Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova
Star Max

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 172-175g
Plastic: Innova Star

Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The new Star Max is a fast stable driver. It is much like a faster Firebird or Monster. It is a great disc for forehand drives. Backhand throwers can use it for anhyzer flex shots and spike hyzer throws. The Max is predictable and dependable into the wind. The Max is designed for more experienced players with powerful backhands or sidearm throwers. Now available in Star plastic in max weights of 172-175 grams.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

 

Posted 04-28-08

Submitted by Tony Higley

Disc Weights: 175

Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

Level: Adv. Am

Avg Drive: 350

Review: Disc golfing during a Wisconsin Winter has a few obviousrisks. Come about January my pal was down 15 discs, four of whichhappened to be ace disc. Round after round all I heard from him was"If I had my Max." so eventually I bought two Maxs. That same dayboth him and I scored back to back aces on a 280' hole into a 20+mphhole (it was -5F not including windshield). From that time on the Maxhas earned its own special spot in my bag, I don't play without it.So, why a Max? Simply put it is a power pig. Unless you hit theground first a Max will fade back. Its low level of glide makes for avery predictable wind disc. Into a gusty wind you don't get the usualjump/fall in the flight just a solid up and down. Also the fat lipwill dependably skip on flat throws less than 15' high. If you throwit higher say 25'+ it will nose down and sit without skip or role.You can do almost anything with this disc but it really excels at

large spike hyzers.

 


Posted 03-01-08
Submitted by Justin Tate MrJustinTate@hotmail.com
Location: Arlington, Texas
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Play forehand alot? If you do and you dont have this disk you are just adding strokes to your score. The Max is redicuously overstable, and thats what I love. Throw it flat it will scream out of your hand and finish hard right. Extend your arm a little bit and put a tiny amount of anhyzer on it, and you can learn to control this disk so that it will flatten out mid flight and then finish to the left. This disc is incredible for headwinds and tailwinds. The 175 grams doesnt even matter when there's a tailwind, just use good technique and you'll be coming close to 500' forehand drives in no time. As an overhand disc, it has many uses also. I like to throw thumbers alot with this disc especially in windy situations. However if you do not have a very big arm, I can really see the Max flying inconsistent for you. You have to have enough spin and velocity on this disc to have it fly the way it was intended.

Posted 01-09-08
Submitted by Samj samjonas25@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 170-173
Review: I think this is one of the best spike hyzer discs ever made. It holds line and the wind doesnt effect it much.
Posted 01-07-08
Submitted by TJ itsshiny485@yahoo.com
Location: Allen, TX
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This is one of the more usefull discs I have in my bag. It is a great utility disc (reverse scoobies come to mind as well as some thumb rollers), but is also the mose genious windy driver I have ever thrown. if you throw it straight with the flight plate as flat as you can get it, it will take a hard left turn and skip 60-80 feet (for me at least). Or, if you throw it a little higer up with some anny, it will eventually snap back and skip off the ground for MAXimum distance. This disc is an amazing disc, but it probably wont replace your favorite windy driver or utility disc... it cetainly didn't for me. It does, however, make a great compliment to your favorite utility disc. EX. champ whippet for a short skipper out of the bushes, star max for a longer, streched skipper out of the bushes.
Posted 12-31-07
Submitted by Richard Johnson rmj_jr@yahoo.com
Location: Paducah Ky
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 175
Review: The Star Max is my go to disc for 290' to 350' staight drives with low ceilings if thrown less then 10' high you will get a great skip at the end.If you have a problem with discs turning over at high speeds this disc is for you.It is not for beginers and you need a big arm but you will not turn this disc over until it gets months of regular play.
Posted 12-03-07
Submitted by Marshall McGill 8195@PREP.CREIGHTON.EDU
Disc Weights: 175
Review: The star Max has to be my go to disc in slighty to extremely windy conditions. This disc is definetly not a beginners disc and I wouldn't recomend this to anyone who can not throw further than 300'. If there is any chance that the disc I chose will flip and not come back I pull this beast of a disc out. Though it is as stable as most firebirds you might find it is much easier to throw further. I am in the process of cutting out many of the molds/copies of molds I have in my bag because I have too many, but even if I had to weed down to 4 molds I would make sure I have this disc in my bag(or hand if I don't feel like carrying a bag, because playing with no bag is the greatest thing about having 3-5 discs) because it is the best disc for handling wind.
Posted 09-08-07
Submitted by Neil nrfwind@cox.net
PDGA: 31513
Location: Oklahoma
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Admittedly, I am somewhat of a 'noodle arm', but I don't know ... I just can't get this disc to fly all that far. All my other drivers (Destroyer, Wraith, Orc, Beast and Roadrunner ... all Star plastic) easily fly further by 30 feet or more (as much as 50 feet sometimes). But it does come in handy on shorter holes where I need to go left around trees or whatever, taking advantage of it's overstability. I'll keep going to the open fields and working with it to try to get more distance out of it.
Posted 08-21-07
Submitted by Anonymous
Location: West Michigan
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 175g
Review: For me, I can't get a lot of pure 350'-400' drives out of my Max due to its stability, but for tight hooks i can bounce it off the ground and it will generate a massive skip, which is very helpful in some situations.
Posted 08-20-07
Submitted by Anonymous
Location: Michigan
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 175g
Review: I would be lost if i didn't have this disc in my bag. I consider it my utility disc. The only drawback for this disc is that if you are looking for pure distance this might not be the disc for you. I have never had a disc take-off and bounce so much once it hits ground. It is great for ground bouncers.
Posted 07-08-07
Submitted by David Westmoreland PDGA: 31417
Location: Huntington Beach CA
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 500
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This disc is just silly over stable when brand new. I have a lot of snap when I throw and have to throw most discs with a lot of hyzer, but not this disc. This is the first disc in a long time that I can throw flat, even into head wind, and not turn it into a roller. This disc always comes back over, no matter how much wind there is. I can't throw this disc as far as most drivers, I maxes out at about 400 feet, but the consistency and accuracy are well worth the loss in distance. This disc is becoming my primary driver, and the more I beat it in, the better it flies. I already have 2 back ups that I am starting to beat in. This disc is really helping me shoot lower score more consistently. BTW: I normally throw mostly discraft, but this disc has made me open to innova again.
Posted 01-09-07
Submitted by patrick mysteryman007_2000@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 171, 176.9
Review: i have two star max's. one is an x-out and one is a regular one. i throw sidearm for distance. when i throw it flat, it goes straight a little but then takes off into hard right turn. so i have to anhyzer it (varying degrees) to over compensate the hard right turn that it takes. it is a good windy day driver.
Posted 12-04-06
Submitted by dave p davidkpoe@mail.com
PDGA: 17356
Location: Norman ok
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Can't wait for these to come out in regular production. this is super fast and a stable pig. its not quite as fast as a teerex I would put the stability about the same a firebird. I have a cfr star max and its my new wind driver for sure. haven't tried it as a thumber or sidearm yet, but I bet it will be awesome.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page