Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova
Star Cro

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 150-175g
Plastic: Innova Star

Star Cro
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Star Cro is a new addition to our small diameter Mid-Range line-up. This disc flies slightly overstable and is well suited for both backhand and forehand shots. The stability of the Cro is comparable to that of a Roc or a Shark, but it will fly a little faster and with less glide. The rim depth and shape offer a smooth release.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 04-10-08
Submitted by Dan
Disc Weights: 170-175g
Review: I've had this star cro since about may 2007. I initially bought the disc as a putter because I couldn't stand the deep lips on most putters. The rim is very smooth with no bead underneath. It flies similar to a roc but smaller diameter and (therefore) less glide. My cro is very tacky and pretty floppy for a star disc and it feels great in my hand. Like another user posted the greatest advantage of this disc is the forehand approach. I use forehand extensively and I finally found a touch forehand disc to make some great shots out of bad situations. I've learned to use my wizard for some putts but I still use the cro for many putts which everyone thinks is weird until it goes in. I sank a 40-50 footer yesterday in doubles with it and won doubles last week putting with it, so that is definitely an option with this disc. After a year of use (2-3 rounds a week) it is only slightly less stable than when I got it. I think this is a very overlooked disc, I throw a roc some still but this is more predictable with harder snaps for me. It's probably the only disc that hasn't left my bag in a year.
Posted 03-23-08
Submitted by klay kennedy discgolfklay@hotmail.com
PDGA: 34262
Location: texas
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 171
Review: i love this disc it is an amazing midrange roller... i throw righty backhand w tremendous power, if released on an hyzer will flaten out and fly as far as 100-110 yards, but if i throw flat it tends to hold an anny (anhyzer) line. i definantly wouldnt recomend this for a begginer... i feel the star mold "first run" cro is overstable, while the DX is staight stable to understable... this is my #1 go-to midrange. thrown w low speed it is going to want to hyzer hard... peace everybody,
Posted 01-25-08
Submitted by Jason Spires biopuritan@yahoo.com
Location: Memphis, TN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 171
Review: There is no doubt that the mid-range game is owned by the Roc. The problem is that the Roc can, to some, be a difficult and\or uncomfortable disc to throw. I have a Pro Roc and I can handle tha fade fine, however, the Star Cro simply feels better in my hands. Say what you want, comfort is what is important. The soft star material allows you to rip this thing and let it fly any way you need it to. It easily stays on a straight line and works well with a long fade approach as well. I also use this on my home course for a necessary "S" shot and it gets me in birdie range almost every time. NOTE: The star Cro will not soar like a Roc will but you may want to sacrifice that for the sheer comfort and feel of the disc. It has, in effect, replaced my Roc.
Posted 11-13-07
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 175
Review: I have been searching for years for the perfect disc for right-to-left, dropping forehand approaches, and the Cro is it. The rounded outer rim feels very comfortable in the hand, and when you flip it up and to the right at a steep release angle, the disc flattens out and drops left towards the hole, and either goes in or drops right next to the basket. This is a very useful shot to have: I find myself all the time in tough situations where I can easily lean way out and flick a forehand towards the basket, whereas a pure backhand player might have no legitimate shot at all. The Cro is perfect for this shot.
Posted 11-13-07
Submitted by Jason Spires jason.spires@ge.com
Location: Memphis
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 168
Review: Well, the simple truth is that almost anyone will tell you that you need to be able to throw a Roc. But what if they simply don't feel good in your hands? I have quite small hands for a 32 year old man and the rigidness of a Roc doesn't work well for me. What do I do? Well, one answer is definitely the Star Cro. This thing is gummy and feels great in your hands. It will basically toss like a Roc, only not as far. When really snapped into place they hold a straight line well before a fairly quick fade. I like to use it for wooded shots and any Par 3 with a left turn. If the Roc just doesn't feel right to you or you are having difficulty throwing it well, try the Cro!
Posted 09-06-07
Submitted by mike pedley mike.pedley@gmail.com
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 171
Review: An excellent midrange if you like the shark. Can be thrown for long straight approaches. Holds a straight route and has plenty of speed, but not a lot of fade or glide making it predictable. Very solid disc. Can even be used as a putter because it flies straight with little glide. Easy to aim. Best if used for 2nd approach or long putt throw.
Posted 07-18-07
Submitted by Anonymous
Disc Weights: 170 to 175
Review: This Disc was received before the initial release by Innova. I would say that this disc is a slightly more overstable disc than a roc or a shark. This disc is great into a medium headwind with no real attempt to go anhyzer even when released flat. As far as distance goes, I threw a 175 Cro and a 175 Roc on the same line with the same amount of power and snap. The results: The Cro flew on a perfect line until hyzering out and finishing around 300+ feet. The Roc flew straight until hyzering out around 350+ feet. While the Cro will not replace any of my Rocs, I would recommend this disc to players who throw the Buzz or the Shark as this disc has a better line, grip, and control factor. This disc has enough fade that when thrown with a slight anhyzer, you can put it out 400 feet. It also works great for medium to short distance dump shots when thrown with a slight hyzer.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page