Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Firebird

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion Edition

Champion Firebird
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Firebird is our longest ultra long range upwind driver. The Firebird's superior speed and stability make play on windy days a breeze. Not reccomended for beginners.
Maximum Flight Speed 10.0
Resistance To High Speed Turn 10.0
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 9.0
Propensity To Fade 10.0
Glide 2.0
Relative Distance 5.0
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 5.0
Predictability 5.0
Uniformity Of Break In Period 5.0
Overall Durability 5.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 08-14-07
Submitted by Brett b.e.mackie08@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 169
Review: This disc is one of my top three sidearm discs. If I need a good disc that I know will do exactly what I need it to, this is what I use. I use this disc mainly for huge sweeping s-curves and thumbers. This is the best disc for thumbers that I know of. Way better than a Beast or a Sidewinder. The only downside I have found against this disc is that it has no glide. If I could, on a scale of 1-10, I would rate it at a -12.4 on glide. The glides horrible on this thing. But, despite the stinky glide, I love this disc. Everyone wanting to be less horrible at frisbee golf should buy one.
Posted 11-01-06
Submitted by Chris P chrisisdead@hotmail.com
Location: Moraga, CA
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I started playing about a year ago with a few friends who have played for a decade or so. I came to the game with experience throwing an Aerobie ring disc when I was a kid. I could throw that thing 300+ easy, and found out quickly that I had the same power with disc golf sidearm shots. I throw hard and the discs often turn over. Beasts, TL, Valkrye, Wraiths. Almost everything, until I found the Champion Firebird. I love this disc! I hit my first ace a few weeks ago, from about 295' with this disc. Very consistent overstable driver that is becoming (along with the TeeRex) all the rage with many of the advanced players that play my home course. If you need a shot to fade, or have dangerzones if a disc anhyzers, I don't think you could find a better disc than the Firebird. Also a great Tomahawk/overhand disc! I can throw this overhead quite accurately from 150-170 feet out. I'm sure more experienced players can attest to even better, but it brought that game to another level for me as well. Great disc!
Posted 07-26-06
Submitted by Denis dflaschiii@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: Probably my most predictable disc. This disc is a projectile, don't expect it to glide at all. That's the beauty of it. Extreme hyzers are it's specialty, especially spike hyzers. Used to use the Whippet until found this disc. Cuts through the wind like a knife, especially in this Champ plastic. Great with forehand and backhand, and is my go-to disc when buried in the woods, it takes a tree trunk to bring it down. Also gets great skip, sometimes adding up to 30-40 extra feet. It is virtually indestructable.
Posted: 05-18-04
Submitted by Matt Davis
The Firebird is an extremely fast, very overstable driver. I get the impression that if one really cranks the Firebird that one can keep it straight long enough to get extreme distance. I haven't got the snap for that quite yet. But if I need to make a nice, 275-foot fading parabola, the Firebird is the business--especially if I want to get a nice hard left skip at the end. I keep one light one, for fighting a light head/crosswind while maintaining a little bit of glide, and a max-weight for a decisive stab leftward under any wind conditions.
Posted: 11-11-02
Submitted by Joe McKee joemckee1@juno.com
I am primarily a right-handed forehand thrower. This is still my first year, but I practice or play almost every day. The CE Firebird (173 gm.) is my driver of choice when there is danger left. It took me a long time to learn to throw this very overstable disc because of the release angle required for straight flight. It is also difficult to keep the flight path down. In addition, I must concentrate on gripping the CE plastic hard to keep from releasing it early. I couldn't agree more with Blake T. that when this thing runs out of steam, it drops like a rock. It seems most similar to a Discraft Xtra Elite Z. It is also close to a KC Banshee, but more over stable and a little longer distance.
Posted: 5-14-02
Submitted by Derek Kainz <derekkainz@hotmail.com>
The F mold is very overstable and a wild hellion to control, especially in heavy weights. The FL mold is easier to control, more domed, and longer. However if you want a hard left, or a disc for very windy conditions,the F mold is for you.
Posted: 04-26-02
Submitted by Brent Fiege <Xskepticx@aol.com>
There are a few different molds of this disc. They are recognizable by the letters written above the weight on the bottom. There is the FL, F, and the FX. I believe the FL is the flatop (which i havent thrown yet) but i have the throw a flattop valk, and it is much more over stable than a reg valk. That should go hand in hand with the Firebird. The F is one of my favorite discs in my bag (and a large bag i might add 20+ discs!). The F is a very fast overstable driver. It flies very straight when thrown flat into a headwind. With no wind this disc flies flat with a hard left at the end making it a very good hyzer shot disc. One of my favorite long distance shot is throwing a big anhyzer with this disc and have it turn over doing a big S. I have thrown quite a few VERY long shots doing that. When this disc is "broken in" it is a very good straight line driver with a good left fade, but not as stable into the wind anymore. Enough of that disc. The FX is the same as the F but has a small bead around the outer edge of the disc making even more overstable. I tend not to throw this one as much, unless i have a large hyzer to throw. Overall, i would recommend the Firebird to advanced players with strong throws. When these are thrown with little power, they go very hard left.
Posted: 07-23-01
Submitted by Jake Goodhue <jacobgoodhue@earthlink.net>
I rely heavily on my CE Firebird (171 gram) for ANY longer shot that requests an overstable disc. It's fade is so predictable-I love knowing that if I send it out flat and straight, it will always turn exactly where it needs to like magic. Great into the wind. Also great for big, powerful, exaggerated helixes. Be assured, it will come back over left, even into a heavy headwind. The high durability plastic still retains the same flight characteristics after numerous abuses. I would think that any sidearm thrower would really like this disc as well. Get one and have some fun. The CE Firebird, CE Eagle, and CE Valkyrie will make a great, predictable and lasting driver quiver for anyone who can get used to the feel of the plastic.
Posted: 7-17-01
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The CE Firebird is a fast, very overstable driver. The CE version of this disc came out of the mold VERY flat. The flight plate is low profile and steps up past the rim similar to an X-Clone. This disc is also VERY fast (capital letters used for effect); faster than anything else I have thrown. The CE Firebird is quite overstable and will hold a tight fade if thrown hyzer. I have not been able to flip this disc over even in situations with a strong headwind or left to right crosswind. The downside of this disc is its lack of glide. When this thing runs out of gas it drops like a rock (not to be confused with Roc) slightly left. I have found this results in about 20-30% less distance than my better gliding distance drivers in calm conditions. I reserve this disc for windy situations and when I need a strong left fade and don't want a disc flattening out. Also of note, this disc has a very sharp nose and works well to almost literally chop through brush making it ideal for an overhand roller out of the rough.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page