Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Viking

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion

Champion Viking
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 06-13-07
Submitted by Jeremy
Disc Weights: 174
Review: The Viking is a good straight fairway disc once you flip Sidewinders and Valkyries too much. I throw it at about 90% strength for a straight 280-320 ft shot.
Posted 06-08-07
Submitted by chris dr_samedi2000@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I throw this disc overhead. I learned to drive that way when I first started playing because I had little to no experience even throwing a beach frisbee. I have a gun for an arm in this way, because of playing baseball for years and years years. I use it to warm up my arm (it's hefty 175) and ease into throwing a Star SL in the same way. I obviously don't drive every shot that way, but on my hometown course, I can get away with using it on several of its open holes on either drive or long approach. I tried flicking it when I first got it, and it worked great for that also, but now that it's REALLY broken in, it's too overstable for that now. I don't backhand it because it's a little heavy for me, but love the disc. If I need distance and haven't been flicking well that day, the Viking gets it done. Just throw it like the winning run is about to score and you're the only thing stopping it!
Posted 07-26-06
Submitted by Heath
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I'm usually very forgiving of a disc that at first doesn't work for me. And I read the other reviews for the Champion Viking and wonder are we talking about the same disc? Eventually a disc wil "come around" for me and begin to work. Not the Champ Vike. This thing flys like a wounded duck. This is by far the worst disc I've ever tried to throw. Maybe it's a faulty mold, maybe it's just a bad design, or maybe I'm just really that bad, but the Champion Viking leaves my hand, tilts left, and immediately banks hard left and falls well short of EVERY otehr disc I;ve ever thrown. I usually throw RHBH, and even on practice days out on the basball field, when I throw every driver I own, this disc is hands down the winner of the "won't fly" award. It's not worth the trouble...I've thrown it over and over and it simply won't fly. I can throw a Roc twice as far as this Viking. No wonder it was given to me....even if it was brand new!
Posted 07-24-06
Submitted by Tyler americask8@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I bought the Viking as my first driver and it worked really well for me. Now I use my Pro Wraith or Teebird L for most of my backhand drives. I use the viking for a lot of my sidearm shots though. I get a nice, straight flight with a good fade at the end.
Posted 11-10-05
Submitted by Jams evil_monke@yahoo.com
Location: Asheville, NC
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 172
Review: It's the second driver I ever bought and it's been with me for over a year now. At first I couldn't figure out the angle of release but then one day it all "clicked." Every throw since then has increased my love for this disc. I can use this disc for nearly any shot. I prefer my Tee-Bird for those really straight line drives but my Viking does those, too. I seem to work well with it's low-speed fade, however. Hole #3 at Richmond Hill in my hometown is a perfect example of the Viking's low-speed turn. If I could only use one disc it would be my Viking.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Patrick Amazing1boy@aol.com
Disc Weights: 169
Review: SIDE ARM THROWERS!!! This disc is amazing for side arm throws. If thrown flat this disc fades right really hard (it fades right slightly when thrown back hand and side arms almost always fade right) If you learn to throw it with the right hyzer this disc will become one of your best friends. You will see the most amazing reverse S-curves throwing this way, I can easily get 350 on the hyzer than at least another 50 on the fade, being one of the only discs i can break 400' fairly easily with. Warning though this major s-curve requires alot of room, so open fairways are best unless the trees are perfectly aligned to have this consistant S weave right through. I find for sidearm it is generally better than the valkyrie due to the higher speeds which are easier to reach side arm. This disc holds a line where the valkarie gets flippy. (the valk is still my furthest BH driver, reaching about 375' but thats another review)
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Cobi714 cobi714@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I have only been playing for about 6 monthes and this is by far my favorite disc. I consistly throw for good distance and I get a nice hard bite to the left at the end.
Posted: 5-01-05
jjw2i@comcast.net
The Champion Viking is a true wind killer. Let me start off by saying that I am a true beginner. I bought my first two discs(Beast DX and a Pro Phyno)about a month ago. I have since bought a few other discs, my favorite being a Champion Leopard. Last week I was playing a round with a friend, and I lost my beast in a pond. I decided to jump in after even though I couldn't see the bottom. About two hours later, I had five new discs along with the beast I lost. I found a Champion Orc, First Run Pro Tee-Bird, Roc Dx, Gazelle Dx, and the Champion Viking. The next day I took my new discs out on the course to see what I could do.

I am a RH side arm thrower, and I pulled out the Viking on a wide open fairway. The Viking was extremely comfortable to throw. The second time I threw the Viking it went near four hundred feet. That single throw almost doubled my next longest throw. I would have to say it has easily become my new favorite in the bag.
Posted: 12-13-03
Submitted by Jaymo
I am an Am player RH (about 4-5 months) who used to play ultimate, so i have a decent arm already. After using the Beast for my first driver i was begining to be able to turn it way over even with a hyzer release; So I thought I would try the Viking (I got a 172). My initial few throws went wayyyyyyy right on a backhand but this was with a flat release. So i tried an Hyzer release, and i love it! It does a long straight (minor S-curve) bullet throw. so if you are looking for a disc that holds a really straight line down an open fairway and glides good, then this is the right disc. It doesnt have very much drop at the end, so I wouldnt compare it to a Firebird (because it doesnt have that crash at the end of its flight) but it does seem to handle wind well. All in all the Viking has found its way into my bag.
Posted: 11-24-03
Submitted by cantrell@magnet.fsu.edu
I'm a advanced am rhbh thrower. I normally throw Champion Valkyries but I now have the strength so that the Valkyries turn over too easily. So I bought two Vikings since they are supposed to be more stable versions of the Valkyrie. I find that in fact they are more stable but not as stable as a Firebird and maybe a little less stable than a Tee-bird. I find I can throw a heavy Viking very straight but the lighter one tends to break right just slightly in flight. They are not quite as long as a Valkyrie but close. I can throw the Vikings about 10-15 feet short of a Valyrie but the stability really pays off because the flight path is more predictable. I would recommend the Viking for intermediate and advanced ams that have the arm to turn a Valkyrie over but still don't have the arm to throw a Firebird flat.
Posted: 10-21-03
Submitted by HipHopWong
I'm an intermediate to advanced right handed Amateur. Many people have said that this disc wouldn't sell because it flies just like an Eagle or Firebird. I don't throw Eagle's or Firebirds so I wouldn't know but the main difference is that it is a wide rimmed disc like the Beast and Monster. I love this disc and find myself throwing it a lot more. I love the Beast and it feels very similiar coming out of your hand but is much more overstable. I like to describe this disc as something between a Teebird and Firebird but with a wide rim. I have huge hands and so I love the feel of the wide rim. The problem with Beasts is that once they break in they can run away from you to the right if you accidentallly throw it with a little anhyzer. Add a little wind and this can spell disaster. I use this disc on long sweeping drives with a long slow left turn. You can achieve this with a heavier Beast but I find the Viking to be more reliable when you have to come back and finish left.
I think of it as a wide rimmed Teebird as the Viking will also take a skip and a slide at the end when it hits the ground. I tend to throw Teebirds on low ceiling drives and I tend to go for the Viking on wide open higher drives that must fade left.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page