Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova
Star Beast

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Innova Star

Star Beast
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Beast is a more stable version of the very popular Valkyrie, giving power throwers more predictability off the tee.
Maximum Flight Speed
Resistance To High Speed Turn
Amount Of Low Speed Fade
Propensity To Fade
Glide
Relative Distance
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level
Predictability
Uniformity Of Break In Period
Overall Durability Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

Posted 03-10-08
Submitted by Cesar Emmanuel c_emmanuel@live.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I have been playing disc golf for a couple of years, and throwing a Beast for about a year. I taco'd a DX Beast last summer, and seizing the opportunity to upgrade, I did so to Star plastic, and haven't looked back-it's my go to driver! I was nervous about getting such a strong disc; I am predominantly an overhander and sidearmer, and since there isn't really a rating system for the overhand throws, finding good discs has been very hit or miss for me, but the StarBeast is a gem. I have thrown it into wind, in rain, and of course wide open field, and it consistently turns over the way it's should, occasionally flipping twice and maintaining a stable flight path. It can take quite a beating, as I have plunked right into trees point blank and the disc barely shows a mark and flies as true as ever.


Posted 06-07-07
Submitted by Takeichi Stakeichi7@yahoo.com
Location: La Mirada Ca
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I've had this disc since christmas of 2005. by far this is my longest and most predictable disc i know. It has a s turn. Sidearm this thing is a rocket. give it a hyzer and throw below the shoulder and it flies incredibly straight and low. I have about 40-50' more distance than my pulses. Maube i don't have the throwing power of the Pulse or it could be the disc. When it gets beat in it just flies straight and left (RHFH) With little or no fade. it does pretty well for over hand Forehand, for up hill shots you throw it anhyzer and it flattens out almost 100% of the time. you do have those throws where it skids out. Other than that it's a great rounded disc.
Posted 10-06-06
Submitted by Jason Williamson ghstinshll@excite.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I bought a 167 in this disc previously - just to test it. I loved it from my first throw. Hard, straight, slight S-curve, and WOW it'd carry down a long hill... But as I learned to throw it harder, found out it was easy to turn over, and was best for anny's, or anythign with a right-bend in it. Lost that beloved "situational disc" in the Lake @ Pickard b/c of wind.

Bought a 172, thinking it'd either be understable again, or maybe bring something else to the table @ that weight, and WOW! Now I need to focus on my long putts so I can start deucing more - as the 172 is MUCH better for my arm & pull style.

Can't WAIT to really let this one open up on bigger holes! Posted 07-18-06
Submitted by Jordan Thompson jordan_thom@hotmail.com
PDGA:
Location: Eureka IL
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 325
Throws:
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 171
Review: Amazing Grip. When I first started playing DG i borrowed a friends Champions beast, i liked the flight but didn't like the way it felt. Shopping around i tried the star plastic and fell in love. Great "S" curves for those big open holes, but enough accuracy. Great speed, carry, stability, grip, and a great buy.
Posted 05-27-06
Submitted by Kelly S abc@att.net
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 164-166
Review: This is a great disc!! If you throw with a lot of snap, you should get a lighter disc, because you can do a hyser flip turn. Since it is a fast disc, you dont want a heavy weight.
Posted 05-27-06
Submitted by Anonymous
Location: Portland, OR
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 164
Review: This disc really took my driving to that "next level." I'd been throwing Valks and Sidewinders, and I bought the Beast thinking it would be too much for me, but might be good to practice with. The first time I threw it I put a bunch of anhyser on it and snapped the hell out of it, and it cranked right into the ground. At least in the light weight I throw, it is not nearly as overstable as I feared. After a few more throws, I was getting nice s-curves. This is the first disc I broke 300' with. On the course, I find this disc very controlable, even at full power. It's great for uphill drives. It's hit some trees and asphalt, and it's getting pretty flippy, but not in a bad way. It's still my go-to driver on most holes. Nice straight hyzer flip shots, and long anhyzers that fade back just a little at the end. Today I bought a 169g DX Beast, and I can't wait to try it. I want to see if all this talk about DX flying farther is true. After I beat it up, I guess I'll have to learn to throw a roller. Even if your not a super big-arm player, don't be afraid to give the Beast a try. If you can throw a 170g Valk straight, you can definitely throw a light weight Beast a long way.
Posted 04-13-06
Submitted by Marc brokernewyork@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 168
Review: This is my favorite driver as of now. I started with the discraft stratus, which I still love. But the last couple of rounds, I have finally added some snap to my drive. The Beast loves snap! If you get enough on it, it really doesn't fade to much at the end of it's flight, it's too busy going straight down the fairway. I threw my first 300' drive with the Beast, and can throw them consistently without throwing full strength. This is the first time I am actually overthrowing the target on the first shot, but I am not complaining. I really like the star plastic, it has great grip, and it just feels right. You can hammer it into a tree full force like an idiot, and it doesn't hurt the disc one bit. (And I have done this a lot!) Beginner friendly, once you get the feel for it, keep it low, and rip it!
Posted 04-04-06
Submitted by Dennis Dideriksen
Disc Weights: 173-175
Review: I've been playing with the champion beast for half a year, when I picked up some in the new star plast. Ive been playing with the star beast for two months. It has a great grip, especially in wet weather. I throw arround 30-45 feet longer with the star, compared to the champion. But it is quite a lot more understable and need a lot of room in its anhyzer curve. It also has a lower resistance to turnover, than the champion edition.

In wet weather and on open holes this disc is great, but I would stick to the champion when precision is needed.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page