Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Star
Coyote

Type: Multi-Purpose
Diameter: 21.7cm
Available Weights: 165 - 180g
Plastic: Innova Star

Star Coyote
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Coyote is a multi-purpose disc with good glide that flies predictably for straight, gentle turnover, or hyzer shots. It is an easy to throw disc with a friendly grip. A great choice for players using only one disc.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 09-24-07
Submitted by JLindberg
Disc Weights: 175
Review: The Coyote has resemblances to the classic Aero, in profile and in the great glide. I'd like to see it as a slimmer, faster, updated Aero. I've tried the Coyote in both DX and Star plastic and like both. It's described as an allround, beginner friendly disc, but I also think it's a disc that allows a lot of finesse in approach throws, which should suit pros as well. The Coyote is a more versatile disc than for example the Cobra and should fit any player who like gliding throws with feel, rather than making frequent hard hyzers/anhyzers. Perfect for precision shots in the woods.
Posted 08-26-07
Submitted by Stephen Canfield stephen_can_man@juno.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Seriously, I hate this disc. I have tried to get the feel of it, but, I have smaller fingers and the weight and shape of this disc makes it so that it is right in between a midrange and a putter. It doesnt quite glide like my buzz and it doesnt feel as good as my Aviar. If I were you, I would recommend getting a Buzz or a Roc and leave this one to the wolves, er or coyotes...
Posted 08-14-07
Submitted by Chris Barns Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 179
Review: The Champion Coyote is a very nice straight flyer. This is a do everything type of midrange. If you are a beginner, try this disc. I recently switched to throwing rocs so I do not use this disc anymore because of overlap. However if you are a beginner wanting to play with only one disc, I would recommend this disc or a Champion Classic Roc over the Roc as these are very easy to putt with.
Posted 05-21-07
Submitted by Action Jackson dbjackson@ameritech.net
Disc Weights: 167
Review: I got two Coyotes to serve as my mid-range to short drivers. I found I could throw them so straight and so predictably, I began throwing them EVERYWHERE. I will often play an entire round with my two Coyotes and a Soft Magnet putter. I throw the Coyotes as far and much straighter than TLs, Sidewinders, and my Leopard. It also excels in the woods, as I can make it go straight or turn slightly to either direction. I use it for upshots as well. Can you tell I love it? The only time I have had trouble is when putting too much wrist turn/anhyzer when throwing downwind --> big turnovers.... So, on long drives, I put a significant amount of hyzer on, then let 'er rip.
Posted 03-18-07
Submitted by voyer the destroyer PDGA: 31504
Location: Oregon
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 180
Review: What a magic disc. I liked it so much that I bought it in dx for the grip. It is a longer flying version of an aviar putt & approach. This is my 30' to 60' putter. In fact it has been steadily replacing my aviar for all ranges, but only for backhand shots. I like the weight because it is less susceptible than a 175 aviar to my not-so-perfect-everytime putting skill.
Posted 11-04-05
Submitted by Fish Campbell fish-campbell@sbcglobal.net
Disc Weights: 177
Review: This disc is just like throwing a putter for a midrange shot. It's OK for 150-200 ft but prone to turnover with more power. It's just no substitute for Rocs, Sharks, or Cobras (Which I can throw to 300ft). Maybe you get a little extra distance than a putter but the stability is about the same. This won't be replacing my KC roc for midrange shots or short holes off the tee. I did putt a few times with it and found it to be pretty good in that regard.
Posted 11-01-05
Submitted by Matt jarvis_mckinley@hotmail.com
Location: Tulsa
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 173
Review: I disagree with the last post. The coyote will hold any line. Anhyzer... yup. Straight... use a little hyzer if you're gonna crank it. And hyzer... put a bunch of angle on it. It glides. Its controllable. (With an open field and practice you can even choose the fade) I have never seen a disc float down absolutely straight after a 250'+ flight until the coyote. I love it and it replaced my unpredictable, piece of trash, way understable, Z Glide.
Posted 10-17-05
Submitted by Adam MrTasses@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I have tried throwing the Coyote for as many of my midrange shots as possible hoping that I will become more comfortable. I've had it about a month and I still don't feel very confident with it. On any shot over 100 feet it tends to flip over and sail off into the woods. When thrown just right, it does sail straight as an arrow, but I find myself giving up on this disc and going back to my DX Roc.
Posted 08-24-05
Submitted by Jacob
slip666not555@msn.com
Location: Cottage Grove,MN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 200
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I got this disc les then a week ago and i love it so far i have made at least 5 40-60 foot shots it flies very strait and is very perdictable i would recamend this for everyone
Posted 08-01-05
Submitted by steve maerz
roadkill_4512@yahoo.com
PDGA: 4512
Location: Lancaster, Pa
Level: Pro
Avg Drive: 350-400
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I started throwing the coyote four weeks ago. I was impressed after just a few tosses. This is the most versatile controllable disc to come out in many years maybe ever. I would liken it to a seasoned champion roc. It holds a nice straight line with very little low speed fade. I find it has great glide which enables one to throw it further than any other midrange disc. It will hold a nice anhyzer turn. I find it works best when thrown at 70-85% power. If you have a tendency to turnover discs this maybe a little too unstable. I prefer to release with a slight hyzer angle and this disc just flips up to flat and goes on a stringline with minimal fade at the end. If I were to enter a one disc tourney, this would be my disc of choice as it even works as a long putter in a pinch.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page