Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
FLX Buzzz

Type: Midrange
Diameter:
Available Weights:
Plastic: Discraft FLX

FLX Buzz
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
The Buzzz is a straight flying workhorse that you'll reach for again and again, and has quickly become one of the most popular discs of all time. Throw it hard and Buzzz™ will hold any line you put it on. FLX version offer added grip, especially in cold or wet conditions.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 04-13-08
Submitted by friable tnevins7@comcast.net
Disc Weights: 176
Review: BUZZ FLX...WOW! Three aces on two hundred-plus foot holes in a ten day period with this disc...multiple other near hits. The reliable grip of the FLX plastic is just what the doctor ordered! Seems to have a stronger end fade than the X or Z plastic but the added grip of the FLX plastic produces a more consistent release. I can hurl this baby dead on out to 300 ft and often get tempted use it on holes I never thought accurately reachable with a midrange. Ordered two more after t-minus one!
Posted 10-27-07
Submitted by Scott Markquart smarkquart@cygnusacademy.org
Location: Maple Grover, MN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 177g
Review: This is by far one of the best discs ever made. Initially it has a weird, almost waxy feel, but after a few throws it makes all other discs feel like they are going to slip out of your hand when you drive. This is a mid-range disc but I drive almost as far as any of my drivers. Normally I hit 300+ feet on a drive with a two-finger grip but with the Buzzz and a four finger grip I get the same distance. It just glides and glides. It is also super stable, neither fading or turning if you get a clean release. Yet it is also incredibly accurate short range too, it will hold any line; perfect for those mid-range 100-250 feet shots.
Posted 08-30-07
Submitted by Matthew matthew.forte@gmail.com
Location: Ohio
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 178
Review: Got this disc last night and was throwing it around in a field this afternoon. Released flat, the thing flies dead straight and dies a little to the right at the flight's end. I throw righthand sidearm. Looks like it skips well and glides far. I can make it go right but not left--it'll flip right over. Sweet disc for anything 120 feet and closer. Just aim straight at the chains and you'll have an easy putt.
Posted 07-28-07
Submitted by the ox Disc Weights: 177
Review: I just got a Buzz FLX and it has made it into my bag already. I played a local short course and was driving holes that I could never reach consistently with a Roc. The disc in general is very overstable in my opinion which for me is good as I usually flip Rocs. I found myself throwing it harder than I've ever thrown a midrange and it held a line perfectly. My main complaint is that it is terrible in my opinion when thrown with anhyzer over 150 feet as it will stable out quickly. I plan on this being a major addition to my bag and my game as I have been looking for a straight to stable midrange disc that I can throw predictably over 200 feet for some time.
Posted 07-28-07
Submitted by Anonymous Location: Tarnos (SW France)
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Great grip, no surprise ! Quite the same flight path as the Z version. just a little more fade at the end.

Have nice flights !
Posted 07-17-07
Submitted by BigJeff
Location: Alaska
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 165-170
Review: I picked up a FLX Buzzz at the local state championship here in Alaska, and I've got to say it is already one of my favorite midranges. The plastic is different, to say the least. It is extremely flexible (I can fold it so two sides touch and it goes right back to normal), yet pretty tough - I've hit a number of trees pretty hard and still don't have any gouges or really scratches in the plastic. It is gummy, but not altogether soft. I normally throw a Z Buzzz as my go-to midrange, and the FLX does not dissapoint either. When I throw it flat it holds the line beautifully and doesn't fade off until the very end of its flight. If I put a little hyzer it will hold that line as well unless I put a little too much on it, then it flips to an anhyzer line. If I throw it with an anhyzer it won't come back hyzer period.

If I were to give this disc a flight rating, I would put it right at 0, where the Z Buzzz is .5 overstable. This disc is quickly becoming my go-to midrange for super straight and anhyzer shots. It is especially nice in wet conditions, it grips better than any other disk I've thrown.
Posted 07-03-07
Submitted by Jungle Tim cdte@lboro.ac.uk
PDGA: 8388
Location: London UK
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 170ish
Review: The good people of Discraft have given us the grippiest and most durable plastic currently avaliable, wet and cold, hot and dry always without fail the grippiest disc in the bag.

The grippyness gives excellent consistency upon release and more snap. Leading to more spin, less fade, more accurassy, more time aloft, more distance.

Combine this plastic with a disc as marvelous as a Buzzz and ,dare i say it, you have the best disc in the world.

This plastic will improve your game.
Posted 05-03-07
Submitted by Anonymous Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 225
Disc Weights: 170
Review: The FLX plastic, in itself, is incredibly durable and grippy. You'll pay just as much for it as ESP plastic, but it has a much nicer grip to it. It can go anhyzer, flat, or hyzer and it still has the same amount of fade at the very end. My only concern is that when I throw longer shots (150') it tends to go hyzer easily, although that might be my fault. If you're looking for a grippy, durable mid-range that can fight a decent headwind but still fly straight with predictable fade, then the FLX Buzzz is for you.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page