Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Gator

Type: Midrange
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-150, 165-175g
Plastic: Innova DX

Gator
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Gator is a mid-range power control disc that delivers pin-point accuracy even in adverse wind conditions. This is the disc for high power throwers who need to control their accuracy.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 01-31-07
Submitted by Josh bioidea@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I carry 2 dx Rocs, but only as dividers in my bag. The dx Gator is the mid-range I throw. When new, they are great for wind, downhill shots, sidearm approaches, hyzer approaches, and pinpoint thumbers.

When severly beaten, they can be thown on a variety of lines. In terms of HSS/LSS, I would rate my current thrashed Gator as -1,2 (vs 0,3 when new).
Posted 09-28-05
Submitted by Louis Doench blotzphoto@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I'm a 2 year rhbh amature who was looking to improve mi mid range arsenal when I bought my gator. Whilst I'm still working on my technique on mid range throws, the Gator has become my primary Putter! I find it much less likely to float away on 15'-20' putts as my magnet or X.
Posted: 5-01-05
Submitted by Frank Garcia
I wanted to send a review after reading the one on your site and say "I completely agree!". The Gator is an underrated disc and many beginner and intermediate players would benefit from having this disc in their bag. The analogy of throwing a rock or baseball is dead-on. You can throw this disc to the hole without worrying about it gliding over the hole or skipping past. It's also one of the few discs I've found you can trust in the 150' range into a headwind. At this range my Aviars, even big-bead, can have difficulty and if I move up to a stable driver then I have to guess how far to back off. The Gator eliminates this guesswork and allows you to make a very predictable throw especially into a headwind.
Posted: 10-21-04
Submitted by MOSSIM085@aol.com
I think that everyone that plays disc golf should have this disc in their bag. When this disc gets a little beat it will hold any line you put on it. I use it for long range putts, like anything over 60'. In the wind this disc can be also used as a driver if u need alot of control.
Posted: 05-18-04
Submitted by Matt Davis
The Gator is a small-diameter, overstable approach disc. It also makes a good putter into wind, or when you need some stability to pull a hyzer putt around an obstacle. It doesn't glide well at all, so it keeps out of wind trouble in the short to mid-game, and when throwing steep, short hyzer approaches, it stabs back toward the ground, and tends to dig in a little upon landing. I think the reviewer below may well be right when he says that the Gator would be the best disc to have if confined to only one. It might be a little short for that on some courses, but as far as utility under 200 feet, the Gator is hard to beat. I wish Innova made the Gator in Champion plastic, instead of the Gremlin and Spider; it seems odd that the most stable of the 'mini-Rocs' is the one that they DON'T make in their most-stable plastic.
Posted: 1-15-04
Submitted by: franksacco@yahoo.com
The Innova Gator is the top of the line when it comes to mid-range/approach discs. It's small diameter, tight grippy feel and pinpoint accuracy makes the Gator the best mid-range driver and approach discs available. It's alot like the Gazelle and Roc for consistency, dependablilty and reliability!

If thrown hard, it will fly straight and hook semi hard left at the end of it's flight. One of the unique features of the Gator is that you can rip this disc haphazardly hard without the ill effects of the disc gliding out of control because of it's low glide characteristic!

I am an advanced amateur player and searched a long time for a dependable accurate mid-range/approach disc, and I found it in the Innova Gator. You will see drastic improvements in your scores once you start sticking your approaches and mid-range drives next to the pin with the Gator!
Posted: 10-21-03
Submitted by JAMESDEAN189@aol.com
Even though the gator is a cheap eight dollar disc, if had had to choose one disc to play a round with it would be the gator. This disc has changed my game, it's a great disc for high power players who end up killing finesse disc. the gator holds a line very well and can be turned over with a little extra sauce.
Posted: 11-21-01
Submitted by David Swartwood <calvarycoffee@juno.com>
I have come to the conclusion that a "putter" disc is not necessarily better to putt with than any other disc in your bag. But that may just be a marketing ploy, or just my stinky putting technique. So, lately, I've been experimenting putts with all my discs on the rounds. I know, it may not be 'hip' to putt with XL's and the like, but only the score will tell.
So, over all, the Innova Gator comes out to be the best putt for me. Most putter discs are too bulky or floppy and can cause a bad release. The Gator is a small diameter disc and the rim has just enough lip for a good putting grip(HA! that rhymes). It's DX stiffness is a nice feel to kill a basket with. Which may bring a touch of confidence along with the putt. It is greatly overstable on slow putts. You can easily memorize it's flight line and sink most putts. It will also fall fast to the ground if missed. I've been putting with an Aviar. The Aviar's rim causes an awkward release and many inaccurate long putts. I can't get any accuracy with an APX(gave it away). And I'm still trying to figure out how to get the Thumbtrac Birdie to work right. Try the Gator on your putting/approach game. This new putting feel might help shave off some strokes.
Posted: 11-17-01
Submitted by Chris Cauble <chriscauble@hotmail.com>
As a Roc disciple, the Gator lives up to the reputation. Think of a baby Roc. Slightly smaller, very close to stability of Roc as well. Main difference is Gator glides less, however is faster. So guys who like to rip 300' drives or under mid-shots will eat this disc up. Low and hard and it is very nice laying up. Holds a line great. Overstability better geared for hard throwers. Those who are more finesse would dig the Spider, which is a broken in Gator. Bottom line-Gator Rules. Spider Rules. Roc Rules. Innova Rules. Disc Golf Rules.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page