Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Archangel

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-150, 165-175g
Plastic: Innova DX

Archangel
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Archangel is the easiest to throw of the Ultras. Predictable high speed turn with low fade help to keep the archangel flying. Big speed and long glide help the Archangel fly very far. Downwind the archangel has no peer.
Maximum Flight Speed 8.5
Resistance To High Speed Turn 3.0
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 6.5
Propensity To Fade 4.0
Glide 8.0
Relative Distance 10.0
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 1.5
Predictability 1.5
Uniformity Of Break In Period 3.0
Overall Durability 2.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 02-23-08
Submitted by SE Go_Punx@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 160
Review: I found a 160G Arch Angel at my local course a few months ago. As a green beginner, I really couldn't tell the difference between any of my discs. Just a few months since then and I've really improved. I generally have medium drives and excellent approach shots. The arch angel DOES have a tendency to roll over to far into an anti, but thats corrected just be releasing an opposite angle. Anyone who says that can't control this disc needs to go into a field and throw it over and over. It's a great disc.
Posted 02-03-08
Submitted by Derek derekfulton345@gmail.com
Location: Charlotte, NC
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 250
Disc Weights: 175 but it feels lighter
Review: I just got the archangel earlier today, and played it on a course. I'm a kid with not so much power, so my review may be innacurate. But, from what i've learned, it is good for only long turnover drives. At a flat angle, it will fly straight and slow, and then hook hard right (RH sidearm). It appears to have high fade, but i realize that it waits quite a while to fade. When i throw it at an anhyzer angle, it will turn like crazy. I bought this hoping to have a faster stingray. Never trust the innova ratings, it says that the shark has the same fade as a Teebird. I'm looking at this website before buying a disc now.
Posted 02-02-08
Submitted by Mr Sparkle
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 172
Review: This disc really soars!!! every time i throw it, it goes straight as an arrow and finshes the same too. A great disc that hold any line you put it on. This disc is very "domey" and it allows me to get a great grip on it. Its is my new 'tunnel' driver.
Posted 10-01-07
Submitted by Jerry O jerryo@eastmsdiscgolf.com
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 275
Disc Weights: 162g
Review: I ordered this disc before I read any reviews about it. After reading the reviews I was a little concerned I had made the wrong decision, not the case. I first threw it in an open field just to get an idea of what it could do and what I could make it do. I wasn't really worried about distance at that time. My longer drives are in the 250'-270' range. When I finally got to the course my second drive with this disc was 350'-ish. This disc has lots of glide which makes it travel slower but for a longer period of time. My go to under stable had always been a stingray, but I just couldn't get the distance from it. The Archangel solved that problem. I can't say if this disc is good for beginners or not. It is very sensitive to the angle of release. If the nose is slightly up it will turn over and not come back. If the nose is slightly down it will hyser severely. However, if released level it has a predictable flight path that I can actually get some decent accuracy with. One last thing about this disc that is not my opinion it is fact, do not throw this disc in a headwind or crosswind, throw it in no wind or tail wind only. Happy discin'.
Posted 07-07-06
Submitted by Josh Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 167
Review: My main disc is a 174 Wraith Pro and I had the chance to borrow a friends archangel for a week. I found this disc to be near unusable because it is so understable. If applied about 75% power I could get some distance with a slight right turn thrown backhand but the distance wasn't impressive. Only good for me in downwind conditions if at all, not a disc I would buy personally. It is a good disc for beginners but I would believe that it would more hurt a beginner more than help because the disc would not help them learn. If you need an understable disc I would recommend the wolf, I have not tried the stingray nor any others so I cannot say about them.
Posted 06-12-06
Submitted by The Clergyman Disc Weights: 150 class
Review: I thought I would give up on this disc even though I liked it because I suspected that it was a bit of a lost mold. However, I see the Archangel being mentioned more often now and perhaps coming into its due prominence. Since you's never throw this disc into a headwind, I use a 150 class. Whether it's a tailwind or still, this baby flies! It has only gotten better with age - further and more predictably understable. I always use it on the dogleg right on my home course and it just cuts hard to the left about 80' out. Everyone marvels every time I throw it. If you put your full power behind it, it won't do what it's designed to do. Throw it at about 70% power and watch it go. Stick with the 150 class, though. way better than a Sidewinder - granted I have nothing else to compare it to. You'll love this disc.
Posted 03-10-06
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 171
Review: I started out backhand, but the way i threw the disc tore my finger up, so i had to switch to forehand. I continued to use an archangel (170) and threw it really well forehand (sidearm).I bought my own, (171) and use it as my primary driver. I like the stability and predictability of this disc. Our course is highly wooded, so a consistent disc with a nice s curve is the difference between weaving in and out of trees and taking a chunk out of your disc. I will be buying a wraith here soon, so my archangel will be relinquishing its driving on holes that i need a left fade. 10/10.
Posted: 8-03-05
Submitted by chris cjmolsen27@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 149
Review: I love my archangel it is my straightest longest throwing disc i have been discing for about 2 years now and this is still my favorite disc. I currently throw it in the 150 class range but i want to try throwing it in the 160-170 range for more distance and wind resistance but i cannot throw heavier discs that far or straight so i will post again when i throw a heavier one to tell u how it works out
Posted: 4-08-05
Submitted by greg_rogotzke@hotmail.com
This disc really helped me improve my long game, early on. It has good speed and great glide. This disc will really hang in the air! It's fun to watch! However with so much glide and not the best speed, an advanced player will not get the distance they want with this disc. But for intermediate and begining players, this can be a great disc. I think, no matter how good i may get, i will always have an archangel in the bag!
Posted: 3-21-05
Submitted by Jacob Eubanks Eubanksj@emporia.edu
The Archangel is said to be a very unpredictable driver and a misleading disc for a begginer. I personally feel this is an excellent disc for a right-handed sidearm thrower like myself, and I tend to find that its flight is extremely predictable. This disc has an excellent S-curve out of my hand, and is fantastic for winding inbetween the trees on heavily wooded fairways. I am not a very strong player, but I can average between 250 and 300 feet when throwing my 172g Archangel. This disc struggles in a strong headwind, but for my personal throwing style, I've found few that can handle it. On long holes, I use this disc to get me up the fairway, and then I rely on a gazelle to get a straight shot on the basket. On shorter holes, in the 250-300 range, I rarely find myself outside of 10-15 feet of the hole. I highly recommend this disc for any right-hander who tends to favor sidearm drives.
Posted: 2-09-05
Submitted by FRAZZLE1S@peoplepc.com
A friend gave me a AA that he had found with no name, tried it the next day and if you dont have an arc angle in your bag of tricks ,. your missing out on an very strong disc that holds its flight for a smoot landing Great for fading to right and finishing for an s flight if desired its all up to you the disc is ready for launch
Posted: 4-19-03
Submitted by Anonymous
My experience with the Archangel (AA) has been quite varied, depending on the weight of the disc. My current classification is intermediate masters, and I have up to 325' of distance with a right handed backhand. I've found a 150 class AA to be completely unusable for lack of stability. I lent it to my sister some time ago, and she tells me that it's her favorite driver. I've never measured her throw, but I'd estimate it at about 200'. According to the PDGA web site, that would put her into the intermediate women category. For over a year, a 162g AA was my favorite disc. In order to chart my progress, I keep a spreadsheet with the measurements of my best distance throws. For some time, the 162g AA was my personal best distance disc. Unfortunately, as my distance was improving, I did not necessarily see proportionate gains in my overall scores while using the 162g AA as my primary driver. Eventually, I relegated my 162g AA to a storage pouch in my game bag, and I eventually took it out altogether in favor of discs with greater control and predictability. The problem with it is that there's very little margin for error. The best throws with this disc tend to be hyzer releases that flatten out immediately, turning just slightly understable during the middle portion of the flight, while fading some at the very end. It's like walking a tightrope, and if the wind gusts at all during the flight or if you misread the wind entirely, then the AA is liable go substantially understable and fly off course (assuming that you're throwing into the wind or there's a crosswind). My scores have improved since benching the 162g AA as my primary driver, by trading off potential distance for control. While I don't have the biggest arm, I do have a fair amount of accuracy--given proper disc selection--and for me, this disc is too unpredictable. I've also had the AA in 168g and 171g versions, but I've found both of them to be something of a dud. While writing this review, I browsed the Innova web site, which lists bios of the Team Innova players. None of these top professionals use the AA. Therefore, I think of the AA as being more suited for beginning and intermediate players. For those intermediate players trying to make the transition to the advanced level, the time will eventually come when you have to leave the AA behind in order to make progress.
Posted: 11-04-02
Submittedy by Jim Cubbage <jim_cubbage@yahoo.com>
First let me start out by saying I am a beginner, maybe intermediate beginner. I am just beginning to learn to throw an overstable disc like the Eagle and am working out to the 300' to 350' range. The Archangel was one of the first discs I used when learning to throw for distance. When learning I found an understable disc was a bit easier to throw as I did not have the snap of the more experienced players. The Archangle is a good beginner disc and good for those more experienced players with a very smooth release. I also found the weight of the disc and the wear has a major effect on the flight characteristics. The heavier discs (172+ grams) can fly straight when new where as the lighter discs or the more worn versions tend to have a more pronounced roll effect and like the other reviewers mention.

For a small disc the AA has a very good carry in everything but a headwind. This is one of the discs that will give you the extra yardage if you do not have a big arm. Currently, I use it for my long forehand throws. Being an ultimate player from years gone by, I always had a good forehand and right now, it is my most dependable straight shot. The AA will fly nice and straight for me and still give me good range.
Posted: 5-14-02
Submitted by Derek Kainz <derekkainz@hotmail.com>
Very long disc that is hard to control. I have to release it with a severe hyzer angle. It flattens, pulls right and fades left at the end. One of the deepest discs out there but very, very wild and tough to tame. A lot of room is needed for this disc.
Posted: 02-18-02
Submitted by Jon Turner <oxdisc@thets.demon.co.uk>
The Archangel is a very fast straightish driver with a very long glide - it is hard to describe in summary...! When I first used it, the characteristic that that I found first was the discs incredible tendancy to rocket skywards unless thrown DOWN! It seems that a "flat" throw is not enough for it - I now aim for a spot only a little way in front of me to stop it heading off into orbit! Not a good disc for low ceiling shots then! However, mine also currently flies straight with a small left fade at the end (RHBH) but will hold an anhyser curve when one is put onto it. Apparently, the Archangel will eventually develop a small understable turn at high speed (and it is a very fast disc!) but mine is still relatively new. On a few shots at the recent UK Frostbreaker tournament when I had a long open downhill drive, the Archangel proved to be very usefull thrown anhyser, slowly turning back whilst gliding for a long long way. I get the feeling this disc is like a thorough-bred racehorse - not much use for beginners (maybe try an Xpress instead?) but will prove to be very handy for more advanced players who can spend the time and effort working out its characteristics.
Posted: 09-23-01
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The Archangel is a fast, understable driver. This disc has a lot of lift and glide. Speedwise I find it similar to a Leopard or XL. Although it isn't the fastest disc on the market, the Archangel is one of the longest if thrown right. The Archangel has a very low resistance to turnover, close to that of a Stratus or Stingray. Throw it hard and low into a headwind or with the nose down and it will turn over and roll. I've found a lot of experimenting with the angle of release and wrist roll is necessary to get maximum distance and a straight flight path. From my experience I throw the Archangel with a very large hyzer angle and a wrist roll under with slight nose-up will give a very long, gliding s-curve with about 25' of altitude. This disc is a distance disc, not an accuracy disc. It needs lots of room on both sides and a ceiling of at least 20-30' to get maximum carry. The Archangel's low speed fade is in the realm of an XS or Gazelle but it does not fight to flex out if you've got it turned over too far. The Archangel has probably the best glide I've ever seen in a small diamter driver and will carry very well in calm conditions or with a tailwind. Flightwise its similar to a Dragon or a longer flying light-weight Stratus. The strengths of the Archangel are its carry and distance, it is a VERY long disc, the weaknesses are its behavior in windy situations and the unpredictability of understable discs. This disc is very beginner friendly but it might be deceptive in its learning curve and fail to prepare newer players for more overstable plastic due to its irregular flight characteristics and low resistance to turnover.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page