Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Stingray

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.7cm
Available Weights: 145-150, 165-180g
Plastic: Innova DX

Stingray
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Stingray is our best driver for right turns. It has a long glide and a flight pattern that helps to stretch out drives for newer players. Its useful life span is extended when it gets worn and becomes our most popular roller.
Maximum Flight Speed 5.5
Resistance To High Speed Turn 2.0
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 4.0
Propensity To Fade 3.0
Glide 7.0
Relative Distance 5.5
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 1.0
Predictability 2.0
Uniformity Of Break In Period 4.0
Overall Durability 2.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 10-08-07
Submitted by Bill Thaxton rivendell@esn.net
Location: North Carolina
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 225
Disc Weights: 165-175
Review: As a beginnng player I have had some difficulty controlling the natural left fade on most drivers, especially since my home course puts a premium on right fade to straight shots. After the 2007 Ice Bowl a fellow player recommended trying a Stingray to help with that problem. In a nutshell, the Stingray has become my "go to" disc. As technique has improved and distance has begun to stretch the Stingray has held its own as the #1 disc in my bag. Controllable even by a beginner and still valuable as I begin to approach the "advanced" level of play. I use the Stingray for anything requiring a dead straight short to medium drive, most anhyzer shots, medium to long approach shots, and "get out of the jungle" shots requiring a low trajectory. Out of the box this disc threw with the classic "S" curve on any reasonable RHBH throw but as it has aged it has become fully controlable for just about any huyser to anhuyser throw with moderate deviation. Not only will this disc stay in my bag but I have ordered a couple more as backup discs.
Posted 02-04-07
Submitted by Anonymous
Disc Weights: 150g
Review: This is a Super Flippy mid! Is is an awsome rollar right out of the box. Since I have a hard time throwing side arm, I have to rely on a disc like this to finish to the right. When hyzer fliped, it is the BEST tailwind driver out there!
Posted 02-03-07
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 180
Review: I use my Stingray for every key finesse aproach shot. I can make it do anything I want, especially now that it's beaten up. It will go straight, or it can hold a hyzer on ani throw all the way through the flight path.

One of the best things about the Stingray is the glide. You can trust it at low speeds to float around obstacles and finish predictably. You just throw it up there and it will carve it's way through low speed curves better than any disc in your bag. My Stingray is the key to my game. I use it exclusively from 100' in.
Posted: 3-21-05
Submitted by Robb Yandian
I am an intermediate RHBH player. I've only been playing about 9 mo., but I play nearly every day. I rarely use the Stingray for drives. I only use it for finesse approach shots needing a right turn. Mine is 166g. My first throw on the course with the Stingray, I needed a big, sweeping right turn around a big tree on my approach shot. I released it and thought there was no way it would even get close. I thought it would lose its turn too fast and start to fade. It just kept turning and turning, and ended up in the basket. Since then, I've used it in several similar situations with similar results. It flies very predictably on those shots for me, and is often the only disc that will work in certain situations. With its narrow rim, I get a very predictable and controllable release. It also gets great glide and hardly fades at all at the end of the flight. With such little fade, it generally hits the ground flat and skids for a few feet. Beautiful disc.
Posted: 7-13-03
Submitted by <DarthHippo@aol.com>
The Stingray is a great disc for the beginning golfer. Beginners tend to have weaker arms and slower throws than experienced golfers, which often causes problems with stability and slow-speed disc fade. I've seen many a beginner shank every right-handed backhand to the left, because they simply don't have the technique or strength to throw straight. The Stingray overcomes both these shortcomings. Its flight is reasonably close to that of a recreational disc, as its tendency toward understability early in flight helps to compensate for its late fade. Further, as it ages, it becomes the disc that allows backhand-only players to drive on right doglegs. An excellent disc, highly recommended.
Posted: 5-14-02
Submitted by Derek Kainz <derekkainz@hotmail.com>
Good for rollers and that is about it in my opinion. I turn it into the ground when I try to throw it with any power. I prefer a stratus.
Posted: 02-18-02
Submitted by Jon Turner <oxdisc@thets.demon.co.uk>
The Stingray is quite an old design with a large diameter and famous for being understable. And understable it is! When new, the Stingray flies straight, fairly fast and has a small left fade at the end of the flight (RHBH). However, it rapidly becomes broken in and starts becoming more and more understable - mine is about 6 months old and now turns right in everything but high wind (and even then it will try!). The right turn can be pretty severe (mine can reach almost 45 degree angles from flat) but with a hyzer release, you can get a low, straight rolling motion through the air. Distance is a bit of a problem - I've never managed to get my Stingray to go a very long way. Stingrays are also popular for rollers - I've not tried it much since I have very little use for roller shots at present. But for a first driver for totally new players, the Stingray would be a great driver with its forgiving, easy to use flight and handy right turn (for those of us who's forehand throw is not all that good).
Posted: 10-02-01
Submitted by Scott Miller <ksarrow@onemain.com>
The Stingray is supposed to be a long range driver, according to Innova. It initially flies right in the high speed flight then slightly left in the low speed flight. In my experience the Stingray flies relatively straight and is similar to a Cobra - at least when new. I have found that a Stingray doesn't really shine until it has some significant weathering, where it becomes the "el primo" anhyzer disc. When released, it will fly right, even when released relatively flat. This makes it a good disc for beginners to get a right hand turn if they may be inexperienced in consistently throwing an anhyzer (right angled) shot. My Stingray is always in my bag for just such a shot - of which we have two on our favorite local course. I even traded one of my better drivers for a good weathered Stingray that my friend found. Innova also says it makes a good roller when weathered, but it seems like the Stingray tends to turn the wrong direction - toward the top - when rolling, but that may just be my inexperience at rolling.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page