Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova
Star Wraith

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 167-175g
Plastic: Innova Star

Champion Wraith
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
INNOVA's newest addition to the Distance Driver line. It is our longest and fastest Distance Driver to date. It is a stable flyer that performs predictably well in the wind with speed, glide and accuracy. This is our most durable Distance Driver in Star plastic. This disc performs remarkably well when thrown at less than full speed as well as at full speed. The Star Wraith is an excellent side arm disc.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 10-26-07
Submitted by Greg hamelg@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 169g
Review: This is an excellent distance driver for a sidearm thrower. Less stable than the T-rex, with high power the disc will turn over slightly before coming back, resulting in drives that will be very long. On average I can throw this 15-20 feet further than my star T-rex. It should also be noted that the disc's profile and plastic make it extremely prone to skip when thrown low at high speed (can't speak for those who put more loft on their throws). Even if I completely misfire and the disc hits the ground early, say 100 feet from the tee, I almost always get a skip that sends it back up for another 50-100 feet. For clear distance this disc a winner. For holes where pinpoint straight flying accuracy is needed, but you still want a lot of distance, I'd go with the more dependable T-rex.
Posted 08-14-07
Submitted by Tim timothymichael@gmail.com
Location: Madison, WI
Level: na
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 168
Review: My favorite driver, I always get my longest drives with it. I liked the Pro Wraith a lot, had a few drives flirting with 400 feet, switched to star plastic. When I put a lot of speed and snap behind a throw, the wraith will glide in an s-turn farther than anything else I can throw.
Posted 07-31-07
Submitted by chris parrish daesleeper@gmail.com
PDGA: 18258
Location: saint louis
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 172
Review: This plastic is amazing. I have nailed trees at full power and the disc has not, HAS NOT, changed its flight characteristics. I throw this driver about 25 feet up and with 5 degree hyzer. It will flip up and glide in an s-curve. This is my distance disc. I get anywhere from 420' to 500' out of it depending on the wind and my technique. It is very reliable. The star plastic is hard and has a good grip.
Posted 07-14-07
Submitted by Kurt DeMarra
Location: Lancaster, PA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 166
Review: This is my go to driver. I started playing disc golf this past January 2007 with a friend from work. We play at least 3 times a week, and have really honed in our game since we started. I've tried many of Innova's drivers, and the Star Wraith is by far my favorite driver. It is super quick, and very easy to learn. Crazy amounts of distance, and you don't have to put a ton of muscle behind it. It also wears in very nicely. I highly recommend this disc to anyone who is serious about their game. Once you get throwing this disc down, you will love it forever. Very predictable and dependable.
Posted 07-01-07
Submitted by TBone Disc Weights: 170
Review: This disc is a long disc no doubt, but it is extreamly picky. I get two results with this disc, straight and flat with a hard diving fade. If I give it even a little anny then I get a long understable disc that doesn't come back for a fade. Maybe its just the amount of snap I give it, but if I don't give it a perfect flat throw at the right hight I don't get its intended results. This is not a good disc for those who want to control how the disc comes out of your hand for different uses. My go to disc is the SL in pro or star for almost any use. I usually get from 50 to 60 feet longer than the wraith. I use the teerex for sidearm. My addvice don't get this disc if you have control issues.
Posted 06-17-07
Submitted by Michael Noth Disc Weights: 174
Review: I use this disc for big sidearm drives and Thumbers. For sidearm drives, I've found it best to keep this disc as low to the ground as possible and just watch it zoom a couple feet off the ground. Its pretty stable so I can throw it well into a headwind, this is my main sidearm disc and backhand power drives because it can take the torque. Also, this is the best disc I have thrown for thumbers; definitely get the most distance using this disc. It has a little bit of fade on the end of a thumber shot but not much.
Posted 05-01-07
Submitted by Marshall thesuper77@yahoo.com
PDGA: 32804
Location: Augusta
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 174
Review: Awesome forearm disc. You can take a little off and get a straight drive. Put some speed on it and you will get a slight left tilt when throwing a right handed forearm.

Great distance without using too much arm strength.
Posted 04-02-07
Submitted by Matt Paul matthew.paul@ga.gov.au
Disc Weights: 172
Review: This thing rocks, I always manage to throw the longest drives ever with this disc. THe star plastics are amazing. Buy one guarrantee you will never go back to your old drivers.
Posted 03-23-07
Submitted by Coby Neuweg Mr_bubbles1790@hotmail.com
Location: Fort Madison
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I got this disc 2 weekends ago and Its taken a little bit to get use to this disc but when you do, its a distance machine. I trough 1 that went way over a 350 hole. Guessing it went 400+ but idk. All I can say is its a distance machine and a damage brute, I hit dead on to a tree and it barly had any damage. Have fun throwing this disc if/when you get it! Peace, Ndawg
Posted 03-11-07
Submitted by Adrien Gunter gunters2@cableone.net
Disc Weights: 171
Review: The Wraith is my furthest driver on a calm day. For me, it has a tendency to shoot out to about 275' and then it glides a small amount to the left, around 40', for the next 100'. I prefer discs with a wide, almost chunky feeling rim, and the Wraith is instantly comfortable compared to smaller lipped discs, such as my Star TL. I will also add that the Star plastic has held up well for me. I have had my wraith for about half a season, throwing it everyday, and it only has minor scrapes.
Posted 03-07-07
Submitted by Ken ken1stoner@yahoo.com
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 171-175
Review: Contrary to what others have posted on this disc, I think it's a lot more like a stable version of a Valkerie than an orc. It generally flies really straight for 75% of it's flight for me the a gradual left turn and usually a decent skip at the end.

I believe these are the most predictable drivers I have thrown so far. Pretty much my go to all around driver except in a strong headwind where I'll use my Star TeeRex.

Definitely a good addition to your bag.
Posted 02-12-07
Submitted by Grant imthemeatstick@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Greatest disc I've thrown to date. Accurate and fast as all get out. Also a revolutionary plastic, I'm not an Innova rep but my professional opinion is that this is the most atractive disc for any player. Just try it.
Posted 01-29-07
Submitted by John jhalter241@yahoo.com
Location: California
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 174 grams
Review: A week ago I bought my star wraith off of ebay and it has added tons of distance to my throws. When I throw sidearm i get an easy and strait 290 feet, yet it does give a bit of fade at the end. I haven't gotten used to the backhand of this disc and usually switch over to my champion sidewinder for a backhand.
Posted 11-15-06
Submitted by wales Location: Huntsville, Al
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I finally gave in a bought a Wraith this weekend and it was a great decision. I wish I had joined the Wraith craze when they first came out, just thinking what it could have done for my game...love the disc
Posted 11-08-06
Submitted by Perry Streby strebyp@fsuimail.ferris.edu
Location: Dexter, MI
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 173
Review: This is by far my favorite disc in my bag. I can bomb it +400 when needed and get a very reliable helix out of it. Turns over more than i expected once i got the hang of it but it got me a 340' ace. Great for those long open holes.
Posted 09-19-06
Submitted by Chris Woj c.woj.putt@gmail.com
PDGA: 27965
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 171g
Review: The Innova Star Wraith is one of the most predictable long range drivers I have ever thrown. At 171g this disc will hold a dead straight line for 400 feet. Going with everything in me I can easily turn it over... but if I take a smooth strong pull with the disc on a slight hyzer angle out of my hand it will flip slightly for a moment and then hold dead straight on whatever line I put it on before a hard final fade at the end.

It may not fly as far as its Pro and DX cousins for me (which I pull out for open field 440 foot bombs), but it is far more reliable and can hold a long straight line better than any disc on the market.
Posted 08-07-06
Submitted by Alan Curtis HuntnwithaHippy@aol.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I just got a Star Wraith 3 days ago and it still turns hard to the left.I was told that it takes some time to break in star plastic so I will not give up on it yet.I have a DX wraith and i can Bomb it on average of 267 feet.That is prety good considering I am only 14 years old.I have been playing for 3 years in tounaments and such and the wraith is my best friend when it comes to long shots.I play in a course called Clyde Vant Parkway.It is beautiful in the day and has lights for night time mini tounaments. If you ever pass by Shreveport you should check it out.
Posted 07-10-06
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 170
Review: At my local course there is a hole that is a 640 feet par 5 down a ski hill. I got it with in 10 feet of the hole using the wraith. By far the longest driver I have ever used, the wraith explodes out of ny hand and and darts through the air for unbelievable distances. It seems like it will never land. recomend this disc for side arm throwers that want huge distance. Don't get frustrated if the disc does perform right away, it took about 10 rounds to get broken in for me. Now it is my favorite disc.
Posted 07-05-06
Submitted by lunchbox darinm04@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: the new star wraith is the greatest thrown disc in my bag right now. Usually i do not throw the same disc backhand and flicky but this is one of the few that i can. I was throwing the Surge ESP and went to a tourney in Lawrence ks. and bought me a star wrth. Since i picked that disc up i have hardly thrown my surge. I can throw my wraith so much farther that any other disc and that is why i throw it.
Posted 06-29-06
Submitted by Gabe tbag111@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 170
Review: The wraith is unbelievable. I throw side arm and when I throw it solid, it doesn't land, just keeps going. Added at least 50 feet to my drive. Very fast, stable and has great glide. Flys streight and long and doesn't turn over, just the way I like it. It did take some getting use to so if you don't throw it good the first time, keep playing with it because it will break in and dominate.
Posted 04-25-06
Submitted by Nico Palmeri nicop1777@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I just bought this disc after throwing a champion beast that weighed 175....I hate to say that this disc has a huge lip and i can not get a good grip on the disc....so to say i dislike the disc do to the lip that when i throw comes off my had and fordes the disc to com off my hand wrong .....I will stay loyal to my orc and my beast throwing back hand...Now Throwing side arm i got 50 feet more using this disc so it is a must in my bag for the right handed turn.....
Posted 03-28-06
Submitted by f00b4r scott.morrice@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 170
Review: I got this disk from a friend that could not throw it. She usually throws a Champion Banshee as her driver and just hated the Wraith. I fell in love with this disk. It easily added 40 ft onto my drives and flies generally stright for me a sidearm or backhand throw. It reminds me alot of my first disk, a Champion Valk execpt faster.

A must in a bag imho
Posted 03-23-06
Submitted by Andrew W Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I recieved my Star Wraith a couple days ago. All I can say is WOW! This thing is amazing. After having some practice I can now throw my Star Wraith about 20 feet further than my Champion Orc. The rim seems to be flater than the Orc's and the Beast's, so I guess that is where it gets it's extra distance. The Wraith when thrown flat and straight slightly turns over but never flips over, which is the way I prefer. Overall I highly recommend this disc. You will not be disappointed.
Posted 03-08-06
Submitted by Anonymous Location: Spokane, WA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 175
Review: In short, a longer, faster orc. Easily added 30 feet to my drives. The star plastic is extremely durable and I love the grip.
Posted 03-06-06
Submitted by Anonymous Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 171
Review: This disk is a good disk for you side arm throwers..My other driver I have had success with has been a lighter super understable Valk 150 Class. However, I was really inconsistant with the Valk I kept trying to no avail. The other day I was out at my local disk peddler. I decided to give Innovas new Star plastic and the Wraith a try....

The Star plastic is a mix between Innova's Pro and Champion line plastics.. Grippy and kinda tough.. In learning the disk over the last 70 or so holes I have put it into a few trees, a cement tennis court, serveral parking lots, and a building have all met with the edges of the disk. The edges of the disk got their chewing as to be expected it is not as tough a tougher plastic... However, It did not get any 'major' gouges. So for that it seems that this disk may last a while now that I have learned how it flys.

This disk is super fast and really likes to skip. A few times now I have placed the disk right where I wanted it but since it came in at a shallow angle skipped 10, 15, and one time 20 feet past where I wanted the disk. In the wind I could not control the disk.. Throws into the wind make the disk go nearly straight up after 30 to 40 feet and dive off hard to the right. some times landing 90 degrees from the direction in which I had thrown it... If I had taken the nose of the disk any lower i would have had it eating dirt.

Even with the above flaws 80% of time time I can thorw a consistant disk in which I generally can predict its fligh path. The distance is similar to my 150 Class Valk (when I got a good throw) If you get a chance I would give the disk a try and see what you think forehand thowers.
Posted 02-25-06
Submitted by Last BoyScout cslastboyscout@gmail.com
PDGA:
Location:
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Throws:
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I originally wrote a review on the Pro Line Wraith, and the CFR Wraith when both discs came out on the scene. I instantly fell in love with the proline, and nearly creamed myself when the champion came out. Well, i think its time to change boxers because the new Star Wraith is the one true disc that I love. This disc is the most overstable disc that I have ever throw. What is the Star Wraith? Well, it is the fastest, longest disc that Innova makes currently. Think an Orc on steroids.... Now this new Wraith is molded in Innova's new Star plastic which is a combination of Champion Plastic durability, and Pro Line Plastic gripping ability even when wet. With the combination of this new plastic, it makes the Wraith even more overstable. I currently had no driver that would fly straight on a line because everything I released on a flat release would flip over due to too much snap(spin)! I was having to release on a hyzer angle to allow for the disc flipping so that I was not throwing an S-curve. This disc refuses to flip on a flat release. Add to the fact that for distance and aerodynamics, you really need a disc that is stable, to slightly overstable so that you can release the disc on a slight anhyzer angle and allow it to flex into a flat trajectory. This disc can easily add an extra 20 feet over the Pro Line and Champion Wraiths using this method. Add to the fact that this disc will skip just like the Firebird, is fairly wind resistant, and with enough height it will do a nice long gliding anhyzer line. This makes the Star Wraith a disc that is extremely handy. This is the new "multi-tool" in my bag.

While some people are afraid of the New Discs and prefer their tried and trues, this disc can and will replace the following discs and lighten your bag: Orc, Beast, Teebird and Teebird-L, Starfire and Starfire-X(Not the SL), and Valkyrie.

Side Note: While I am learing to throw the sidearm consistantly, when I do connect this thing comes shooting out like a rocket. This is a great disc to learn with as it will let you know if your using too much arm and not enough spin(snap).


Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page