Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova
Pro Starfire

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Innova Pro

Pro Starfire
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Pro Starfire is a fast, dependable disc with a long straight flight and excellent glide. This disc is can add measurable distance to your drives. With its quickness, slight high speed turn, long glide and low fade, the Pro Starfire will fly a long way. Also known as the SL.
Maximum Flight Speed
Resistance To High Speed Turn
Amount Of Low Speed Fade
Propensity To Fade
Glide
Relative Distance
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level
Predictability
Uniformity Of Break In Period
Overall Durability Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

Posted 11-06-07
Submitted by Grayson M anarak82@hotmail.com
Location: Nacogdoches TX
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This was my first 175g weight disc. I'm used to throwing in the mid 160s but wanted something that's a little more predictable. It was a tough transition at first with this disc. It was so overstable for me that I almost kicked myself for wasting $12. However, I started using a power grip and started cocking my wrist to get a little more spin on it and soon found myself throwing just as long as my Wraith and Surge. When thrown with a flat hyzer, this disc has execptional glide with great predictability. My longest shots with the Starfire are with a big anny. After hitting a few trees this disc became understable in a hurry. After 6 months of playing with it, it's still predictable, but at times it loses itself kinda like a beat up Valkyerie. Still, the Starfire will always have a place in my bag, and I recommend it to anyone who is fed up with firebirds or destroyers for the effort they require, or fed up with Valkyeries or Wraiths for their unpredictability.


Posted 08-04-07
Submitted by Devin Mcinnis Himcky5685@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 168
Review: The Pro Starfire has to be one of my favorite disc Innova made. Though it's not the one disc they have that goes the furthest. It has made my score lower. May not be a good idea for a starter disc. Take time and practice to get use to. It helped me ace a hole for the first time. Very long distance. Could improve your score.
Posted 06-10-07
Submitted by Takeichi Stakeichi7@yahoo.com
Location: La Mrada Ca
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 171
Review: Great Disc, When new it's a great sidearm driver for straight and a predictable Hyzer in the end of the flight. When it becomes worked in it gets VERY understable for sky rollers and turnover shots. I'm hoping the Champion version will hold the regular characteristics it should as it says on the innova site.
Posted 07-13-06
Submitted by Dan ds10191@hotmail.com
Location: Marshfield, WI
Level: Beginner
Disc Weights: 172, 175
Review: I got a slightly used Pro Starfire as first driver after I beat my first "learning" disc all to hell. It adds noticable length my drives, probably 20-40 feet farther than my Champion Beast. If you have a big arm, you can throw it with a slight hyzer and it will flip up and fly straight as an arrow. I just bought a new 175 Pro Starfire and right out of the box, it is slightly overstable, and works perfectly as a sidearm disc. I love it, I'll always have one. Too bad Pro plastic is hard to find around here.
Posted 04-21-06
Submitted by Garth Burrill gr8garcia@carolina.rr.com
Location: Charlotte
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 170
Review: This disc is one of the fastest discs I have thrown. I have been using it for a couple of months now, and it's starting to get flippy. I definitely will have one of these in my bag at all times. Although it got unstable fairly quick, the distance that can be achieved makes it totally worth it.
Posted 03-12-06
Submitted by Anonymous
Location: pa
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 168
Review: i have been using this disc since it has been available. i do not agree with the ratings though. i believe it is way more understable than rated. after using just about every other stable/understable disc in my bag as a roller, i turned to my starfire. to my suprise, i rolled it out about 450' on flat ground. the roll was absolutely perfect--rolled straight with very little roll to the right at the end. since then, this has become my go-to long distance roller and it never dissapoints.
Posted 02-26-06
Submitted by Damen Brooks damen.brooks@gmail.com
Location: Fresno, CA
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 169-171
Review: A 171G Pro Starfire was my first driver when I started. Don't start out with this disk. Much like the Wraith, you need a good helping of spin and power to get a Starfire flying correctly. Otherwise your drives will fade about 60% into their flight. In addition the Starfire isn't the most forgiving disk because it is very responsive to hyzer and anhyzer. Unless your an avid player, a poor angle on the release will send this disk into a few trees. With Pro plastic the flight of the disk will start to change in (what I find to be) unpredictible ways between like disks. The Starfire is a great disk but I would go with the champion plastic.
Posted 10-28-05
Submitted by Alex Ku kenshinhimura12@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This disc is exceptionally good. I've broken the 300 foot line with it quite a few times now. When i throw it, it floats to the right just a little bit, ending with a very small fade. It flies straighter than my teebird champion 169. I've nailed 2 or 3 trees with it but it's holding out just like a champion disc for me.
Posted 10-13-05
Submitted by cooke tmthum98@aol.com
PDGA: 27921
Location: Illinois
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 170
Review: Out of the box this disc put some good footage on my drives flying straight with predictable fade at the end. After a few months using it as my go to D driver it started to get really flippy. I now compensate this with a moderate hyzer flip and now get a nice flex with with even more distance then when it was new. The pro plastic feels really nice in the hand and holds up well if you can tweek your style alittle as the disc evolves. I'm still out driving my cfr Wraith with it, but I think I'll need to replace it after a full season.
Posted 08-23-05
Submitted by Zack
ZPierce882@aol.com
Location: Longview, TX
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I thought it was a good addition to my set for about a week. Pro plastic, although more durable than cheaper forms, is still many steps down from Champion. After about 20 rounds or so, it started breaking hard right and had trouble recovering. I proceeded to through it against a large oak tree repetetively for about an hour until I thought it had been properly beaten. Now it makes a great long range turnover disc.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Bryce Cox coxbb@yahoo.com
Location: Denver CO
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 350
Throws: Righty
Throwing Style(s): Backhand, Sidearm
Disc Weights: 167
Review: This is a fun disc that I throw often along with my 165 Pro Beast and 167 Pro Orc. I find it to be in the same ballpark as these other discs yet unique. It is pretty high speed stable although it will roll over if it's thrown really hard and fast with good snap; plus, it rolls over quite a bit into a headwind so I wouldn\'t consider it a great wind disc in the order of a Firebird. Even when it rolls over, though, it usually comes back well at the finish, provided you give it enough elevation to do so. The Starfire is not as flippy as the Beast and fades harder at the end of it\'s flight but not as hard as the Orc. Very fast with super glide -- tends to fly straight for a long ways before fading off moderately towards the end. If you don\'t put enough steam on it, though, it will begin to turn about halfway through it's trajectory before falling off hard at the end. Just for reference, I find the Champion Orc too overstable and the Champ Sidewinder unpredictably understable. I really like the feel of the Pro plastic and the way that these drivers tend to be domier than their Champ counterparts. All in all, a great disc -- big D for sure, but it's not the magic bullet that's gonna make or break your game.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Lars lars@austin.rr.com
PDGA: 7330
Location: Austin Tx
Level: Amateur
Throws: Righty
Throwing Style(s): Sidearm
Disc Weights: 174
Review: AMEN, brother Robb. I found your review right on target. Based on Robb's original Starfire Pro report I bought one and found that I was 30' longer off the tee from the first throw. This disc is just what Innova reports on their website, slightly overstable, fast, fast, fast and with tremendous glide. Going into a slight (10 mph) breeze it flies straight and level with only a hint of turn and moderate low speed fade. With higher wind speed I found that it began to pickup high speed turn, so that the Orc or Flash might be a better choice. As to the durability of Pro plastic I haven\t played the disc long enough to scuff it much but I can already tell that it is tougher than DX plastic.
Posted: 4-08-05
Submitted by Robb
I'm an intermediate RHBH amateur. I've only been playing about 10 months, but I play nearly every day. I saw recently on Innova's web site that the Starfire was being produced in the pro plastic. I saw it's ratings (10, 5, -1, 2) and knew I had to try it. I'm not a big arm thrower (max out about 350'); I mainly try to go for accuracy. But on long, wide open holes, I need to go for some distance. I bought a 168g Starfire on Ebay. The platic is grippy and very comfortable. The mold is very unique, with a relatively sharp edge, like an Orc or Flash, but with a high dome. I figured that dominess would make it understable, but it does not. The disc is extremely fast. I can't tell any difference speedwide between that and my Orc. It turns veeeeerrry slightly at high speeds and glides forever. It then finishes very predictably left, often with an overstable skip at the end that adds another 10-15'. I've always gotten my best results with the Orc, but I'm driving this one considerably farther. I also tend to throw my drives low, but the glide on this disc will often make it very forgiving on those low drives, adding a lot of distance. The disc is easy to throw, which is good for beginners. It's very stable, right in the middle between the unpredictable understable discs and the hard left turn of overstable discs. I cannot say enough good things about it.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page