Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
Elite Z Predator

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.3cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Discraft Elite Z

Elite Z Predator
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
The Predator streaks down the fairway like a big cat at top speed. It holds a line even in the wind and dives in to capture the game. The Predator is fast, overstable, and consistent.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 10-08-07
Submitted by brian chappell youngdavinci@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 169
Review: i carry 2 preds in my bag...a beat in 169 and new 164. the beat in will give you a nice helix when thown flat and with a little hyser will flip flat and cruise with a little fade. the new will fly flat for ever with a big fade finish. both are my #1 drivers for everything except a turn over shot. in upstate ny we have numerous heavily wooded courses and the pred is the most versatile disk in my bag. it has a smaller rim than the flick which makes it easier for cork screw thumbers. in an open field you can aim dead on the pin at release and it will drop on your aim point. once you beat it in...helix throws are a thing of beauty and can really stretch out your distance. dont let the 2.5 stability scare you...try a pred!
Posted 06-28-07
Submitted by Dan Worth worthdan@msu.edu
Disc Weights: 173
Review: The elite z predator is my favorite and most used disc. Very overstable. This disc is perfect in any head wind and perfect for shorter sidearm shots when other drivers are to long (my longer drivers are surges and avengers). It is also good for skip shots, the z plastic skips very well (I got my first ace with a skip shot using a z pred.). It also works great for getting around obstacles, just give it a little wrist flick. As you can see I absolutely love this disc and I think that everyone should have one. It is more of an advanced disc and could take a little bit to get used to, but when you do it is definitely worth it. The x and esp versions are also great, but I think that the z version is the best. If you don't have a pred. then go get one.

by the way... this website rocks!!!
Posted 06-12-07
Submitted by Damion K dreamz_22@yahoo.com
Location: Colorado
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Until recently I played pretty casual, throwing all Innova discs with a pretty weak backhand. A guy at the local course showed me the thumber, and off to the store I went. Somehow over looked the Z-Pred in my shopping but had the luck of finding one in good condition at the course. WOW!! If you throw a thumber at all this is the disc. I played alot of baseball in high school so throwing overhand came natural. Right now I know my arm is not in top shape at all, yet I can still throw it 280-300 feet with pin point accuracy. Start it out left and it comes back to the right with a very predictable fade. I use this disc for 14 out of the 18 holes on my home course (which thank god is fairly open) ranging between 192-402 feet. Since finding this disc I dropped my personal best from a 1 over par to 4 under par in about 4 weeks, it impacted my game that much. I have thrown the Pro D Venom, Elite Z Reaper, Star Beast, and Elite Z Xtra as thumber discs and in my opinion the Z-Pred is hands down the best of the bunch I have tried.
Posted 04-19-07
Submitted by bigs afsweeton@liberty.edu
PDGA: 22691
Location: new jersey
Level: Adv. Am
Disc Weights: 172, 174
Review: The Predator is an awesome disc. I didn't try it for the longest time, because I kept hearing/reading about how overstable it was. Eventually I learned that you need to have a good overstable disc in the bag. There are certain shots and lines that require it, and a less stable disc can't always do what an overstable pig can.

I don't use my Predator too often, but I will almost never go through an entire round without using it at least once. I use it most often for big spike hyzers where I want to land next to the basket and stick. I'll throw this shot over trees usually and can get pretty good distance this way if I need to. If I release it with hyzer almost vertically, it will stay vertical it's whole flight and come down right where I need it to. I use my Pred for the occasional sidearm, too, when I need to hook hard around an obstacle on an approach shot or short drive.

What the Predator is mainly good for is windy days. Playing in super heavy wind, I find I'll use the Predator for as many shots as I possibly can. On a wide open simple 150' approach shot, I'll find myself reaching for a Pred and throwing a big spike hyzer, because it's just that predictable. There is no variance in what this disc will do. It will go out, and it will go left, that's about it. If you're worried about wind or any other variables, go for a Pred because it will do the same thing for you everytime, that's what it does.

Also, if you want to throw a beat up Z Predator (which takes forever, I'm still trying...) then try out a Z Avenger. It is way more overstable than other versions of the Avenger, and acts like a nicely beat Z Predator. A little more distance while being less overstable.
Posted 10-06-06
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 174
Review: For a RHBH thrower who can only throw 300+, this 174 is way too overstable for my arm. I bought it for an overstable disc into headwinds. It is still too overstable for my arm. In calm wind conditions, I can only get midrange distance out of it. It DOES curve left hard and when I throw it low, I can get some nice skips from it.

I'll explore the heavier Z Crush for my headwinds... I will keep this disc in my practice bag. Maybe when I develop more snap, I will learn to love it. For now I will say that this is a disc for advanced players.
Posted 07-27-06
Submitted by todd boss_hogg426@yahoo.com
Location: Minnesota
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 172
Review: The most overstable disc in my arsenal, it loves to curve and will do so immediately unless you throw it hard. I love to throw it sidearm and its my first choice for getting around any obstacle. If thrown hard and properly, it gives good distance and a diving break towards the end of the flight and plants itself.
Posted 05-25-06
Submitted by diskgopher PDGA: 26907
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 171, 174
Review: The Z-Predator is an overstable driver that is fast, wind resistant, and has good low speed fade. Its flight path is between a tsunami and a firebird taking the best qualities of both. The nice thing about predators is the fade doesn't seem to kick in until a lower speed than most overstable drivers (firebird, monster, flick)giving it a slightly straighter flight path early but it has more glide, too, so it tends to tail off longer than most overstable drivers giving it more lateral movement later. This also makes it more effective at slower speeds so it will work better for some short trick shots. Speedwise I would say it is somewhere between a firebird and a tsunami (or between a sidewinder and an orc). All these qualities give it alot of versitility. I use mine for high sweep hyzers, knife hyzers, flex shots, side arm shots, and a light weight opaque one for late fades. I have heard some big guns use them for accuracy drives due to its predictablity. So if your considering an overstable driver give the z-pred a look.
Posted 04-29-06
Submitted by Harold Bramton pagan.harold@gmail.com
PDGA: 28296
Location: North Dakota
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 174
Review: In one word: HEADWIND. This disc is my favorite in a headwind. When the wind is in my face and wanting to take my cap off and play, this disc comes out of my bag and makes a beeline for the basket. Throw it hard, low and slightly right. Watch it streak through the air and then hit the ground for a stall. In winds that make the Innova fans pull out monsters, the predator sails smoothly. I watched strong headwinds turn over monsters with experienced players. They watched in disbelief when this "newb" pulled out the pred and slipped it right through and close to pin. After they picked their jaws off the ground they asked "what was that?!" I calmly answered predator in elite-z. If the hole is shorter and I'm gonna back off a bit in power I use the reaper. I love the low glide the pred has. when it runs out of steam it plants itself.
Posted: 9-23-03
Submitted by Ricardo Brewer Ricardo_Brewer@yahoo.com
The most overstable disc I own. I throw a 174 gram Predator side-arm when I need a for sure hook, even into the wind the disc has no problem turning. I have to make sure that I compensate for the overstability or throw it extra hard so that it doesn't turn into what I'm trying to go around. I get about 90% of the distance from the Predator that I get from say the Valkyrie or a. If not thrown hard the Predator will turn almost immediately in it's flight. I don't get much glide at the end of it's flight, it's extremely overstable at the end of it's flight causing it to come down hard, spinning and tumbling on the ground without much skip. The initial high speed turn is very predictable and handy. Popular at my home course with those that throw high hysers type drives.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page