Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
Elite Z Crush

Type: Driver
Diameter:
Available Weights: 160-174g
Plastic: Discraft Elite Z

Elite Z Crush
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
The CRUSH, overstable extra long range driver is a wide rim, flat top disc that is debuting in our Elite-Z plastic. The CRUSH is a very fast and controlable extra long driver with excellent glide.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 04-14-08
Submitted by Dane Kehm
Location: Northern California
Disc Weights: 173
Review: im not quite sure where i rate on the power spectrum but i can toss a flick 390' straight no problem. this disc for me is great for longer turnover drives from 350 to 400 feet. but when i finesse this disc it goes soooo straight.
Posted 03-17-08
Submitted by Troy kasetroy@isu.edu
Disc Weights: 169
Review: Frankly, I don't like the disc that much. However, I often run the course in the dark, so in the interest of using up only one light I carry the Crush. It is too overstable for me (max dist. of 300') and I lose distance on backhand. However, it is a great forehand disc because of the overstability.
Posted 06-22-07
Submitted by Trey Paschal razor003@yahoo.com
Level: Adv. Am
Disc Weights: 173
Review: The Crush is my favorite overstable driver. Though listed as 1.8 in stability by Discraft, I feel it actually plays as a 2.0 or higher. I throw forehand and put a lot of spin on my disc, but the Crush will always hold its line before fading hard at the end of its flight no matter how hard I throw it. It also makes for a wonderful headwind driver. I very rarely can turn it over even into a very strong headwind. Not a disc for a beginner, but great for anyone looking for a power long-distance disc.
Posted 05-13-07
Submitted by Tee Jay superpwnstar@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I find this disk to be a pretty decent s disc, but i use it for T-Hawking more than anything, as well as the crush pro-d.
Posted 03-15-07
Submitted by Anonymous jimambroze@comcast.net
Disc Weights: 172-174
Review: One of the best discs out there. It's very predictable flight and is a great overall disc for a ton of "get out of trouble" situations. When I started out learning how to throw sidearm I had worked my way up the ladder to the 'Z Crush (with the step up in stability rating of 1.8). It's fast and just overstable enough to be able to just rip it. I'm throwing this disc as a long fairway driver with pin point accuracy. Probably the most reliable disc in my bag! If you don't have one - get one!!
Posted 12-23-06
Submitted by Tim Mirabal batigerstud6969@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: The crush is a great Driver i can get some major distance out of it over a summer though it has turned in to a monster turnover disc i can throw turnover dirves around 390 now. I can throw my crush with a big hyzer angle and it will have an S flight pattern and will go aroun 430 but you need a lot of room to do it
Posted 05-30-06
Submitted by Gus Mendiola mendiola260@yahoo.com
Location: Austin, Texas
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 173
Review: I have been playing for 3 years now and I have two long range drivers I use about 95% of the time. They are the elite Z XL and Crush. At first, I would only use the XL, but when my power and distance improved it wouldn't cut it. Yes, the XL was perfect in a huge open space for maximum distance since I could easily use the helix throw, but in a straight narrow fairway with obstructions on either side, it would turn over quick when I "ripped" it in the same way. So I searched and searched for that one driver I could throw with the same power as I did the XL. One I could throw in narrow fairways, that would stay straight, maybe slightly turn over, then glide slightly back and land about 325 feet from me. After about 5 discs that didn't cut it, I borrowed a disc from a friend. It had a wide rim and felt great in my hand. In fact, I had the sensation that this wide rim I was feeling was sure to make the disc hard to turn over. This being true or untrue, I stepped to the tee and "ripped" it. It felt great and flew with all the characteristics I described before. In fact, my first dirve with the CRUSH, the disc I'm describing, went a eye opening 425 feet at Moody's disc golf range. It is very fast. To tell you the truth, I believe I have a strong drive, and no matter how much I put behind the CRUSH, I can never seem to turn it over. If you put enough power in your drive, it will give you a great nice long straight drive. It has not failed me yet.
Posted 04-22-06
Submitted by Kelly S abc@att.net
Disc Weights: 168
Review: Because I throw sidearm, the best discs for me are not the more popular, backhand discs. I normally throw my firebird for a long straight throw with a left turn at the end, but I decided to get a crush because it was supposed to be good. It worked amazingly well. This disc is much more forgiving than the firebird because if I don't release the firebird flat it doesn't go straight. I can drive for an average of about 25 more feet and I hardly ever miss a shot. Any sidearmers out there who want a farther throwing disc get a crush.
Posted 09-28-05
Submitted by Jesse Hill JHill1014@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 170
Review: I love My crush, I am a beginner in the sport and this disc have been my biggest threat to others that I am playing with, My throw is starting to come along and the crush is the reson for that.. Overall I love this disc and would tell anyone to buy it
Posted 09-09-05
Submitted by Luke Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I was throwing a 150 class Flick as my primary driver, it worked great while new, but lost it's predictablility when it got beat up, I finally ended up losing it. I was looking for another disc that would fly the distance, be durable, predictable, and not turn at the end as hard as my heavier Flick. The Crush looked to be the right disc on paper, and while it did fly far, I found it to turn over to easy, and so I lost the predictability. It flew great, and was predictable when I didn't do my full snap, so if your throwing a flash, and turning it over a bit much the crush would work well. I ended up going with a Champion Orc, it's just enough more overstable to not turn over as much, and it seems to always come back to finish the S.
Posted 06-28-05
Submitted by Will Monson monson67@hbci.com
Location: South East Minnesota
Level: Advanced Am
Avg Drive: 400-450
Disc Weights: 172-175
Review: This is a great disc, however I wouldn't recommend for beginners. If you can put enough snap on it (More spin), then buy this disc. The Crush and Flash are almost identical discs, except the crush is more over stable. Both discs are EXTREMELY fast, but the flash flies very straight, whereas the crush is a great hyzer (left hook) or helix (S-curve) disc. Buy it....Now.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Nathan nathan.collins@oc.edu Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 300
Throws: Righty
Throwing Style(s): Sidearm
Disc Weights: 172
This disc rocks my face off. I throw sidearm, and I was useing mainly the EXP and Firebird before. Now it\'s hard not to pick the crush on anyhole over 270. I increased my throw from the firebird about 10-30 ft. It is tough sometimes in the wind though, but most of the time I dont have a big problem and play the hook. But keep a firebird just in case. I do need to get another one though, lost it in the pond today... freakin wind
Posted: 6-29-04
Submitted by DarthHippo@aol.com
The Discraft Crush, 175 weight, is the first wide-rimmed driver I bought, and I've been nothing but impressed by it. It's fast out of my hand, and, at the time I bough it, was faster than any disc I'd ever thrown. I have since purchased a Flash, and it seems to be about the same speed as the Crush.

I don't have a huge arm and max out at around 300 feet. The Crush is the most overstable disc I can throw for that distance in calm conditions. It reliably finishes left for me, after a long, straight flight. Before I bought the Crush, my bread and butter driver was an X-XS, or the occasional Innova DX T-bird. The Crush is more overstable than both of these discs. The best description, however, is that the Crush is a more overstable Flash. This disc is highly recommended, and one of my favorites
Posted: 11-24-03
Submitted by Bert Whitlow discgolfman@charter.net
I have never submitted a review before, but I am so impressed with the first run of Discraft's new Crush that I feel the need to spread the word. I am a moderately hard RHBH thrower, and I am always looking to try out the latest discs to see if I can get a few more feet on my drives. I have NEVER thrown consistently as far as I did when I picked up a Crush for the first time last weekend. The disc is very fast off the tee and if you throw it hard with a slight hyzer it flattens out nicely about 150-200 feet down the fairway and then glides back for a beautiful "S" curve. I was throwing past holes that I have never been able to reach before at Gully Park in Fayetteville, AR (which is a beautiful open course, if you ever get a chance to play it). The disc did turn over a couple of times when there was a bit of a headwind, so I would still recommend carrying a Firebird or Beast (or a Wildcat or X2 if you are a Discraft-only diehard) to handle the wind, but a lot of my other discs just became obsolete as far as I am concerned.
Posted: 11-24-03
Submitted by Brandon Seltz snowpipe@yahoo.com
WOW!!! This Crush ROCKS! I just got this 172 Crush and im in love. I was looking for a disc with a little more stability than my 170 Beast and boy did I get it! This crush comes out fast, is straight stable at high speed, then gets floaty with a light fade at low speed. If I could tune in a perfect disc design, this would be it. My drives have increased by a good 20 feet, I think this is because it doesn't fade hard at the end, it just slowly dies off to the left. (Im throwing RHBH) It did take a day to figure out the deeper rim, but I swear im getting more snap now because of it. It does turn a bit in a headwind but hey, it's not over stable, just stable (for me). I bought it to replace a Valkyrie and a Beast that I lost, on the same day, in the same water hazard... Argh!! But I don't miss`em at all now... I just shot 3 under my best ever score! I've been a big fan of Innova's drivers recently, but Discraft has really got something here.
Posted: 10-21-03
Submitted by ThaDiscGolfMan@msn.com
The Discraft First Run Elite Z Crush Is an Extremely fast, wide-rimmed (like a Beast), fairly overstable, distance driver. I mostly throw this disc with hyzer and let it hold a slightly overstable line. This disc has tremendous glide. Meaning that it won't fade back hard at the end most of the time when thrown hard and released flat. It will just tail off slowly when it runs out of speed. This adds a lot of distance. And It does do nice s-curves too. Most of the time it will come back nicely after turning for a little while. It is just a tad more overstable than a Wildcat but the two discs are so much different because the Crush has more glide. One thing I don't recommend is to try and throw this disc in to a medium to strong headwind. It will look good for about 200 feet, dead straight, but then all of a sudden it will just turn right (I'm RHBH) and keep turning, never coming back. So don't throw this in to a strong headwind. Overall this is a very nice disc and has a place in my crowded bag any day. However, I still like My Elite X Wildcat a little better and can get a little more distance with that. The Crush, however, is more predictable. Good disc Discraft. Go pick one up and 'crush' some long drives.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page