Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
ESP Avenger SS

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.3cm
Available Weights: 165-174g
Plastic: Discraft ESP

ESP Avenger SS
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
We took the best aspects of the The Avenger -- its speed and glide -- and flatted up the edge. The result is a disc that flies longer and is easier to control. Ams will love it for its flat flight and smooth finish. Pros dig it for mondo turnovers and sky rollers that go forever!
Maximum Flight Speed n/a
Resistance To High Speed Turn n/a
Amount Of Low Speed Fade n/a
Propensity To Fade n/a
Glide n/a
Relative Distance n/a
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level n/a
Predictability n/a
Uniformity Of Break In Period n/a
Overall Durability n/a Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

Posted 05-07-08
Submitted by Luke Hanewall
Disc Weights: 174
Review: This disc is one of my favorites. I have had it for about a
year and it is well beaten in. This disc is amazing for sky rollers
or huge anhyzers. I recommend this disc to beginners who have trouble
throwing straight or advanced players looking for an anhyzer disc that
holds it lines.


Posted 04-09-08
Submitted by Nick Thompson nickothompson@comcast.net
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Avg Drive: 250
Disc Weights: 171-172 g
Review: This is hands down the best disc for people that throw under 300 ft on a drive, I have been playing fro years, but don't have a lot of snap, it flies dead nuts straight ! I would recommend this disc above any driver on the market for a beginner to intermediate lv player, and anyone playing in the AM 3 TOURNEMENTS that doesn't have a powerful drive above 300 feet. This is defiantly straighter flying than my XL, which I also use, but for different purposes, like for drinving into a head wind, or for anhy's , just because the Avenger ss isn't very good at the Anhy's.

Posted 03-29-08
Submitted by Dustin Griffith DutNC@yahoo.com
Location: Catawba NC
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 170
Review: Just purchased one of these to test out on hard anhyzer lines and as a roller. Not overly impressed with either one. When thrown with a anhyzer release it holds the line really well, however it is very sensitive and if given any more then a tad it will flip over into a roller. As a roller it was eh. The ESP plastic seems to "flex" or "bend" on impact with ground which seems to take away from it considerably. When thrown flat this disc is incredibly straight and would probably make a good beginner disc, but if your looking for a disc for the hard turning anhyzer shots this isnt it. For long anhyzers/turnovers I would suggest a Innova Sidewinder.
Posted 03-27-08
Submitted by BigT
Location: Wisconsin
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 168g
Review: This disc has got to be the most Flippy disc on the planet. Like one of the other reviews, this disc is too flippy (it turns over too quickly) for any useful drive. it is even too flippy ever for a roller. It turns over Hits the ground straight up but as it rolls it continues to Flip over and stops on its face. The FLX Avenger SS, on the other hand is a great straight flyer. I guess because it has a flatter face it has an ability to resist turn over. So, if your going to get an Avenger SS, get the FLX version. Just another note these disc aren't very long either. I can throw my XL farther than either SS.
Posted 02-29-08
Submitted by moonlit
Location: MN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 169
Review: The SS for me stands for Super-Squirrely. When I put even the slightest amount of annie on my release with this disc, it goes right-right-right with total loss of control. I bought it as a straight tunnel type disc. I could never tame it. I have much better results with my Star Leopard. It never made into my bag after testing it. It might make a good beginner driver. Even then I still recommend Leopards to new players.
Posted 01-18-08
Submitted by Anonymous
Location: Michigan
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 167
Review: I recently purchased a new Avenger SS in 167g, my previous one weighed 174. I was expecting this new one to be a little more over stable but that was not the case with my new 167. This thing will turn over if you throw it farther than 200'. The old 174 I had wouldnt turn over like that, Im not sure if its a different mold or what... I still like this disc a lot though. I pull it out for holes under 200' and it is extremely accurate.
Posted 10-29-07
Submitted by Dan Worth worthdan@msu.edu
Disc Weights: 170
Review: After throwing this disc for a couple of rounds I would have to say that the avenger ss is a great beginner max distance driver for backhanders. I mainly drive sidearm, but when I need to drive backhand I grab the avenger ss. This disc is incredibly easy to make go straight for a long long ways. Now for the negative; this is a horrible sidearm disc. It isn't stable enough to get a good flight sidearm (for me anyway). If you only drive sidearm then I wouldn't consider this disc, but if you are a beginner backhander or a sidearmer that wants to develop a good backhand shot also then give this disc a try. You just might be amazed at how well you can throw it.
Posted 08-31-07
Submitted by geoloseth geoloseth@hotmail.com
Location: Dallas
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 173
Review: I just picked up this disc today and took it out for a couple rounds at the local course. I like the Elite Z Avenger for a headwind driver and was hoping that the Avenger SS would be a little less stable version. It's way to understable for just about any shot. I threw it flat and with hyzer but I could not keep it from flipping over completely and diving straight down. I thought that maybe it would make a great roller but it just doesn't. I haven't tried throwing it with about 250-300 feet of force yet so I'll have to see if it flies better with less than full power. I think it would be a good starter disc for someone. I have some room in my bag for a couple specialty discs so I'll keep this one around for now.
Posted 07-31-07
Submitted by miguel hernandez mhviper77@yahoo.com
Location: victoria,tx
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 174
Review: Before the ss I threw innova orc or star wraith getting great drives but nerver cosistant. Now at riverside at victoria,tx hole 2 is a par three, before it took me 4-5 shots to get there now i can par the hole with the avenger ss great low fast drives. slight left curve just enough to put u in the right place for birdie or long par.I average as long as a football field or 350ft,with avenger ss im at 135 yds or 375ft. I strongly recomend this disc.
Posted 07-31-07
Submitted by Lou Doench blotzphoto@gmail.com
Location: Cincinnati, oh
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I've always loved the Pro D XL for fairway drives and nice straight gliding shots, but the Pro D plastic wears out too fast. The X and Z versions are too stable and don't have the same gentle glide. Enter the Avenger SS. Throw it with too much power and it will flip easily, but with the right finesse it glides real nice with very little fade. Plus the ESP plastic has a nice feel and looks like it will wear nice and slow.
Posted 07-25-07
Submitted by Greg greg@witnessbmx.com
Location: Memphis, Tn.
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 172
Review: The Avenger SS is what it says Super Straight! It is an excellent downhill disc. Very predictible flights. I would highly recommend this disc for anybody.
Posted 06-24-07
Submitted by stardano174
Location: seattle
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 170's
Review: The new Avenger SS ESP is the best disc I have ever thrown!It easy has added 50+feet on my drives! The best way to throw this disc is with a snap hyzer, then 50+ feet later it will pan out for 300 feet with a late fade and the ESP plastic makes it easy to use from day one! A+++
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page