Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Edition Eagle

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion Edition

CE Eagle
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Eagle is our most popular ultra long range driver. The Eagle’s superior speed, glide and flight characteristic stretch out power shots and allow the Eagle to fly past any other disc. It will also double as a long range power roller.
Maximum Flight Speed 8.5
Resistance To High Speed Turn 8.0
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 7.5
Propensity To Fade 7.0
Glide 4.5
Relative Distance 7.0
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 4.0
Predictability 3.5
Uniformity Of Break In Period 5.0
Overall Durability 5.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 11-04-07
Submitted by Dustin Kitzman dustin_kitzman@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 169
Review: Great disc... This was the first disc that I learned how to play disc golf on. I just started this summer and didn't really love the disc becuase of my inexperince in throwing, but once i learned how to throw with better accuracy and consistency the disc really came alive and proved to be a great first choice. I aced 4 holes with this disc over the past summer, one of which was 300+. Now that I have played the hell out of this disc so now it is starting to carry to the right a little bit, but on the other hand it flies an additional 50 feet with the right S throw. Great buy can't say anything bad about this disc
Posted 05-26-07
Submitted by Andrew Hampton arhalh@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 173
Review: This is my most consistant side arm disc. It flies straight for the first 80% of its flight then dives right. I also use it back hand for staight shot around 200'. This is the most versitile disc in my bag. I love the CE plastic because my local course is covered in pine and oak trees that eat softer plasic up. Great disc to learn a side arm on.
Posted 09-19-06
Submitted by Chris Woj c.woj.putt@gmail.com
PDGA: 27965
Location: Toledo, Oh
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 175g
Review: The Max-Weight Champion Eagle from Innova is the most reliable thumber disc I have ever thrown. I'm a solid backhand player, and usually I can hit the lines I want... but on some holes it is far more beneficial to skip the shrubbery and simply go over the top. With the Champ Eagle I can take a high arcing thumber route (note: I only throw thumber, not tomahawk) and accurately place the disc, regardless of wind, on a direct line with the basket, if not within 10 feet of it, every time.

During the US Mid Nationals tournament this year I finished 16 strokes ahead of 6th place. Without an Eagle to get me out of trouble in the woods I would have finished worse than 6th. The disc can hold such a reliable line that I've taken to using it on some open holes where I have the throw grooved and know the strength I need. One open pro commented as I released "Why make the hole harder than it already is..." And when it came out of its high arc and landed 5 feet away I replied "Its easier than a forehand." And it really is with the Eagle. The best thumber disc you can own.
Posted 09-25-05
Submitted by Bear benchpressbear@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 170
Review: This is by far my favorite disc. I have absolutely no problem controlling its flight pattern. When I need a little hook, it hooks. When I play the fade, it fades. It rolls well also. This is the perfect disc.
Posted 08-29-05
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 160
Review: I just started playing recently and the Eagle is my first real driver (I previously played with the Frisbee starter set. I drive and approach completely sidearm and put straddle style. The Eagle was frustrating for me at first but I have learned to throw with a slight anhyzer and it fades back to the right (remember I'm sidearm) nicely. Also, I often throw it too high, resulting in severe drop to the right.
Posted 08-05-05
Submitted by Patrick Amazing1boy@aol.com
Location: Colorado
Avg Drive: 400-450
Disc Weights: 169
Review: I have always loved eagles i threw the dx ones to death (went through about 6 of them in 3 months lost to water and deadly collisons with trees) Then I developed a stronger throw and was throwing chap orcs flashes and crushes for stable (and any other wide rimmed driver i could get my hands on)and discs like talons and predators(in z plastic) as overstable Now im trying to bring some more finnesse into my drives again. I began throwing every disc i own again, and was amazed in how consistant my drives were with the eagle, it was overstable enough to turn over (in my 167 and 169 weights) and could keep a perfect sweeping hyzer or flat hyzer more consistantly than any other disc. This drive, while not being my longest, has become my most consistant, which saves me more points on my score. I will still throw a faster more overstable disc (mainly champ orcs, cant wait to throw a starfire) on anything over 400' where theres room. and under that 300'-400' (which is the range of most holes one the nearby courses) the eagle is now the first driver i will pull from my bag.
Posted: 4-08-05
Submitted by eggstu@yahoo.com
I think the Eagle is best suited for advanced players because it is an over-stable disc that is hard to control at first. If you want a straight shot, this is not the disc you want. I use my Eagle stricktly for side-arming. If you get a good spin on the disc it will hold the line but curves hard at the end.

Out of 10 I give the Eagle an 8.
Posted: 5-14-02
Submitted by Derek Kainz <derekkainz@hotmail.com>
Good distance (not great) but dependable which is the key. I need a bit of room for it though so I carry a straighter/shorter driver as well. I also use this disc for hammers. The CE plastic seems to have very little wind resistance and is very durable. I don't reccomend this plastic in the wet though, it is too slick.
Posted: 04-28-02
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The CE Eagle is a very fast, small diameter overstable driver. The CE version is definitely the most durable and overstable of the Eagles and in my opinion, barely resembles the other plastic runs. The flight path of the CE Eagle is quite similar to that of the X2 and KC Firebird. Although it's stability varies a bit by which CE run it falls into, it's prominant flight characteristics remain similar. The CE Eagle has a moderately high resistance to turnover, ranking up there with the X2 and Reaper in that nice in between stability, overstable enough to throw into a headwind but not too overstable to throw flat and get a straight flight path. The disc's fade happens rather late in its flight, probably around the 70% D range and its fade is predictable and sweeping and not a spike into the ground. Throw this disc low and flat to slight anhyzer and it will hold its line with very little turn or fade. Although it does fly well with an s-curve flight path, the CE Eagle is not nearly as long as the DX or KC models on the same line. It does however, hold a very good hyzer line and can fly straight into a moderate headwind. I put the CE Eagle into the category of long range control drivers as it is very accurate and predictable but a little lacking in the distance department compared to the longest discs on the market. It should also be a solid choice for a sidearm driver. I would not say the CE Eagle is very beginner friendly sa it takes a lot of arm to throw it and it is fairly overstable and a little lacking when it comes to glide. For those looking to try one, do not think that it is going to fly like your other plastic Eagles. If you want the flight path of a DX/KC Eagle with the durability of the CE plastic, the CE Teebird (TL) is probably a better choice.
Posted: 04-26-02
Submitted by Brent Fiege <Xskepticx@aol.com>
The eagle is very nice driver. It has a rather straight flight path with a left fade at the end. This is the closest disc to the firebird in the champion edition plastic. It is a little less stable that the firebird. Into the wind this disc will fly straight when new, but when it gets beat up, they will tend to anhyzer easier. I like this disc for long shots that need a small fade left at the end. I would recomend this for medium to strong throws for a long range straight shot.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page