Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Monster

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion

Champion Monster
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Champion Monster is our most stable, powerful, wind beating distance driver. The Monster is not suitable for beginners.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 07-15-07
Submitted by MTF Location: NC
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 250
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I'm hesitant to call my disc pro plastic, as although it says pro line monster, the plastic is the same as a champion monster I have. It's a semi-transparent candy plastic.

I don't quite agree with innova's description of this disc. While it's very low-speed overstable, it is stable at higher speeds. It has a very predictable fade, and I can't turn it over. It is also not very forgiving. If thrown nose-up, this disc will fade out quickly. But if thrown flat, it will fly further than my 175 pro wraith, and more predictably. That's why it's my favorite driver for anything over 250 with even a slight downhill and especially when I have a headwind or a crosswind from the right. It also makes a really nice flex-shot disc if you put a little more air under it than usual.

I can consistently birdie a 260 hole at my local course (Buckhorn at Harris Lake) which is over a lake shore, with about a 8-foot elevation drop. I throw it about 20-30 feet to the right of the pin, let it sail over the lake, then it fades out directly to the pin. There's always wind coming off the lake, either from the right or a headwind, or a combination of both.

This disc has a very unusual flight pattern. Despite S-curving out a bit before fading back when I throw at maximum power, it will not turn over. My 165 champ firebird fades much quicker than this thing. Keep in mind that I throw sidearm, and get more spin on the disc thanks to that.

The shape of this disc is also really different. It's wide-rimmed like a beast, but there's barely any bevel on it, and the edge is really thick. It's more blunt than any other driver innova makes, and it's really flat.

I know I'll be carrying a champion monster for a long time, and although it may not be my primary driver on most courses, it'll still see a lot of use.
Posted 05-20-06
Submitted by drdisc fake@asdf.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Very predictable driver. Large fade that is almost always the same. Great to add distance, and is comfortable both forehand and backhand. My favorite Driver, and never rolls.
Posted 11-04-05
Submitted by Robb
Location: Tulsa, OK
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I bought a 175g champion monster on ebay to be my main headwind driver. I've had the disc for about 6 months, and surprisingly enough, have only really had one round with a good headwind. I agree with the previous review: I don't understand why more pros don't use the Monster for their headwind driver. There is no headwind that will turn this disc over. I drove it yesterday into 25-30 mph winds, and it still dove off hard left at the end of its flight. But beyond that, I love to use the Monster on medium drives that have a hard left curve or low ceiling. The disc is one of the most predictable I've thrown (that and the champion whippet). I don't have the biggest arm, but there's still a lot of use you can get out of really overstable discs. I just drive it out at about a 15-20 degree angle to the right of where I want the disc to end up (rhbh) and it goes straight on that line for 80% of its flight, and then divebombs to the left and skips and ends up consistently close to where I want. I throw the monster and whippet exactly the same, but from different lengths. Throw them low and flat, just to the right of the basket, and try to skip the disc into the basket. Fantastic discs.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Alan Dibos jupiterd@ku.edu
Disc Weights: 168, 175
Review: First, I have to confess that I absolutely love overstable drivers because I really learned how to throw using CE Firebirds. Therefore, I might be a little more keen on discs like this than most other players, but I still think that most advanced players will find this disc to be quite useful.

People tend to write off the Monster because it's supposed to be more overstable than the Firebird. However, I think that the flight pattern is actually quite different between a Monster and Firebird, and both discs have their purpose. The Monster has a wide rim that is surprisingly blunt for how fast the disc is; I have big hands so I really like the feel. As far as the flight is concerned, this disc--given enough snap--actually flies really straight for a significant portion (80-85%) of its flight. Then once the disc slows down it seems to really hit the brakes and hyzer out pretty hard. I find that this flight pattern is different from a typical minimally beat-in Firebird that will be fighting to go hyzer only about halfway into the throw. Therefore the two discs each have their purpose. The Monster\'s flight makes it wonderful as a headwind driver (I can consistently throw this disc about 25-30' farther into a 20 mph headwind than my firebirds). However, I find the Firebirds much better suited to long hyzers that should curve throughout the flight.

One important note is that not all Monsters are the same, and weights make a big difference. My main Monsters are both 175g pearly Pro Lines from 2003. However, I also have two 168g discs that are in the clear, gummy champion plastic. While still fairly overstable, these lighter and gummier Monsters are not as overstable and actually make wonderful S-curve discs. My pearly Monsters slap me in the face anytime I think of trying to turn them over.

Finally, I also like to use Monsters for longer sidearm shots. If thrown with lots of snap and very straight, they cover a lot of ground before hyzering out, and I can typically throw these much farther (about 45' more) than I can my Firebirds.

Overall this is a wonderful disc, and I am often very confused why more Innova pros don't use it for their headwind distance driver.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Julian Carrillo
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Throws: Righty
Throwing Style(s): Backhand, Overhand
Disc Weights: 174g
Review: I bought this disc thinking it would give me more distance off of the box, but I could only get it out there about 250-300 feet before it would dive bomb hard to the left and lose some ground for a total drive in the 250' range. I've stuck with using a DX Beast for my drives and use this disk for shorter hyzer shots to get over obstacles on or as an approach disc from 200'-250'. I play in some rocky terrain and the Champion plastic is very "bouncy" and I've had it ricochet up to 10' in the air, so that is a consideration because it can leave you a long putt after the approach because of the bounce.

I wouldn\'t recommend this disk for beginners, and would much rather drive a Beast or Viper with a dependable S-curve.
Posted: 10-21-03
Submitted by Andy Newberry Sptscribe8@aol.com
The Monster quickly found a spot in my bag as my forehand driver, especially line drives where I want to get some nice skip distance back to the right. I haven't thrown it a lot backhand, but I think of it as very similar to the Z-Xtras I threw for a while. The Monster may be just a bit longer for me than the Z-Xtra. I just like the feel, the stability and skipping ability for forehand shots. For shorter, spike forehands I use the X-Xtreme. I have 174 and 175 Monsters. Would like to see some mid 160s and mess around with those via backhand.
Posted: 10-21-03
Submitted by HipHopWong
I'm an intermediate to advanced right handed Amateur. This is Innova's most overstable driver. It is extremely flat and so it's good for throwing in strong winds. I've found that most people are using this disc as a forehand disc to turn right. I'm a beginner to throwing forehand/sidearm shots and so I've found that when I practice, my low flat forehands tend to fly almost dead straght. I bought a champion Monster with the intention of using it as a right turning forehand/sidearm disc. It works very well for that.
As far as backhand drives are concerned, woah, this disc is extremely overstable. This disc tends to dive bomb to the left. This is useful for spike shots when you need to go out and dive down into the trees to the left. For backhand drives you have to really crush this disc and throw it as hard as you can to get it to carry. For me it's really a specialty disc for either extreme left bombs or forehand/sidearm drives to turn hard right.
Posted: 8-01-03
Submitted by: Ben Seligson lseligson@hotmail.com
The Innova Champion Monster is the farthest flying disc that I have. For me, it is not as accurate as my other drivers, such as my Champion Valkyrie, T-bird, and Gazelle. However, the distance has not yet been beat. The curvature of the disc makes for excellent skipping and sliding opportunities but in my bag, the T-bird takes second place for the non-flight distance (which it is also pretty good at). In my forehand right handed throw, the Monster tends to go far left but if I send it out pretty flat and a little right, it will travel straight and fall off left at the end to give an overall decent landing. If you throw like me, I recommend getting one because you will beat all of your former distances. It is kind of an ugly, candy looking disc though but it is hard to loose in the night.
Posted: 7-17-03
Submitted by: Brian Leudtke <ThaDiscGolfMan@msn.com>
The Monster is a very fast, very overstable and extremely predictable disc that will hold a good line into strong headwinds. I use this disc all the time when I want predictability. If there is some wind and I don't want to take the chance of turning over another driver, I will pull out this disc. When released with a hyzer angle, this disc will pull very hard left through 100% of its flight. (RHBH) When released on a flat angle, it will fly pretty straight for most of its flight before abruptly fading off to the left. When released with an anhyzer angle, this disc will turn for maybe 50% to 75% of its flight (depending on how much arm you have and how much anhyzer you put on it) before fading back pretty abruptly. I have never turned this disc over, even with a big anhyzer release. I am sure it is possible though if you do that into a strong headwind. As far as distance goes, it is not a pure distance disc. I can only throw this disc about 325' where as I can throw my farthest disc the Discraft Wildcat about 400'. People with better technique than me could get this disc out there more I'm sure. For distance, on a scale of 10, I would give this disc a 7. But I didn't buy this disc for distance, I bought it for windy conditions and predictability. And in those categories, I would give this disc a 10 out of 10. As far as the Champion plastic goes, It is the most durable plastic out there except for maybe the Z series plastic. The only complaint I have about the Champion plastic is that it is impossible to grip when it gets wet so you better have a towel with you if you are playing in the rain. I would highly recommend this disc to people who have a big enough arm and want a good overstable driver that works great in the wind.
Posted: 3-14-03
Submitted by Danny Reeves <danny_boy78@hotmail.com>
The new Proline Monster is a very fast, overstable driver. So far, there have been 2 variations of this disc. There is a pearl version and a clear, see-through version. The pearl run is a big less stable than a CE Firebird X but a lot faster. I have found this disc to be very useful in my bag. For long hyzers, it can not be beat because it flies faster and farther before cutting hard left. The clear version is very overstable. It has been referred to as the big brother of the CE Firebird X. More overstable and faster. The new, gummy Proline plastic makes these discs very durable and still grippy on those cold days.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page