Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Wolf

Type: Midrange
Diameter: 21.7cm
Available Weights: 145-150, 165-180g
Plastic: Innova DX

Wolf
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Wolf features the Thumtrac TM for great grip and reliability The Wolf was made for straight and turnover shots because it has a very small low speed fade. The Wolf is also an excellent long-range roller.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 11-01-07
Submitted by Flounder919
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: All
Review: This was the first disc I owned. I fell in love with it instantly. I would recommend this disc for beginners of all types, either who have never played or who are converting from catch-disc games. I vote this as a great disc.
Posted 07-05-07
Submitted by Wade Blevins wblevins@apid.com
Disc Weights: 177
Review: I purchased the Wolf as a midrange disc for a slight right hand fade and after 3 or 4 full rounds with this disk and a little tuning it has become my favorite disc in the bag. Nicknamed the WHITE WOLF. I can keep this disc long and straight on tight wooded holes with a slight right hand turn at the tail of the flight path. Have tipped the chains from the tees on many par 3 holes with this disc but have yet to get an ace. Love this disc.
Posted 03-08-07
Submitted by Cloud Pemble www.cloudpemble@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: not sure
Review: I use my beat in DX Wolf for one shot, turn over sidearm upshots. Just when my upshot seems totally dire, I'll see some right to left line that goes right to the hole, that only my Wolf can navigate. It has saved me alot of strokes. I am able to really flick the Wolf with my three fingered sidearm grip, and it shows with how long it holds its turn. The thumb-track seems to give me more confidence when attempting this obscure throw. One last thing, the more technical the course the more you'll be reaching for this odd shaped disc.
Posted 01-20-07
Submitted by TannerBoyle trystero4@aol.com
Location: Bakersfield
Level: Beginner
Disc Weights: 180
Review: I've only had my Wolf for a week or so. After 3-4 rounds with it I love it. I've got small hands for an average sized guy so I'm always fighting for a solid grip. The Wolf's plastic is nice and grippy. The Thumbtrack is great also. This is my go-to disc for anything under 100 feet.
Posted 09-11-06
Submitted by Brendan Location: Moraga, CA
Disc Weights: 173
Review: I got a DX Wolf when I lost my shark, which I wasn't planning on replacing untill I stopped in a shop and picked up the Wolf; right off the bat it felt really good and I had to have it, the thumb track felt really comfortable and it looked like a kick ass disc. I took it out on my home course and gave it a whing...what a piece of crap, I hated it. A few weeks later me and a friend were playing a really small course (Davis, CA) where the holes were between 98-260 feet. To compensate most holes had some pretty tight doglegs and narrow fairways for some reason I pulled out the wolf and was driving around these doglegs like the thing had a remote control, then BANG, birdies from 40 feet out. I was really impressed with this disc for controlled short turns and long range puts. I didn't like it at first, but I've got to be further than 150 feet and closer than 15 for me to shoot with anything else, an awesome disc. It will be interesting to see how the DX plastic wears, mine still has less than a dozen rounds unter it's belt.
Posted 03-15-06
Submitted by Dan ds10191@hotmail.com
Location: Wisconsin
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I borrowed a friend's Wolf, and for a couple holes, it would go straight, but once I got used to the feel of the disc and it's Thumbtrac, it would always turn left. I would only recommend this disc for high speed turns or a roller. I guess it would be a decent beginner's disc for a young person, because it doesn't require a lot of spin to keep it from going left (rhbh). I would rather use a Shark thrown sidearm for my right-turn shots though.
Posted 11-26-05
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 176
Review: If you need a disc that will turnover every time, get a wolf. Launch it low and just screams hook the whole way...usually no fade. Sweet little specialy disc.
Posted 08-24-05
Submitted by Matt
jarvis_mckinley@hotmail.com
Location: Tulsa
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 167
Review: I love the Innova Wolf. I said that I would never use a midrange... that is until I discovered the Wolf. It is amazing. I have made more long shots (75'-150') with my wolf than ever. It holds a straight line and fades less than my classic ROC ever did.
Posted 06-26-05
Submitted by COLE
Disc Weights: 182
Review: The Wolf in my opinion is one of the best go-to disc in most mid-range approach shots and in all long and mid-ange putts. The wolf has proved time and time again that it has a place in my bag. The thumb-trac although while looking nice on the disc does not help or hurt my throwing in any way all while giving a little more grip. Works well for backhanded players yet seems very onstable for side arm throwers... definetly a good disc buy
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Richieyankeewiring@triad.rr.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I've been playing with the wolf for about a year now and the more wear and tear on the disc the straighter it will go, it is a very controllable disc, where it fades to the left (if you're a righty) at the end of your throw, I aced one at 227 ft. in a wooded hole. so if you can master your throw it will be a good disc to play in tight courses.
Posted: 10-21-03
Submitted by JAMESDEAN189@aol.com
I was given a wolf a few years back and never really played with it much untill i lost my go-to midrange earlier this summer. now i'm a big guy with long arms so usually the biggest problem i had was trying to balance out the power with accuracy, the thumbtrac on the wolf was perfect for directing a straight release and since i've been playing with it i've found it also works great on shorter turnover shots and as long as you don't kill it it flies very predictible every time. the wolf has easily shaved a stroke or two off my game.
Posted: 6-23-03
Submitted by Kevin Taylor <kevsatboone@hotmail.com>
I recently started playing around with different shots to improve my game. I went out and purchased a Wolf to play around with. The Wolf is a large diameter disc that is perfectly stable with very little fade. It even features the Thumbtrac for easy handling. This is a great utility disc for those tough shots from the rough or in heavily wooded areas. I have found that on my backhand shots the Wolf turns over everytime and is more than willing to roll a good distance. It is also an unstoppable roller for tomahawk shots. There will always be room in my bag for the almighty Wolf.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page