Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Classic Roc

Type: Midrange
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-150, 165-175g
Plastic: Innova DX

Classic Roc
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Roc is the number one professional mid-range driver. It is very reliable at the high speeds that pros throw. Roc is a very straight to slightly overstable flyer with good carry. It ages slowly, becoming an excellent slow turning disc as it gets worn.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 01-13-08
Submitted by Trotter jwt4412@yahoo.com
PDGA: 31740
Location: Springfield, IL
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172g
Review: Simply, this is my favorite disc. It's a putter for folks with short and fat fingers... I use it for stationary approaches with just a little fade and pitch putting.

It is nice to see when various disc retailers list and describe the disc they have been listing it with the putters... cuz that is what it is.

If you aren't comfortable with "putters" because they don't feel right, try a DX Classic Roc...

Just because it doesn't say "putter" doesn't mean it can't be.
Posted 11-10-07
Submitted by Chris Disc Weights: 174
Review: The Classic Roc is fantastic. I bought mine for 5 bucks at Play it again because I was looking for some kind of multipurpose disc. It has since become my main putter plus I'll use it on a variety of midrange approaches. When putting from further than 25 feet, I feel most comfortable with this disc. I was even able to sink an approach from 90 feet out. It was like it was on some sort of government-funded laser guidance.

It flies nice and straight and will turn over a bit with some extra power. It holds an anhyzer angle nicely as well. I'll even throw it off the tee from time to time. Some of the holes in my area courses are less than 200 feet in length.

Overall, a nice option to have in your bag.
Posted 12-22-06
Submitted by Tony Staires tstaires@cableone.net
Disc Weights: 170g
Review: This is one of my favorite disc in my bag. Everyone should atleast give this disc a try. I'm on my second one. I lost my first one in the drink at a local course, and was heart broken. This disc is works great for me on everything under 150'. Now that it's a little worn in I find that it's slightly understable. It seems to hold just about any line that I put on it hyser, anhyser, or just straight on. It really seems to excel for me in putting game. With it's fairly flat profile and short rim it works great for my short fingers. I've used all types of putters, aviars, omega s/s, aeros, DGA gumputts and this disc seems to work great for my putting style. I recently bought one of these in the champion plastic, but I'll save that for another review. Give this disc a shot and I'm sure you'll find a place for it in your bag.
Posted 11-21-06
Submitted by jiwaburst Disc Weights: 172
Review: IF you need a disc which is halfway between a putter and a stable midrange, like a roc, this disc is it.

It is easy to throw full power, to drive it but still have the predictability of throwing a putter. I throw it 270' or so, and I'm not a big arm. It is a very good disc for 60-120 foot putts, or going straight at something. It is easy to throw straight, or have it curve left or right. A true mid-range though will be more versatile due to better glide and more possible flights.

It's low profile and bead let it handle wind putts pretty well too. Still though, it's a tweener disc, perfect for a one disc round, but not needed for anyone who has putting and mid-range play mastered.

The DX version is much better than the Champion version though, as the fade is much more controllable in the base plastic. And the DX Classic Roc design takes forever to beat in anyway.
Posted 10-03-06
Submitted by Jake burmest2@msu.edu
Disc Weights: 174
Review: The classic roc is a great low rim putter. I am an advanced amateur and I have had my biggest problems putting. I have used everything from the aviar, challenger, birdie, to the omega supersoft but the classic roc has been my saving grace. Everything else has given me control problems but you can easily lay this out and it is so predictable. The thin rim is much easier to grip than some of the deeper rimmed putters. It also fights the wind well. If you are looking for something similar i recommend the rhyno another great low profile putter.
Posted 03-24-06
Submitted by Anonymous
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 225
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I picked this disc up in a local used bin for $4, so apparently someone didn't like it that much, but it's done a lot for my newbie game. I can through it straight, I can hyzer it, or I can anhyzer it. Thrown hard, it does a gentle s-curve for me. Before, I was choosing between throwing my driver or my XD on long approach shots, and neither was satisfactory, but the CR is right on, skidding right to the base of the basket when thrown low. I think this disc has actually taught me to control my drivers better (this had been an issue for me, since I've only been playing about 3 months). I have to be careful not to overthrow it on shorter approaches. Also, it's an excellent tomahawk disk for getting out from behind an obstacle. I hurl it up like a ball and it turns upside down and stays right on line, gliding a good distance. I'm not experienced enough to compare a zillion different discs, but I can say that this disc has really improved my game.
Posted 09-19-05
Submitted by Anonymous
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Wonderful Approach disc, not as much fade as Innova will tell you, however. A very small amount of anhyzer and this baby will go for a nice, clean s curve that is not very extreme. Great for anything from 100 to 200 feet
Posted: 07-16-01
Submitted by Flathead777@aol.com
I can't throw a Roc for anything but I can sink the Classic from long approaches. Great control factor. When I'm scared to throw a putt but too far for a midrange I go with this disc. It floats better than the XD and has a little curve when I throw, although I can fling it very level to the Chains. It doesn't seem to have the distance it's predecessor has since it is more rounded and softer but it is right for me.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page