Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Star
Destroyer

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 170-175g
Plastic: Innova Star

Star Destroyer
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Destroyer is a very fast stable to overstable long distance driver. This disc is much like a faster Tee-Rex. Great disc for sidearm throwers and those with lots of power. Can handle headwinds and throws with off axis torque. Not for beginning players. Available in Star plastic in weights from 168 175 grams.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

Posted 05-02-08
Submitted by Tee Jay
Disc Weights: 172
Review: To be honest, this disc is over rated. I still prefer wraiths
and Tee Rex's.You can get some great distance out of it. It toma hawks
great, but thats where the problem comes in. I managed to take a huge
gouge out of it, its not very durable.



Posted 03-09-08
Submitted by rjosull
Location: Nothern California
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I decided to get myself one of these discs after throwing a friend of mines. This thing is the real deal, you can feel that extra speed and it snaps hard out of your hand. I have had success throwing this disc both backhand and sidearm with anywhere from 20-50ft extra distance. The fade is dramatic but with the right throw I can minimize it or utilize it to my advantage. This had taken over as my go to disc and I can't get enough of it.


Posted 02-25-08
Submitted by John Stone jonnyrosee4444@hotmail.com
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Oh my gosh!!!!! I just about died when I figured out how reliable this disc is. It does Flip in the wind from time to time but that usually a forsight or mental mistake. I choose to only Throw Destroyers and Sidewinders for awhile. Its comparable to Black and White. I know that if I throw my Destroyer with Hyzer, it will Hyzer. Same with My SideWinders. I know if I turn it over gently, it will deliver. And if I throw my Destroyer like my understable plastic "in head wind" it will go straight 400+ ft. Consistently. And same like wise.
Posted 02-04-08
Submitted by tony higley
Location: Eau Claire WI
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I preordered 2 destroyers about a month before they released as an Impulse buy. If your reading this review than you probably have heard all the hype out their about the destroyer and are trying to find if its the disc for you. This disk is in my opinion like a very well aged TeeRex. Yes it is faster then a teerex but its not that big of jump. I would say the speed increase is compairable yet slightly less than going from a Valkyrie to a beast.

So how does it fly? Well the thing to understand here is the large rim makes for a low plastic density so the disk does break in real fast but ounce it hits a certain point the disc flight becomes unchangable. (I've piled mine into dozens of trees in -15F tempratures with no flight change)

Prebreak in the flight is simaler to a light firebird with a longer glide on the tail. When you have broken the disk in I would say it flies like a heavy old school orc/star wraith with the tail end of a teebird. If you have ever thrown an early run CE Eagle with a very flat top than you can think of the destroyer as the same disk but it will fly 30% farther with only 15-20% more power.

Plastic choice is the same as it has always been. Pro=flippy Star=stable Champion= rather over stable

Hopes this review helps. Ohh and by the way distance isn't the only thing this disk can do. It realy excels at low flat tunnel shots at about 250-300ft and has the same flight path at any amount of power
Posted 01-28-08
Submitted by TN Longarm
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I finally got my hands on a Star Destroyer and had some time and descent weather to go chuck it a couple times at our local course. I threw a Star TeeRex along with it and both flew like magic. The Star Destroyer set its sight on the goal and only slightly veared to the left, whereas the TeeRex flew out of my hand with the same feel but seemed to take a more distinct dive to the left as it slowed. I have always been a fan of the "lawn mower pull across the chest" and the Star Destroyer takes advantage of my full force. My LS Polaris now has competition on the path to straight and true. The only thing that I worry about is lengthening my shots and accidently overshooting. Noticed that both discs sounded different also when I tweaked them against a couple trees...but maybe thats just me throwing Star Plastic against good ole Tennessee wood.
Posted 12-25-07
Submitted by Arthur Haverkamp pdga3791@hotmail.com
PDGA: 3791
Location: Rotterdam,The Netherlands
Level: Pro
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 169
Review: Like so many players here,I love this disc too. I tested this disc in 2 different weights(I test discs for my website and the Dutch players).I took a 169(eventhou they are most of the time 2 gr.heavier when you put them on a scale)and a 175 gr.The lighter one is better for my game(control over distance)but this 169 added alot without alot of effort on my part.I found it to fly very straight with some fade at the end.It easily added 50 feet to my drives.Most likely this will replace my star and pro Wraith's cuz' it is more stable. The 175 Destroyer goes harder to the left at the end of the flight and I am gonna use that one with some headwind. I wouldn't say that this disc is for everybody.You need a good amount of armspeed to throw this baby or good disc control.Not suited for beginners or advanced players.There are better discs for them.Learn to release flat before you try this disc. Later........
Posted 12-24-07
Submitted by Jake Lowery actionjackson2k3@yahoo.com
Location: Kings Mountain, NC
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: The disc is fast plain and simple. The distance is about the same as my Wraith's because of the extreme fade at the end. I thought with the TURN AND FADE rating being like they are that it would be able to handle a head wind...Boy was I mistaken. This things flips in the slightest headwind and doesn't come back. It still has a place in my bag, unless the wind is blowing.
Posted 11-11-07
Submitted by Anonymous Location: Monterey, California
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 171
Review: well to start things off im 14, have been playing for a year and a half, and LOVE THIS DISC!!!!! I throw about 60% backhand and the other sidearm. i usually go for max d with sidearm and control with back hand. Well anyway: i got a 171 first run destoyer from my local club dealer and it is crazy fast and crazy overstable(for me at least im still 14) I usually throw it with a some anhyzer and with 95% power and i can get it aroun 400'. this disc is also very predictable in the wind and i have gotten skips 150' !!!!!!!! as soon as this thing comes out of its turn it has a long but EXTREMELY hard fade. this is definately a buy for anyone who wants to increase their distance bh or fh (my friend gets it about 380' backhand). my fav driver as of now you gotta get one. more reviews to come PEACE
Posted 11-08-07
Submitted by Casey Locke lockec@dhw.idaho.gov
Location: Pocatello, ID
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I fell for the hype and bought this disc... and I'm glad I did. In comparisson to the Innova Wraith, this disc is faster and is more overstable. . Backhand, this disc can take a good anhyzer release and do a nice s-curve to come back. It really gave me the added 20 feet that I've heard other people talk about. Unlike the Wraith, I've had a hard time turning it over when I really rip it. It's also a good long distance fore-arm disc where you need more of an overstable fade off at the end in comparisson to the Wraith. I feel like the Wraith is more accurate, but where I can fudge accuracy for extra distance the destroyer will be my new go to disc.
Posted 10-30-07
Submitted by David Westmoreland big151red@yahoo.com
PDGA: 31417
Location: Huntington Beach CA
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 169-175
Review: First, there is a big difference between the first runs, the ones with the old school star stamp, and the newer ones, they just say star destroyer on them. The first runs are very stable, I will trust a max weight one into head wind almost as much as a new max. With no or little wind I can throw a fist run about 450 feet almost every time. That is what I love about this disc, it is very consistent. I throw flat and it holds a strait line for a while then hyzers very hard at he end. The second runs will flip, kind of like a wraith but with more fade at the end, and more distance. I have both in my bag and a couple of back us of the first runs, if you haven't thrown this disc yet, and can throw over 325 feet, you need to try it, there is simple nothing else like it on the market right now.
Posted 10-28-07
Submitted by Calebo Location: Spokane, WA
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 169
Review: The Destroyer is easily the most accurate ultra long range driver I have ever thrown. It is like throwing a Star TL but getting about 60 extra feet.
Posted 10-12-07
Submitted by Swingman8
Location: Spokane, WA
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 168 and 169
Review: When this disc first started coming out I was worried that I would not have the power to throw it do to the high Fade rating and speed. My longest driver before the Star Destroyer was the Diablo DT which I could throw between 360 and 380ft on a good drive. However, even though the Diablo was very long for me it was very easy to beat into understable and it was quite unpredictable. But I took a chance on the Destroyer anyway and I am glad I did. Immediatly it added at least 20-30ft to my drives, but more importantly it did it accuratly and did not get flippy like the Diablo's did. I personally believe that the flight ratings that Innova has given this disc are inacurate for people who can hit 350ft regularly. I would give this disc a rating between (12 4 -1 2) and (12 4 0 3) once it has hit a few trees. It has been described as a Faster Star Teebird and that is a great comparison. If you torque it over it will turn and hold an anny for most of the flight before a consistant fade at the end. If you are looking to push your distance to the next level and believe that you already have pretty good technique, this would be a great choice.
Posted 10-12-07
Submitted by David Gavel Location: Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 170
Review: This disc is unbelievable. The speed rating is a 12 and it shows. When thrown at 100%, the ridiculous amount of speed it has compared to any other disc is very noticable. It shoots off the hand as sails to a cool 400 ft in no time. Many people compare it to a faster monster or teerex but from my experience, the flight is identical to a Wraith with the exception that it is more predictable. The Wraith's only flaw is it's tendency to flip over(especially in the wind)and never come back. The Destroyer may flip when thrown hard, but it will come back every time. This disc won't replace my Wraith as the #1 distance driver, but it will likely share the role.
Posted 10-04-07
Submitted by David OldSchool PDGA: 31523
Location: WI
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175 & 167
Review: The destroyer has quickly become one of my favorite go-to distance drivers. I bought 2 of them, one is a max weight 175g and the other is a light weight 167g. The 175g flies exactly like my teerex, except it adds at least 20 feet to my drives. It is very overstable and won't flip over unless thrown into a strong headwind. The 167g flies almost exactly like my champion and star wraiths. It will flip over very slightly to give you HUGE distance. It still fades hard at the end of its flight, making it very predictable.

The destroyer is a great disc for advanced and pro players. If you throw a lighter one it will definitely be your farthest flying disc.
Posted 10-03-07
Submitted by NATHAN WELCH the_opus_malice@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I JUST GOT A FIRST RUN STAR DESTROYER LIKE A WEEK AGO AND I JUST GOT BACK FROM NAILING MY FIRST ACE!!! THIS DISC IS AMAZING...I'M STILL SHAKING!!! IT ADDS 20+ FEET TO ANY DRIVE NO LIE. BUT PLAY YOUR CURVE SMART, THIS DISK DOES HAVE SOME KILLER FADE, BUT CAN BE USED TO YOUR ADVANTAGE.
Posted 10-02-07
Submitted by patrick mysteryman007_2000@yahoo.com
PDGA: 33171
Location: lynchburg,va
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 173, 174.3
Review: it took me a while to learn this disc, but wow, it did add more distance for my sidearm throw. tilt the outer edge up and fling it hard. not a disc for new players or those with less power. definitely faster than my star teerex and max.
Posted 09-11-07
Submitted by KVDiscPro 21803 kvdiscpro@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: My Review:so i threw my first destroyer, wow its fast. i love teerex's for my overstable power drive, and a pro wraith for stable, big bomb distance drives, the destoyer seems to be right in the middle of the two. if you have ever thrown a star wraith, the destroyer is a faster version of that, with alot of snap you can flip it up on plane or even get a big S shot. i think it improves the star wraith to the same degree that the beast improved the valkyrie, if any one remembers that step up... im not sure where it will work itself in my bag, i love my teerex, and i need the shot of my pro wraith, if the destroyer beats in well and allows me to flip it with relative ease, then it will become along,long version of my wraith,however.....if it stays stable to overstable it can replace my tee rex and be an overstable distance driver, that does not need to be thrown as hard, to acheive the same distance. over all its a great disc, it really is a 12, i dont know how they did it, its fast, its stable, but not super stable for big arms with snap. if you like a teerex, youll like the faster destroyer, if you throw the pro wraith, you will not replace the same floating distance shot with this super fast flat line throwing destroyer, it is to fast to float big S's it needs big arm snap, straight shots, but, if you like the star wraith and can snap it straight, then this disc is ideal and will easily increase your D...

kvdiscpro 970 rated open player good throwin and God Bless
Posted 08-31-07
Submitted by Twmccoy twmccoy@comcast.net
Location: Littleton, CO
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 171
Review: The Destroyer is a nice driver, but so far it isn't outflying my wraiths or surges. It has the same stability and speed as a wraith but isn't any longer. I don't see that it's any faster either. I love the huge rim and can get really nice anhyzer bombs out of the destroyer. Bottom line: Is it worth buying? Yes. Is it the wonder disc it has been touted as? No. Basically its just a wraith with a little wider rim.
Posted 08-31-07
Submitted by Grayson Middlebrook anarak82@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 171
Review: This is a really fast disc. I don't know if it will be my farthest flying disc though. The destroyer tends to take a dive on the fade at the end of its flight. On the intial fade at the beginning of my throws it shoots out if my hand like a rocket. It's an awesome feeling to throw something that fast. But the dive at the end seems to kill any of it's distance. It tends to hook about as hard as a starfire, maybe a little less. On downhill drives, especially hyzer shots it flies and flies. I think it'll straighten out for me eventually, but until then I'm of the opinion that this disc if for advanced players and those who excel in throwing overstable discs with high fade such as the Max, Firebird, and Monster.
Posted 08-28-07
Submitted by Josh Demmygod Smith Location: Toledo,OH
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 175
Review: All I can say is Wow.. This disc definetly lives up to it's speed ratings. It's flight pattern is similar to a Z Crush Only about 1.5 - 2X faster in flight. Looks similar to a wraith with a much wider rim and thinner flight plate. It has added about 50 ft. to my backhand game and about 30ft. to my forehand. Most likely will be buying at least 2 more of these.
Posted 08-20-07
Submitted by Jeff K Jeffkiel@gmail.com
Location: Daytona Beach Disc Drivers
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I just came back from playing a round. The destroyers just came in today and all I can say is that it truly is the fastest Innova I have ripped. In my eyes it is almost identical to my 175g T-Rex when it was brand new. I do not remember my Rex being as overly stable as this Destroyer. Before I even had a chance to throw it I lent it to my buddy Harper who throws right hand forehand on hole 12 (about 300ft) and he aced it. The first time this disc was in the air was a darn ace. The three guys I was with all agreed that is was indeed faster than the rest. If you look at the edge of a wraith or a teerex compared to the destroyer, you will notice that the destroyer is quite noticeably sharper and thiner than the others. A great driver.
Posted 08-11-07
Submitted by Brett b.e.mackie08@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 171
Review: What a disc. This thing is the fastest disc I have ever thrown!!! Quoting the Innova site (www.innovadiscs.com) on the speed, its a 12. The fastest prior to the release of this was an 11. Anyone throwing sidearm without this disc, go buy one...now. It will seriously increase your distance by at least 20 feet. Wow. I would compare it most to a TeeBird, but with better distance. This truly is a maximum distance driver. I threw it against a Champion Firebird, a Star Wraith, and a Discraft EliteX Avenger. The Destroyer won by far. The disc (throwing sidearm, haven't had a chance to try backhand yet) literally snaps right out of your fingers, that's how fast it is. It can remain straight for an innumerable amount of time, or for those incredibly long holes, throw it with a slight angle to force it into an s-curve and gain the most distance, like, ever. The only negative about this disc is the sharp (and i mean sharp) drop it takes at the very end of the flight. But this can be good at times. My local courses have many holes where you need a drop like that. Another great thing is that it has an unbelievably huge lip. Sweet! And a pretty cool design on the front is an added bonus for the star plastic, compared to the other option of the generic ones. So, overall, try this disc. And if you have a chance to get your hands one, don't let go of it. Good flying, and may your glides be endless.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page