Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discwing
Quarter K

Type: Driver
Diameter:
Available Weights:
Plastic:

Quarter K
Flight Rating Category Value What Discwing says:
Our first disc, the Quarter K driver draws maximum performance from the golfers throw.

The aerodynamic enhancements redefine what a golf disc can be capable of.

We've looked at every aspect of the disc and haven't stopped until improvements have been made at every point, leading to a disc with improved usability that sustains flight velocity and extends the range.

These advances enable the golfer to achieve a longer, straighter drive immediately.
Maximum Flight Speed
Resistance To High Speed Turn
Amount Of Low Speed Fade
Propensity To Fade
Glide
Relative Distance
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level
Predictability
Uniformity Of Break In Period
Overall Durability Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

Posted 02-04-08
Submitted by MoMo
Location: San Diego
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172
Review: This disc will surprise you. Quarter K consistently holds line and makes great distance. For 350+ drives, I usually go to my Pro Wraith (175gm) and for 300'-350 my TeeBird/Leopard (175gm). The Quarter K can cover up to 350 feet very consistently and more predictably than all the aforementioned discs. Note, these are backhand drives. (For my sidearm/forehand drives I usually stick with my Discraft stuff and not compared the Quarter K. My sidearm can go 300 feet accurately; was my primary drive)

No matter, the plastic is durable and not easy to scuff, the disc flies extremely straight with just enough over-stability to track 350'. I highly recommend it. Lastly, the Quarter K is a bit larger than my other discs; definitely not a "small diameter".

My first thoughts were to buy the disc because it was cheap, but after using it the last month, I like it for its performance. Give the Quarter K a shot....
Posted 06-12-07
Submitted by Brian helmick_brian@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 171-175
Review: The Quarter-K is a great disc for distance and accuracy. I had a QK for over a year and a half before I lost, not broke, it. I will admit it warped with time, but never taco'ed and if anything made the disc less overstable and a more straight flier. The QK becomes very predictable with time and can work great as a mid-range driver or approach. You can throw it straight, you can S-curve it or throw it for power. I carry 2 in my bag. One is the new Cruiseline plastic which I use for higher speed flicks and backhand drives. Cruiseline can take a bit much better then the streamline plastic, yet I still carry a beat up streamline for open 100-150 ft shots. In short, its an accurate, versatile driver that will last as long as you play smart with it. Its not for the 200-250 ft tunnel shot thru the trees, and so long as you don't throw it as hard as you can into a solid object 50 ft in front of you, you will do fine.
Posted 05-18-07
Submitted by gman
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 166-172
Review: I tried tuning my quarter k as described in one of the earlier reviews and wow I can get this disc to do anything. New out of the box this disc flies very overstable and the early fade kills the distance. If you tune it, by going around the disc bending the leading edge down to makes it less over stable. I can tune it enough that I can stand it up and turn it over a bit and the resulting distance is out of sight. The disc holds the tune for a very long time. If you tune it, by going around the disc bending the leading edge up you can get it really really overstable. If you bought one, tried it, and packed it away, dig it out and try tuning it, It's realy cool becuase the quarter k really glides if you stand it up. My longest drive has been with a tuned quarter k.
Posted 04-17-07
Submitted by Sam Stakeichi7@yahoo.com
Location: La Mirada, Ca
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 170
Review: The Reviews to this disc were all negative and very very few positive. Well i got it for a cheap $9. All i have to say is wow this disc is really fast. I threw it and i love it, it out drove my surge by at least 50 ft. This is the furthest flying disc i own. i let my friend try it and it flew 10 ft further than his teerex x. and the plastic isn't as bad as people think. When it first landed on the street i thought it was toast. it had no feeling of shredded plastic when i grabbed it, but then i hit a tree about 50 from the tee, and it had a minor scratch but no taco action. I have to say if you find them on sale you should really try one out. they're fast stable and accurate, but you really need to know your thtrow before knowing how a disc throws.
Posted 01-28-07
Submitted by jared metalworker420
Location: Texarkana Tx
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I find this disc to be really overstabe. If I throw it hard and flat it will fly strait for 80% of flight and finish hard left with crazy big skips. I use it mainly for upshots of 200 ft or more that have room for a BIG skip in from right to left. Oh yeah the "Cruiseline Edition" seems to be a little more durable than the regular one.
Posted 12-18-06
Submitted by MichaelS ms@lostcircuits.com
Disc Weights: 170-175
Review: I have had about 30 QuarterK discs and I love them. It is not a beginner's disc, the round edge and deep rim invite to hold on to it more than to other discs, which makes it easy to griplock. The lower weight - up to 172 warp really easily and are not recommended but the 173-175 are much more durable than their reputation. There is a difference between the red and the white plastic, the red ones hold up much better than the white ones. It is true that the top of the disc warps easily but it does not affect the flight too much. The QuarterK is probably at its best after hitting a few trees (at least at high altitude) because it makes it less overstable. It is not a beginner's disc because it only brings out the best performance at high speed. The best distance is reached (for a righty) at about 45 degree head-cross wind from left to right, I have thrown 550 + feet under those conditions. Wear is not worse than with DX plastic, average use of my discs was about 2-3 months (with a lot of rocks and trees), it just starts looking really bad but the performance is not affected as much as most claim. The QuarterK is still my favorite disc at sea level - long courses.
Posted 11-23-06
Submitted by mike malley.mike@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 169
Review: this disc is not durable at all, i usually use it as a mid range or fairway driver because if it hits a tree at high speed it's gonna get messed up pretty bad, i'd like to see them release this disc in a more durable plastic
Posted 11-20-06
Submitted by Longmire Location: Germany
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 164
Review: Howdy everyone. I know a lot of people absolutely hate the Quarter K because they think that the plastic is crap. I have taco-ed my Quarter K a few times via close range high speed drives smack into the middle of tree trunks, and yes the disc got butt ugly really quickly. Upon closer inspection though it was height of the leading edge that was changed not the edge itself. After many a hard core tree whacks, no chunks of plastic are missing (like what happens to an EliteX when you drive it into a tree), there are no sharp cuts, nothing has been gouged out and the rim itself is in rather good shape. Please read the article about disc tuning at Aerobie's website: http://www.aerobie.com/Products/Details/EpicTuningArticle.htm
After tuning a warped QK, it will fly like it is brand new. I've tuned my a few times. The top plate looks like it got in a very rough bar-fight due to the bending of the rim, but the actual flight characteristics are true. Yes you may need to re-tune the disc after a while, but it will hold the "tune" for a long time. Multiple tunings haven't seemed to bother the disc at all. For me function is more important than form. I want a disc that flies where I throw it for a long time. The QK does that for me. Additionally, this disc is great in strong headwinds, the plastic is very grippy and the rim is a joy to hold on to. Learn how to tune your discs and you'll enjoy this disc, even if it gets ugly quickly. Just my two cents.
Posted 11-13-06
Submitted by twmccoy lmccoy5@comcast.net
Location: littleton, co
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 169
Review: What an overrated POS this disc turned out to be. The plastic is really lousy and scrapes/tears on any ground contact. Also, the Quarter K just isn't very long. Every other driver I threw against it was beating it easily. The one good thing I will say about this disc is that it feels good in your hand when you throw it. Nice straight flight, but no yardage. Glad I didn't pay anything for this disc or I'd be mad. Don't buy one. There are so many other really good drivers out there.
Posted 09-20-06
Submitted by Chris Location: Louisiana
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 171
Review: Horrid: This disc is the WORST disc I have ever owned. After two rounds of play it began to warp on the top of the disc. The plastic is cheap and damages simlar to the Innova DX discs. DO NOT BUY THIS DISC!
Posted 07-23-06
Submitted by Kris nightblazer420@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I picked up one of these due to the hype around my local course. Took me a bit to actully locate a store that sold them, but none the less I found one. Was a bit thrown off at first, the rounded edge felt abnormal in my hand and the plastic felt a bit to much like DX. Going against my better judgement I bought it anyways and all I can say is it looks great hanging on the wall. I tossed it for an entire 18 holes just to give it a chance and nothing it did impressed me. After only the second tree it had large wrinkles on the top. The best way I have heard this disc descibed was DX plastic at Champion plastic cost.
Posted 01-10-06
Submitted by Shane Peters
Location: Manchester, CT
Level: Adv. Am
Disc Weights: 165
Review: This disc was a quite dissapointing to me. Even after practicing with the disc i still couldn't throw it as far as I had hoped. Also, I drilled it into a tree and it nearly folded in half. If you want a max distance driver that DOES NOT let you down i suggest the champion wraith by innova.
Posted 11-07-05
Submitted by Patrick Amazing1boy@aol.com
Location: Colorado
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I will be simple, first through i didnt mind the quarter k, i thought it would just take a little getting used to. Not true, my pro starfire was more consistant and always outdrove the quarter K (max D for quarter k at time 400, max D for starfire was 425). Now I gave a couple throws from a new quarter K recently. I was still not impressed. Now ive been throwing my champion orc 450' consistantly, and still cannot throw the quarter K more than 400. And can throw a starfire equally as far as the orc, just not quite as consitant.
Posted 11-03-05
Submitted by Jerry D dobbins66@insightbb.com
Disc Weights: 169
Review: Tried a Quarter-K over the last two months and although I like the rounded edge, I got rid of it because of durability. This is a great distance disc in the open but if there are any trees arounf leave it in your bag. After the first tree it "encountered" there was a permanent bulge in the center of the disc that never went away. I'll stick to Champ or even Pro plastic.
Posted 11-01-05
Submitted by Matt jarvis_mckinley@hotmail.com
Location: Tulsa
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: ANY
Review: This disc is trash. The disc is unusable after one tree hit. Not only that, but the disc needs a huge field to fly. So in conclusion:

Its not accurate.

Its not durable. (worse than Pro D and DX)

Its WAY over priced.


Posted 10-24-05
Submitted by Jeremy Ohlheiser jeremyo405@cox.net
Disc Weights: 168 g
Review: Imagine making a disc out of a large bar of dove soap! This is the crap you would get. Hit 1 tree and it's worthless!
Posted 10-19-05
Submitted by Alex kenshinhimura12@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 167
Review: I just got this disc in the mail today. It's an incredibly long range disc. Throw it with an anhyzer and it'll stay level and turn over, fading left(RHBH). Compared to innova's new pro wraith, this disc usually goes 10-30 feet further for me. But i hit a tree with it and already it has a lump in it, though it flies fine still. This is an awesome disc for those super far away holes in an open field. Just rip a full power anhyzer and watch it go!! if i were to use innova's disc grading system(speed, glide, high-speed turn, fade) then i would say it's about 10, 6, 0, 5, respectively. The level at which you release it is the level at which it will stay at, only falling with the fade.
Posted 10-16-05
Submitted by Smyith smyith@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: ?
Review: I just picked up this disc today at a tourney. This disc is awesome. The plastic is really grippy. A feature that i really liked was the rounded corner on the inside part of the rim. i was able to snap my fingers with incredible ease. Its super straight with a overstable low speed fade. I bought a 165g and was very suprised at how stable in and with the wind it was. I really dont what else to say but i am impressed with these discs already and if you see one or are looking for a new disc i would buy this one. I give it a rating of 8.5-9 out of 10.
Posted 09-25-05
Submitted by Mark S iaslipknot@aol.com
Location: Iowa City
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Recently picked up a Quarter K because of all the talk going around about its flight. I have to say, its a very nice disc, and I first want to shoot the myth that this Disc is made very soft. The disc i believe is very compareable to the Innova DX plastic. It will take its fair share of dings, but i had a monster drive skip off some concrete, and the Quarter K came out unscathed. As for its flight, i find it to fly very straight when thrown with substantial power, but thrown with too much and i can get mine to hook way back right. I have thrown this farther than any other disc in my bag and i've had it maybe 72 hours. I've played five rounds with this sucker and have hit my fair share of trees, while this disc is still in extremly good shape. Definatly recomend it to anyone with a strong backhand throw!
Posted 09-12-05
Submitted by Jonny Appleseed bboykin@cox.net
Disc Weights: 171
Review: Been playing 15 years off and on. Picked up a white 171 QK because of the hype. A little awkward at first. But I hit my first ace with it just the other day - a 170 ft line drive. The K took a nice, easy S curve and slammed into the chains. I like that. But my X Clone is still number one. The K seems like it's not going to take too many trees very well.
Posted 08-30-05
Submitted by Brad Matejek brad@matejek.com
Location: CA
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 174g
Review: I personally like this disc. The closest disc I have to compare it with is my 175g Champion Orc. The 1/4-K has about the same high speed stability and Slightly more overstable at low speed. The 1/4-K gets an average of 30ft more D, in which speed is a little more, and the FLoat seems quite-a-bit more. The grip is a little awkward at first, due to the difference is profile. The plastic isn't nearly as durable as the Innova Champion, and I constantly see this as the biggest negative of the 1/4-K. However, I would like to point out that the plastic is similiar to Innova Dx, but I find it more Plyable and I can easily with my teeth bite and reshape any dent. Because it usually only dents, instead of getting torn and cut like Dx plastic.
Posted 08-05-05
Submitted by Alan Sweeton afsweeton@liberty.edu
PDGA: 22691
Location: Princeton, NJ and Lynchburg, VA
Level: Advanced Am
Avg Drive: 325-350
Throws:
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 168 and 174
Review: I've been playing for about 3 years now and my farthers drives have been just over 400' and those are few and far between. Typically, I throw around 340' to 350' with my Beast. After seeing ads for this disc in Disc Golf World News every quarter for almost 2 years, I was waiting with much anticipation for this "automatic distance" disc from Discwing. I picked up a 174 g White (white was all they had left) up at Marshall Street in Leicester, Mass. a few weeks ago. I was told that the plastic is in between DX and Pro Line but is softer and grippier and that if you hit a tree with this you are done. I have vowed to only use this on huge field holes when I need maximum distance and not to waste it anywhere else. This disc is very overstable so I tuned it a little bit, per the Aerobie Epic's instructions, to make it a bit more understable. It was still a bit more overstable than I would have liked, but even with it fading off left with no S-curve I still acheived my average distance, around 335-340'. I then picked up a 168 Red (I really wanted a red one) at the Pro Worlds in Allentown, PA last week and this disc is more what I expected. After tuning it slightly understable the same way I tuned my first one, the light weight of this disc helped me to gain a better snap. I threw this with a slight bit of hyzer and it had a beautiful long S-curve with a ton of glide (thanks to the aerdynamic underside of the disc) but I threw it low, only about 10 feet off the ground. This throw was still a little over 425', outdistancing my best distance by at least 15' to 20'. I've been itching to throw again and I'm going to get out this weekend. If I can get the same S-curve but get the disc higer for more airtime I am confident I should be able to hit 475' to 500' pretty consistently. This may sound like a big jump, but I have the arm and the snap for the throw, I just haven't quite found the right disc. Luckily, now I believe I have.
Posted 08-04-05
Submitted by Kirby Man slytwo@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 170
Review: I've been playing for less than a year, so my throwing ability has slowly improved, and along with that my disc selection has had to change to match my current abilities. So, I am always open to trying a new driver. I had been throwing a 174g Starfire for my long drives. A normal throw with the Starfire was going about 300-325', with the occaisional 350' or so drive. I got the Quarter K in the mail and immediately went out to a local soccer field to try it out. I took along my Starfire as a comparison. On the first throw I threw it 10 feet past my Starfire. The subsequent 5 throws also all went past my Starfire by an average of 5-20 ft. The next weekend I played a tournament that was taking place at a local ball golf course, and it had wide open fairways where you could just rip it. I started to throw with a little more hyzer than my normal throw, and the Quarter K started sailing! My drives were all around 350'+, and I cranked one 400', which is pretty far for me. Since then, I've only flipped it over once, and had a number of throws well over 350'. The plastic is nice and grippy, but I don't know how durable it is going to be, as it seems rather soft. Also, it was advertised as being a floater, but mine sank to the bottom of a pond (Thanks to Motorcycle Dave for wading in after it!). I have noticed it isn't too good when there are trees tight on the right, as it seems to need some space to go out right and then come back (RHBH). Also, it has an unpredictable hard left skip at the end of flight that can go another 20' sometimes. All in all though, it's not leaving my bag anytime soon.
Posted 07-25-05
Submitted by Ignignokt sonicdhiarrhea@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: Great disc that can go the distance as long as you never ever hit a tree. This disc can add 30 or more feet onto your drive but after it hits one tree its toast. The play-doh its made of completely deforms the second it hits anything. The material on the edge actually folds back over onto itself while creating ripples throughout the center disc making it impossible to ever throw well again.
Posted 07-23-05
Submitted by john zero_43502@hotmail.com
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 200-225
Disc Weights: 173
Review: the quarter k is a very long disc but it dosnt even compare to the distance i get with my oce .The major complint i have is that the disc is made of dx plastic and isnt very durable .A good disc but very overrated
Posted 07-21-05
Submitted by kd Disc Weights: 174 g
Review: Everything that is being said about the disc flying well seems fair. However, one hard hit into a tree and the disc is essentially destroyed. The rim got bent permanently downwards and the disc won't fly properly anymore. Candy plastic in my bag would survive that kind of a hit fully intact. The disc construction seems different, with a rubbery skin layer, and a more rigid material inside the rim. I'm tempted to cut my damaged QK in half to confirm. Any other comments about the robustness of the QK materials?
Posted 07-18-05
Submitted by Donald Blankenship dfblank@bellsouth.net
Disc Weights: 166g
Review: The Discwing Quarter K has a very large lip and is somewhat uncomfortable at first to grip. I had a little trouble throwing this disc at first as I was getting the feel for it. I usually throw a Teebird or Teebird-L off the tee as I usually know where those discs will end up. The Beast seems to give out early on me and fade hard to the left. I went out today and played on an open course and threw around 340' on the first hole, then 365' on hole #2. Wow! This disc rocks!
Posted 07-16-05
Submitted by Jason Dominy coffeehouse98@hotmail.com
Location: High Point, NC
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350-400
Disc Weights: 170
Review: After hearing all the "buzz" about the new Quarter K disc, I went online and ordered one to have in time for this weekend. I have to say upon receiving it I was immediately disappointed. It does not look "revolutionary" or any different than any of my other drivers. Upon throwing it, yes, it does go pretty far, but just as far as my Archangel does, and my Archangel was about 1/2 the cost (with shipping included, when I can pick up Innovas around here.) It is pretty thick around the inside lip, which can be hard for some people to throw. The plastic is really soft, and easy to nick and warp. Some people I know have complained about not being able to use it after just a round or two of normal play. Unless the rumors are true that they plan to release the original "revolutionary" design later, I would save my money. Either way, I feel as though I have a "cool to have" disc, and that's about all it's real value. This disc does not live up to it's hype.
Posted: 12-23-04
Submitted by Neil "Bruce" Webber bruce_disc@yahoo.co.uk
The QuarterK is a very fast, very long range driver. The mold for this disc is different to anything currently on the market, the key difference being that the lower half of the rim is convex, rather than concave (think a bullet profile, rather than the traditional 'talon-shaped' profile). Due to this, comparisons to other discs are very tricky. I throw around 450' off the tee, using a 170g DX Beast by preference, though I can reach similar distance with a Teebid or a Firebird if I get them right. Using the QuarterK (also around 170g), I've broken 500' on a number of occasions. For my best throws with it, I've released it on a fairly steep hyzer and it comes up over flat and into a HUGE left-to-right glide phase, before fading out hard at the end of its flight. My initial thought was that it was maybe too flippy, but I never seem to actually over-flip it. Even when I think I have, it's almost like it can't actually turn over more than a set amount. I've seen a couple of lower power players throw this disc, players who throw Valks as overstable, and they seem to struggle with it, as it fades out of their anhyzer too fast.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page