Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Teebird

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion

Champion Teebird
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The TeeBird is our straightest ultra long range driver. The TeeBird is the brother of the Eagle with similar speed and distance, slightly more glide and a straighter flight characteristic.
Maximum Flight Speed 8.5
Resistance To High Speed Turn 6.0
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 7.0
Propensity To Fade 6.5
Glide 6.5
Relative Distance 8.5
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 3.0
Predictability 3.0
Uniformity Of Break In Period 5.0
Overall Durability 5.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 03-02-08
Submitted by matt jiggamatt@sbcglobal.net
Disc Weights: 174
Review: fast, kinda overstable, accurate fairway driver that works well for big hyzers, shorter forehand shots, and headwinds. best choice for 350' straight shots
Posted 03-28-07
Submitted by Chris Barns cbbarns21@tntech.edu
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Innova's Champion Teebird is by far the best and most accurate driver. Brand new out of the bag, the disc is perfect for hyzers and distance throws. As it gets broken in, I can get it to go perfectly straight and barely fade at the end with a lot of speed and snap. When its worn in, I can get it to do a nice S-curve with a little an-hyzer and a lot of snap. Overall this is my go to disc. I've thrown it close to 400 ft and I can throw it dead on 365' everytime and place it where I want it. It's by far the best disc for precision. I can get extra distance with my Orc, but rarely do you need a disc to go 400 feet in a open field. There is usually some obstacle and the teebird is perfect for just about anything.
Posted 12-04-06
Submitted by Webster Location: NC
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: The teebird was my first disc and has always been my best driver on open or wooded hyzer shots. The champoin teebird begins very stable but slowly wears in to fly longer and its fade begins further away. The fade never dissapears in the champoin plastic and its difficult become a good turnover disc as the TL can. I have had many champion teebirds and the different runs are very consistent. It is the only mold in my bag i have never doubted.
Posted 11-11-06
Submitted by JD Hazel JHBLADER86@aol.com
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I have been playing over a year, and my very first disc was a Champion TeeBird. To this day it is the one disc I have never taken out of the bag. I've experimented with alot of drivers since I've been playing, but the one that I always found to be the most consistent is the TeeBird. I dont know what I would do without this driver! The disc will not get me the distance like my Wraith, Orc, and Starfire, but it is certainly the most accurate driver that I can depend on for all situations. I can do everything imaginable with a TeeBird, and it always stays true. Whenever someone wants to learn how to play I always tell them to get a TeeBird as their driver, and if anyone is looking for a new driver then I always tell them to get a TeeBird. I simply cannot live without this disc and if I had to choose one driver it would be the TeeBird. It is everything you could want from a driver. If you're reading this review because you're interested in the TeeBird then GO OUT AND BUY ONE!!!
Posted 01-12-06
Submitted by Will T willt@discgolfreview.com
PDGA: 25979
Location: Seattle
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 155, 164, 170
Review: I use the Teebird/Teebird-L as my main driver. About six months ago I took all drivers except for my 2 Champion Teebirds 164gr and 170gr, out of my bag. These were the discs I could throw most consistantly out of all the drivers I had. While I don't get the distance I could with other drivers I was more often than not closer to where I wanted to be with the Teebird. Meaning: I can throw an Orc pretty far but it was anyone's guess where it was going to end up. So, I threw the 164gr as my primary driver, for all throws except headwind/strong hyzers which I then used 170gr. Probably not the best disc for strong headwinds but I don't have the arm for Firebird-like discs so I generally put a lot of hyzer on it and hoped for the best. (I have since put a Starfire and a Viking back in my bag for headwinds/stability.) I am a big fan of discs that go staight. I have a hard time with disc angles so I like discs I can throw flat and that go straight when thrown flat. The Teebird does that for me consistantly. I know that as long as I throw this disc correctly it will perform as intended. It will hold a nice hyzer line as well as doing anhyzer s-curves. I have sadly had to retire the 164gr though. It was finally getting too beat up and I was starting to turn it over a lot. I have replaced it with a 155gr which I can honestly say I like even more. I have been moving to lighter weight discs as I find them much easier to throw and the disc still performs great. I can't flip this disc, it holds a great line with predictable fade at the end of the flight. You will always find a Teebird (or 3) in my bag.
Posted 10-28-05
Submitted by Alex Ku kenshinhimura12@hotmail.com
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 167
Review: This disc doesn't fly as straight as some online shops say they do. Though it has more fade than my starfire pro, i can still get it through tight spots in between trees, but then it fades a bit off course. A good disc for thick wooded areas.
Posted: 5-01-05
Submitted by Alan Dibos
The Champion Teebird is my favorite driver because of its reliability. In my experience the flight characteristics are pretty much like what Innova says: it has average speed, excellent glide, and a very straight flight. Unlike my experiences with older teebird molds (SE TL's and the CE teebirds) the heavier Champion Teebirds are much more overstable when new and really resist being flipped over, however, they do not have nearly as much fade as the firebird, eagle, or predator. I typically use my 175g Champion Teebirds for straight and hyzer holes that are longer than 330' but shorter than 400' and no low ceilings (otherwise I'll use a Valkryie). Unless there is fairly strong headwind 15 mph+, the heavier weights will hold a line quite well. On the other hand, the lighter Champion Teebirds (I use 163g and 166g) are excellent for flipping into big anhyzers or S-curves, even when fairly new. They are particularly useful with a strong tailiwind because they glide so well but aren't so overstable that they fade early in the flight.

In my opinion, the key reason to use a Champion Teebird is when distance is not the biggest issue (otherwise most throwers should probably use something a little faster like a Valkyrie, Flash, Orc, etc.) but placement and reliability are key.
Posted: 4-08-05
Submitted by teri_app@yahoo.com
I've been playing for a year, I was driving with lightweight valks and a 150g DX TeeBird (I throw RHBH), when my boyfriend snuck a brand new KC Champion Teebird (168g) in my bag this past weekend. It was a windy round that day and I have little arms, but I've developed a decent snap. So naturally, the new, heavier Teebird took center stage. Now keep in mind, I turn over everything if I'm not very careful, (I'm working on it). So I don't want to rely on a heavy stable disc to compensate for my bad angle of release. I was able to snap this disc straight, using 90% of my arm power, got a 'controlled' turnover and a nice long glide. This disc holds it's line beautifully for me. I also throw a 168 Valkyrie in high winds, it is a faster disc, but I feel more confident throwing the teebird hard. Though it's possible I had corrected my release angle, I had max distance and a great line on each drive, as the DX Valk and Teebird age, they often pulls hard right and never comes back - I guess the DX plastic just isn't sturdy enough for it's weekly unions with the local trees.
Posted: 10-21-04
Submitted by Nick NLBaseball45@comcast.net
I am an amateur disc golfer who plays about once every two weeks. I was in my first tournament a little while ago, and I decided to buy a Champion Teebird. I experienced a lot of success throwing side-armed with this disc. The teebird will only go well if it is thrown by someone with at least average power. It is straighter than my Cyclone and Valkyrie. Its slower than my Valkyrie and glides less than my Eagle and Clyclone. I have played 4 or 5 games with it, and it still looks brand new. Professionally or recreationally, if you have a long drive and are looking for an accurate and reliable disc, try the teebird.
Posted: 08-09-02
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
Mold Variation: T
Innova's newer CE Teebird is a very fast, moderately overstable driver. The latest run is the pure "T" mold while all the previous runs were the "TL," regardles of their penmark on the bottom. An easy way to tell them apart is that the T mold is identical to the DX plastic version of the Teebird and has a small "notch" on the lip near the edge of the disc. The TL on the other hand, will be smooth all the way along the rim.

This latest run of CE Teebirds is definitely more high speed stable than the old TL runs and has a stronger fade, earlier in its flight. Thrown hard and flat, the CE Teebird will fly straight for the first 60-70% of its flight and finish with a hard, predictable fade. When new, they will hold a strong sweeping hyzer and will work for tight s-curves when thrown anhyzer. The flight path of this disc probably most closely resembles that of a Z X2 or X Predator.

Although many people will be upset that the TL's are no longer being run, the new T definitely fills the void in Innova's disc selection as they seem to be without a straight to left disc after discontinuing the KC Firebird and changing the plastic and mold of the older CE Eagles. This is the most predictable Teebird to be run yet but it isn't nearly the straight max D flyer that the other plastic versions are. The new CE Teebird is probably best used as a headwind driver or when you want a hard left fade at the end of a straight flight. Something I found disappointing about the latest plastic is that it breaks in fairly early. It doesn't get flippy, but after a few hard dings or asphalt skips, the Teebird's fade characteristics will change dramatically. Wear will cause the disc to fade later in its flight but this can be seen as both a good and bad thing. Good because it makes the disc more controllable and longer flying and bad because the break in will still take time and the disc will be difficult to throw straight until that happens as well as a loss of the predictable strong fade if you were throwing this disc as an overstable driver. Overall, the CE Teebird is still a solid disc but it requires a lot of arm to throw it straight when new unless you force it very nose down or slight anhyzer. It does perform very well as an overstable disc until it breaks in and its overall durability is still very good.
Posted: 10-05-01
Submitted by Scott Miller <ksarrow@onemain.com>
The CE Teebird has the CE nearly indestructable plastic. The disc is also much flatter, especially when compared to the KC Pro Teebird, which has much more dome than the standard Teebird. More dome = more glide at the end of the shot. The CE Teebird has virtually no dome, so it glides much less than either the standard or KC Pro Teebird. It still has the straight line drive flight with a left fade at the end, but the fade is less pronounced. The bad part with the CE's is that they are very hard for beginners to throw because they have to be released very flat or they are likely to hyzer or turnover.
Posted: 7-14-01
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
Mold Variation: TL
The CE Teebird is a very fast, moderately overstable driver. The CE plastic is quite resiliant and should last a long time. The CE model of the Teebird comes out of the mold flatter and is faster and more overstable than the SE/KC/DX Versions. This difference also seems to cost the disc some glide. I have found the added stability from the Champion Edition plastic tends to make the disc's flight path resemble that of the next more overstable disc in the Innova line while keeping speed, glide and overall distance similar to the original i.e. the CE Leopard has stability closer to a Cheetah or Gazelle, the CE Eagle closer to a Teebird, and the CE Teebird closer to a Banshee or Firebird. This is still a very long disc, it's just even less forgiving than the other plastic versions of the Teebird. If you snap it hard it will give a very long s-curve but if you don't have the arm for it, it's really going to stall out and drop. The CE Teebird is very fast out of the hand and I feel it is just faster than my CE Eagle. The comparisons between the Teebird and Eagle still hold true for the Champion Editions of both of these discs. The CE Teebird will have greater resistance to high speed turn and less fade than the CE Eagle. This disc is not very beginner friendly as it requires a lot of snap to throw well but bigger throwers should love this disc.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page