Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
ESP Surge

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.3cm
Available Weights: to 174g
Plastic: Discraft Elite Special Plastic

Surge
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
Whether you're throwing downwind or into a moderate headwind, the Surge will deliver maximum distance while still remaining highly controllable. What makes the Surge especially hot is the extra glide you'll get throw after throw. It's the first release in our ESP line, which delivers both durability and outstanding grip like none other. You'll feel the difference immediately.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 08-16-07
Submitted by Nate Gross ultraplop@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 168
Review: The ESP Surge has surpassed my X Avenger to become my primary distance driver now. It will hold a straight line longer than any other driver I have tried. I have had several people comment how long it stayed flat on big rips. I was surprised myself on a couple of occasions how straight it flew.

On hole 11 at Bryant lake (check out playdg.com if you are not familiar with it) I ripped it as hard as I could on a downward angle and it shot down like a lazer straight to the fairway and had a perfectly straight flight path. About 15 ft from the ground it did finally start slowing down, faded slightly and landed right on top of the whole in the ground where the short pin would be placed.

I was throwing it quite a bit on the high bridge courses last weekend in Wisconsin and had some killer straight drives which was really handy on bear where they have 700ft fairways through the trees.

It didn't fair so well in the wind though, instead of flying straight, it would flip over and anhyzer out of control. For those shots I have to break out the Orc or Crush which do a lot better.
Posted 11-27-06
Submitted by SkaBob Location: Detroit, MI
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 167-169
Review: I've got to agree with the reviews that're impressed with the extra distance from this disc. I'd had a bunch of different molds in my bag, trying to find one I could get good distance and a decent variety of lines out of. I can't say the Surge is that COMPLETELY for me, I still use a 165g flash for big anny shots, and a flick for dogleg hyzers, but I've got 4 Surges in my bag now, too. Be warned, the production runs and the first runs are VERY different in their flight paths. The production run ESP Surge is actually more overstable than the Z Surge, and FAR more overstable than a first run. I can send it out straight and it'll just go forever in a straight line or with a gentle curve and fade fairly gently before it lands (and skips! holy cow do these skip!). The first runs, depending on the firmness of the plastic, are either a great helix disc that'll end up WAY out there, dead center (firmer plastic) or take that beautiful gliding right curve without having to throw anhyzer (softer plastic) that you could expect out of say, a champ valk. All in all, a great disc. I'm planning on throwing these for quite some time!
Posted 11-03-06
Submitted by SkaBob Location: Detroit, MI
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 167-169
Review: I've got 2 first run surges at 169g, and 1 regular production run at 167g. The first thing of note is that the newer ones are noticably more overstable than the first runs. With maybe 10-15 throws of these, the first runs are turning over nicely, and the later run isn't turning over for me at all, yet. For reference, I only slightly turn over a 161g ESP avenger, and I can throw a long sweeping right turn RHBH with a 164-168g flash, when thrown flat. I'm sure it's just a matter of getting used to the disc more before I turn the newer one over as well, but it's nice to have a bit of a difference between the two. I'll likely keep one of each in my bag. As for the overall flight characteristics...People all say holy cow look at the glide on surges...People are right! I'm struggling with a plateau distance-wise right now, and a lot of my drivers are only getting out as far as my mids. Surges and Flashes are easily 40 feet farther, for me. I'm going to have to try a Crush to see if it's a wide-rim thing, but all my other drivers that're falling short are rather thin rimmed (avenger, valk, tracker, cyclone, XS, etc.). In any case, I'm REALLY pleased with the flight and distance on this disc. The first run ones are even pretty good for long anhyzer shots!
Posted 11-01-06
Submitted by Jams evil_monke@yahoo.com
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 173
Review: I had this disc for less than one week and words can scarce begin to acknowledge or convey my sorrow. I had just placed third in a tournament and was playing a rushed, drunken final round right as the sun was setting when I lost this disc. Despite having this disc for such a short amount of time, however, I felt an immediate familiarity with the disc. This disc is just as long as my Pro Wraith and Champion Wraith but friendlier with a practically non-existent break-in period. All of this from a disc weight that I never throw.
Posted 09-30-06
Submitted by David Westmoreland Location: Huntington Beach CA
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 169
Review: WOW! I have a bunch of stable to over stable dicses: the star wraith and teerex, quarter K, Champion orc, teebird, valciry, and monster. This is my first Disctaft driver since the X2, and I can't belive it. One my third throw I parked a 435 foot hole that I have never birdied before. I then landed 30 feet to the right, pin high, on a 410 foot hole with heavy head wind. This disc goes were I throw it and get more distance then any other oversable disc I have every thrown. This disc could easily replace all the discs I mentioned earlier that are all in my bag right now. I also shot the my best score on my local course, -6, while it was playing long the first time I threw my new surge.
Posted 08-03-06
Submitted by Arni Leosson arnil@simnet.is
PDGA: 8609
Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 170-175
Review: This is the best disc I have ever thrown. It is surprising that there are not more reviews of this fantastic disc!? I have been throwing Orcs and Beasts but the Surge ESP is much longer for me. The plastic is grippy and the Surge NEVER turns over on me which means I can use it in the wind as well. The most controlable driver I have thrown. It goes very streight and floats forever and then gently hyzers out. I have a rather weak arm and it does not take a lot of effort to toss this disc a good distance. I have found that it is similar to a Wraith but the ESP plastic is better in my opinion and after a few throws the Surge is perfect and goes farther than a Wraith. This is now my driver for 90% of all drives.
Posted 07-27-06
Submitted by Ryan ryan.lindahl@mnsu.edu
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 169 Grams
Review: The disc flies straighter then any other disc I've thrown and it gives you added distance with it's superb glide. You also can take a lot off your throw with this disc and still be in control without it wobbling off your hand. A quality disc that I recommend to any sidearm thrower. It works pretty well in the wind too.
Posted 07-15-06
Submitted by Anonymous kswats10@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I bought the Surge, and at first throw, I began to love it. In my bag, I'd compare it to my star Wraith. Worth the money definately, and I loved how when i bought it, the plastic already seemed nice and broken in, unlike many of Innova's Star, and Champion series plastics. A great buy and has become one of my top discs
Posted 03-10-06
Submitted by Harold Bramton pagan.harold@gmail.com
PDGA: 28296
Location: North Dakota
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 275
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I took this disc out yesterday and threw it side by side with Crush and Xs disc in close weights. I has a similiar flight stability of the Crush (Elite-Z) and better glide than the Xs (Elite Z). On throw after throw the Surge bested the Xs by at least 20 feet when thrown same power level and line. I have found it to be fly best when turned over just a little bit and let it flex out and go straight, till about 3/4 through it's flight then a gentle fade. Flies best at lower heights. This discs shape seems to allow it to fight a wind well. I found it glides very well thrown RHBH against a Front-Left to Rear-Right wind about 15 mph. The Elite Special Plastic seems like a half step between X and Z grades. I repeatedly threw it full speed against trees at about 40 degrees tempature and it faired well. the only sign of wear is a couple of scuff marks wich came from a skip across the pavement. I'd summarize by saying it beats the Xs for glide and flies similiar to the crush. Now the longest disc in my bag.
Posted 03-03-06
Submitted by Shane Seal shane_seal@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 172-174
Review: Wow! Courses just got shorter with the introduction of the new Surge from Discraft. This disc has the three most important features for a distance driver: Speed, Glide, little to no low speed fade. Thrown with a little hyzer, the disc screams out of your hand and flips to flat. I don't know if the domey rim helps with lift, but the disc just seems to stay in the air forever on the line. At the end of the flight there is almost no low speed fade.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page