Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Gateway Disc Sports
Illusion

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.1cm
Available Weights:
Plastic: S/H/E

Flight Rating Category Value What Gateway says: The Gateway Illusion is faster than the Spirit and the Speed Demon, but is less stable than both of them. This disc will fly forward very fast and hyzer back at the end of its flight a little. The Illusion will fly very far and is one of the FASTEST discs on the market today. The Illusion is very easy to throw. It can be thrown at 70% power and it will amaze you on how far it can fly with so little effort. This disc is great for sidearms, tomahawks, and any distance throw.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

Posted 04-28-08

Submitted by JD Hazel

PDGA: 31415

Location: Bowling Green, KY

Level: Amateur

Avg Drive: 450

Disc Weights: 172

Review: Dave McCormack gave me this disc at the BG Ams players party,saying it was a re-creation of the 1st Run Baby Blue Illusions. If youdont know what I'm referring to, the Baby Blue's won Garrett Gurthiethe distance contest at USDGC. This run is white, and the top is verydomey, unlike other Illusions which are relatively flat. Well, afterfield throwing this disc, all I can say is WOW! This disc bombs! Ican get it up there with my Inferno, but what makes it better is thatit's more predictable. My Inferno may hold an anny line longer on  bigdrive and in an open field that may not be a problem, but when I needa straight shot that includes big distance I can reach for theIllusion. It has quickly secured a place in my bag, and if you ever

get a chance to get this run invest in it!


Posted 10-26-07
Submitted by Greg hamelg@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 174g
Review: I bought one of these on reviews that it was a great fast sidearm disc. After throwing it, I'm fairly disappointed with the results. The lip on the inner rim is rounded, which gives you very poor grip on the disc. The plastic is hard, but quite malliable, and will deform upon any hard tree impact. I was consistently able to throw my star wraith and t-rex 25ft further. The distance is good, but there better discs around. I wouldn't recommend this model.

Posted 06-17-07
Submitted by Michael Noth anubis380@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 176
Review: This disc is amazing for sidearm distance. I'm a larger guy so I can power a 176 a good 450+ feet sometimes. Good flier low to the ground but I cant throw it backhand because the rim is very shallow on this disc; not a good enough grip on it. Also, the disc doesn't fair too well with a headwind.
Posted 11-14-06
Submitted by Mike bleedingfuture05@aol.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: This dis if good for one thing and one thing only.....DISTANCE! It by far is one of the fastest flying discs i have ever seen, bar none. I have seen it back to back with a new Discraft ESP Pulse and it straight up blew it away. forehand, backhand it doesn't matter this disc was ment to show up and it does. For you best flight throw it hard and with a bit' of an-hyzer on it and watch it come back after the "S" and dive hyzer almost straight in front of you...that is if you threw it straight in the first place!
Posted 02-15-06
Submitted by Don Blankenship dfblank@bellsouth.net
Disc Weights: 165
Review: I have thrown the Gateway Illusion for 3 days now and can honestly say I'm quite impressed. After throwing the Gateway Spirit (goes leeefft out of your hand), I have to say this disc is stable to slightly understable (see Blake's flight chart). I can throw this disc very hard and it turns over slightly then will ride slightly cocked for about 100' the turn back left (RHBH). I did catch this disc once and threw it around 350' which is about max for me right now. It reminds me a lot of the Quarter K but with much better plastic. I took a tree head on at about 100' and it barely left a scratch. I normally play Innova DX and this plastic is much tougher although it still feels great in your hand. I highly recommend this disc for people who are turning over more understable discs such as the Sidewinder. I have no idea where that disc is going anymore. I also recommend a light weight ~165g.
Posted 01-11-06
Submitted by Jay jaylewisstl2@yahoo.com
Location: St. Louis
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 275
Disc Weights: 176g
Review: I've been playing for about a year, and the illusion is my go-to disc for long sidearm drives. it's the most predictable driver in my bag. thrown low with a slight anhyzer angle, it gives me a perfect S-curve every time plus an extra 20+ feet of skip at the end (almost got my first ace off a skip, nicked the chains and dropped 4 feet from the pin). it took me a few rounds to get used to the illusion, but it's worth it. i use it mostly for sidearm shots but have also had good results using it for backhand hyzers.
Posted 10-22-05
Submitted by barbikes barbikes@seanet.com
PDGA: 27777
Location: Seattle
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 170
Review: I don't have enough arm to throw this disc straight! But it is a great disc for a max distance hyzer throw and that is why it's in my bag. Throw it hard, low, and flat for the best results. It will go fast and fairly straight for about the first half of its flight and then it will fade hyzer and when it hits the ground there will be a skip that gains another twenty or thirty feet of distance. A head or side wind does not seem to have as much effect on this disc as it does a slower flying disc.
Posted: 8-03-05
Submitted by Mike Solt mikesolt@gmail.com
Plastic: Gateway S Disc Weights: 168g
Review: I'm still new to the game of disc golf and am trying to increase my drive length. I'm quite partial to my Innova Orc and Valk as well as my Discraft Crush. I've been reading up on the gateway discs and saw that this disc was super fast and could possibly help increase my drive. I headed to the course w/ the disc in my back and took a bunhc of practice throws with it. Results: The harder i threw the more the stable the disc was. I tried using this disc on straight holes however the quick turn to the left was to harsh. For those holes w/ a bend to the left, the disc worked great. Overall, the disc was fast and flew flat however it was more stable than my usual drivers. I compare this disc to a Whippet or Monster.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Drew
Darthhippo@aol.com Location: Toledo OH
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Throws: Righty
Throwing Style(s): Backhand
Disc Weights: 172
Review: The Gateway Illusion is ridiculously fast, almost to the point of being uncontrollable. Blake has written quite a bit on the "cruising speed" of a disc: throw above that speed, and the disc is understable, throw below that speed, and the disc is overstable. I find the crusing speed of the Illusion almost impossible to reach, and because of this the disc seems far more overstable than Gateway's description would indicate.

I throw the Discraft Flash as my main driver, around 370-400 ft, and I consider myself quite familiar with high-speed, wide-rimmed drivers. Despite this, I throw too slow for my new Illusions. Paradox: They might be easier for me to throw when they beat up, but I'll never beat them up because I'm not throwing them!

On the occasion that I do get a good rip on one, the flight seems similar to that of my Flash: Big S-Curve, understable early, with enough fade to bring the disc back to an approximately straight line in front of the thrower. They seem to fly approximately as far as my Flashes, when I get them up to speed, but the tradeoff and loss of control is not worth the effort.

A final note: I have noticed that the Illusion is FAR more sensitive to a nose-up throw than any other disc I've thrown. I still throw a nose-up stallout my Flash on occasion, but the Illusion seems to pop up and stall about five times as often.

Final analysis: A disc that is sensitive to the point that it worked its way out of my bag.
Posted: 12-23-04
Submitted by l.e.wilkowske@gmail.com
When Gateway says "Fastest Disc Made" they aren't joking! This disc's speed goes up to 11 if ya know what I mean ;- ) . The one I have is in S plastic which is very grippy and very stiff. The flight wing of the disc looks about like a Flash, but without the hummingbird beak shaped edge. In fact, to buck the trend this disc has almost a squared shaped rim. The top and bottom go into a small trapezoid shape that forms the edge. Very symmetrical top and bottom. The flight wing isn't very deep (top to bottom) which I don't have a problem with. The top isn't flat, but it isn't very domed either, but there is a curve. A good way of describing the flight path of this disc is with a supermarket tabloid headline that reads "Flash's Lovechild? Is Crush the father? " Seriously. I am right handed and I can throw pretty well FH and BH respectively. I can throw right around 320 ft. I love new Flashes, but they turn over too quick after they get beat, taking much concentration for a good rip. I like beat up Crushes, but new ones are too over stable for me. This Illusion is RIGHT in the middle. A very added plus is that because of it's speed is has "trademark" (they really should market this) "Gateway Skip".

If you like the Flash and the Crush or if you are just looking for a far flying disc with just a hint of high speed over stable and super skip action then I would really recommend looking into this disc, after it gets worn I'm sure that my Flashes will start to gather dust!
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page