only midrange for straight and hyzer shots. So, they get used A LOT. And they still are good discs after they get beat in, they just lose their ability to be throw into a headwind and come back. And I really need that in my midrange, so I have to swap them out - no big deal really.

I'd recommend them for any player that wants a controllable midrange, newbies that just HAVE to have the taste of premium plastic, and as a stand-in for all those cherished beat Rocs of the world that will turn, flip, roll and play dead on command. A Z-Buzzz will do the same for you in a short amount of time, but last much longer!
Posted 03-16-06
Submitted by Sean Foster sean1950@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 169 grams
Review: Sean Foster - Houston, TX I am a RHSA player and use the Buzzz Elite Z on 80% of my approaches and upshots. Having injured my shoulder I do not have much power with a RHBH throw, but the Buzzz lets me reach 200' with no problem with a backhand. Straight as an arrow from 50' to 200' I also use it a great deal for skip shots around obstacles and find it to skip easily and predictably. It is the one disc I would never play without and if I had to play with only one disc this would be it. I would love to see a disc this stable with a longer range.
Posted 02-24-06
Submitted by The Eradictor Location: Georgia
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 173
Review: When most players are starting out, the main thing they want to know is "which disc goes straight?". This is it. This is the straightest, and best all around disc that I've ever thrown. It really doesn't even take much of a toss to keep it straight for a long way. Even as I continue to gain distance on my throws this disc still never turns over unless I screw up and pull it in that direction. The Z plastic is also indestructable. I use the Buzzz as my main overhand "chop through the limbs" disc and I've managed to slam it fairly hard into some rather unforgiving trees with no noticeable effect. It's still the same arrow straight frisbee as the day I bought it. She's also a creditable putter. Viva la Buzzz!!!!!!!!1111111eleventyseven
Posted 11-24-05
Submitted by Anonymous Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 172g
Review: I recently won a 172 Z-Buzzz and wow what a disc. Midrange Discs like these may quite possibly render all fairway drivers obsolete. You can throw this disc hard, and it will hold its line all through its flight, finishing at the same angle you threw it at. I would kind of classify it as a Midrange driver, it is faster than most midranges and i do not find it useful for approach shots (thats when the classic roc comes into play). Stability wise this disc is dead on stable. Unless you really over torque it you are not going to turn this disc over, and with all this stability somehow it barely has any fade at all. Basically if you do turn this disc over unwillingly, odds are that it is a technique issue. It is my go-to disc for holes 260-310 feet or so with a straight flight path to the basket, great for tunnel shots! Another great thing about this disc is it's durability. Z plastic is the toughest stuff out right now, and this disc has a great feel in the hand. It flys great out of the box and will continue to do so for a long time no matter how many trees you nail. This is a big advantage over the Roc, which is probably the Buzzz's biggest competitor in Innovas line. Bottom line, get it.
Posted 09-29-05
Submitted by Chad chad.sanders@insightbb.com
Location: Louisville, KY
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This disc has been a pure savior. Plenty of tight wooded short courses in my area and this disc gets more use than anyhting else in my bag. From tee to chains, it's the best all-around disc that I've ever used. I would put it up against a Roc any day.
Posted: 9-13-04
Submitted by MattNMisawa matthew@beattheindiedrum.com
The Z-Buzzz is most definitely the straightest disc I have ever thrown right out of the box. It isn't necessary to bang it off trees for a few rounds, beat it with a mallet or anything. I am an intermediate amateur RHBH thrower. My Buzzz is a 176g opaque (first-run I believe?) With this said, you do need to put a bit of power behind the throw to keep the straight line. Initially I had a problem with this disc going far past my target. It took a while to stop underestimating it. It easily could be used for drives on 200'-250' foot holes. For me, anything over that usually ends up with me turning the disc over a bit much (as stated below). There's a ridiculously tight tunnel hole here at the Misawa Japan course with an incredibly low ceiling. This is the only disc I can have come out the other side, aside from maybe my Leopard. Once I figured out how to tame this disc it quickly took over the space in my bag the Roc/Gremlin used to occupy. The Buzzz has saved my behind on many a shanked drives. I haven't been playing that long but this is the most excited I've been about a disc since I picked up my first disc. Long may it live!
Posted: 1-15-04

Submitted by Todd Jones jtj424@hotmail.com
I love this new disc, it has become my favorite mid range shot. I've been playing for around a year and have begun copeteing in some of the Amatuer tournies around Dallas and I picked up a Buzz at the TX10 and since then the Buzz has not left my bag. I gennerally keep it for shots less than 280 ft because when I try to go farther with it I have a tendency to turn it over a little too much. Im not sure if that is because of the disc or because of my throw. On shots less than 280 it has been unbelievable for me since I started using it, I have made four of my longest shots of all time. I really agree with the prev post in that it is fast and accurate with a flat hyzer towards the end but like I said my accuracy really slips when I try to throw this disc too far.

I also throw a Innova Cobra for longer mid range shots and the difference I see with mine is that I am much more accurate with the Buzz but not as long, and there is also a huge difference in the way the disc's feel. My Cobra is very sharp and the Buzz is smooth as a babies ***. I love it!!!
Posted: 10-21-03
Submitted by ThaDiscGolfMan@msn.com
The Buzzz is the straightest flying mid-range I have ever thrown. Discraft dubs it a "super straight modified Wasp" and that description is perfect. I release this disc with lots of speed and a little hyzer and let it glide towards the hole. I use this disc on holes up to 325'. As for speed goes...this is probably the fastest mid-range I've thrown, but yet, it doesn't take away any accuracy. The disc will fly dead straight if you throw it with a little hyzer. It will hold a smooth hyzer line if you put a lot of hyzer on it and give it enough height. It will do a nice little smooth turning shot and fade back if you release it flat. (not that much turn) It will do an even bigger turn when you put a little anhyzer on it. It will hold any line you throw it on just like Discraft says. (Barring strong wind) You DO have to have a decent arm though to get it to hold all those lines so it isn't probably a great beginner's disc. This disc is so versatile. It is probably the longest mid-range I've thrown. Its the farthest one in my bag now. The Roc is a close second by the way. And not to mention that the rim is smooth and feels great in your hand. The Z plastic they used on this disc feels softer and grippier than some of their other Z plastic. I love it! Wow, Discraft is sure makin some great discs lately. This disc is great. There is already a bug 'buzzz' about it. And for good reason. Do yourself a favor and go get BUZZZED. You will be glad you did!
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page