Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Gateway Disc Sports
G1i - Sabre

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.0cm
Available Weights: 140-175g
Plastic: Thermoplastic Elastomer

Sabre
Flight Rating Category Value What Gateway says:
The Sabre is a long, fast and accurate driver. This disc is very versatile and is great for the beginner or pro. Some weight has been transferred off of the rim and redistributed behind the rim and in the flight plate (see what makes a disc fly on our website). Long left to right throws will stay on their flight path longer without falling off, while long right to left shots will stay gliding with out hyzering out. Straight flat drives will stay straight and only fall off slightly at the end of the flight. Also a good tomahawk disc.
Maximum Flight Speed 8.0
Resistance To High Speed Turn 8.0
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 5.0
Propensity To Fade 4.5
Glide 4.5
Relative Distance 6.0
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 2.0
Predictability 4.0
Uniformity Of Break In Period 3.0
Overall Durability 2.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 08-27-06
Submitted by S Jones
Location: Ontario, Canada
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172
Review: A really good disc for those seeking the straight option. >From what I can tell it's just about identical to an XL. In fact, for my bag, it will be a matter of which is less expensive at the moment. If it's the XL I'll throw them, if the Sabre, I'll throw them. It's the same disc. Take your pick.
Posted 06-05-06
Submitted by Brett cummings Panda@msn.com
Disc Weights: 176
Review: Well i bought this so to be nice sabre that weighed 176 and was e plastic. This disc is nothing more than an average disc. Nothing special yes ive made a couple of good shots with it but overall it is not that good i dont recomend.
Posted 04-03-06
Submitted by Thatdirtykid Thatdirtykid@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 176
Review: I have been throwing quite a few gateway discs lately, and the one I find myself depending on more and more often is the Sabre in E and S plastic. This is a disc that Flies very much like its counterpart plastic to plastic. The E Sabre has a fade thats very slightly longer (5 feet more fade on the same line 350') They both fly very straight the S is slightly longer (10-15 feet) I can throw them 15' to 20' off the ground on a straight line for about 325' then another 25' of fade thats mostly forward (only about 15' lateral, percentage wize just alittle less than the wizard)

Overall this disc is the best go to driver I have thrown. More accurate than the Cyclone, and more versitle than a teebird. It dosnt have as high a resistance to turn as a teebird, and is not as long. However the teebird is hard to control in the tweener range which is the slot the sabre fills.

I plan to beat the S into a good anny disc and the E seems it will stay straight forever.
Posted 02-15-06
Submitted by Don Blankenship dfblank@bellsouth.net
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I love this disc! Pinpoint accuracy, predictability, durability. Wind doesn't seem to affect this disc. It is my go to disc now (replaced the TeeBird) when I want to split the fairway and avoid obstacles. It is straight 85-90% of its flight then fades gently. When thrown low it will track very straight then skip at the end of the flight for another 15-20'. I have thrown this disc as hard as I can and it will not flip over and head right like some discs. It won't be the farthest disc in your bag but it will be in the fairway.Please make more Gateway.
Posted 06-14-05
Submitted by Mark Horning
Disc Weights: 172
Plastic: S
Review: I picked up one of Gateway's Sabres last weekend after reading so many good reviews. Definately a keeper. When folks say this is a straight disc they mean it. It feels a little thick and clunky in the hand but it flies straight, kind of like a Roc but with more carry, and less fade. It's not going to win any distance contests, as I could consistently throw my Champion Viking about 20-25' further, but when accuracy counts It's definately going to be a go-to disc.
Posted: 11-03-04
Submitted by ferretdance03 brad@p3clothing.com
Since I was impressed by my other Gateway discs (Wizards, Elements), I wanted to try out a driver. I previously have thrown mostly Valkyries, both Champion and DX. I throw RHBH with a mostly flat, slight hyzer release, allowing the disc to turnover early and come back at the end for a pretty straight lined S curve. I don't like to overpower my drives as this usually results in a shank and puts too much undue hurt on my rotator cuff, but instead prefer to 'finesse it' with just enough power to get where I want and letting the natural glide take care of the rest. I like the way the Sabre feels in my hand, a little more dome than other drivers, but this could be because of the Evolution plastic. Which, by the way, is extremely durable thus far (15+ full rounds and countless practice sessions). The glide is very good, quite similar to the Valk, and the fade is a little less so. I find the Sabre very easy to turn over when need be, and very easy to keep straight. Also, when thrown with a hyzer, it will pop and fade, as you would expect, but not as much as say a Beast. These have all but replaced my Valks. J
Posted: 12-13-03
Submitted by Charley Radtke
I threw the Gateway Sabre today for the first time:

This disc is my intro to Gateway discs. Wow is all that I can say initially. The statement that Gateway makes that this is the straightest flyer on the market is absolutely true. My first throw with it was a 320' hole with a low ceiling, and trees lining the flight path. This is typically a ROC hole for me, but in the 15 mph winds right to left, the SABRE performed flawlessly. Released flat, this disc drifted very little left to right, may 5 feet over 320' distance. It left a 15' putt, which was achieved with the WIZARD (And made), but that is another review.
Posted: 5-24-02
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The Sabre is a fast, small diameter long range stable driver. This disc is a very accurate straight flyer that is versatile enough for a variety of shots. Throw it low and flat and it will fly straight for 80-90% of its flight before finishing slight left. Give it a bit of anhyzer and it'll hold a line-drive s-curve or bomb it up there for a sweeping left to right line. The Sabre will also hold its line on right to left sweeps if thrown with enough height and knife hyzers. This is one of the few drivers that is truly high and medium speed stable. It's quite fast and has fairly high resistance to turnover, somewhere in the ballpark of an X2 or Elite Reaper. The Sabre separates itself by being able to handle a lot of power without turning over without being too low speed overstable late in its flight. This is not a maximum distance driver as it doesn't have great lift or glide but there are very few discs that are more accurate. On low line drives it should be a bit longer than the long midrange discs out there such as a Roc or MRV while also being more predictable and consistent. The Sabre also seems to get better distance on sweep hyzers than flat throws which is probably a benefit of its design featuring less mass on the rim and more on the flight plate. This disc is definitely a good choice for players that are able to keep the disc flat and ready to bump up to their first high speed small-diameter driver due to its versatility and controllable flight characteristics. This disc also could find its way into your bag as a 5-wood/3-iron type of a disc.
Posted: 10-05-01
Submitted by Scott Miller <ksarrow@onemain.com>
The Sabre is made by Gateway Disc Sports. The disc seems to be harder mold than an Innova disc, which makes it more resistant to tree damage, but I had a hard time getting used to it. The Sabre has a flat groove near the edge before the dome starts, so it is much like having a thumbtrac. I think that the Sabre flies very much like a standard Teebird - it has a straight flight with a mild left fade.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page