Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Millennium
Orion LS

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Millennium

Orion LS
Flight Rating Category Value What Millennium says:
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 08-20-07
Submitted by Daniel
Avg Drive: 325
Disc: Orion LS
Disc Weights: 175
Review: My Reveiw: I bought this disc looking for a fast long disc, and thats what i got. It has added almost 15-20 ft to my drives. Some of that may be that my other two drivers were quite overstable.
Posted 10-28-06
Submitted by Thatdirtykid thatdirtykid@gmail.com
PDGA: 31101
Location: CO
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 172-175
Review: I have neglected posting any reviews lately because I spend so much time on the fourm, but thought I should talk up some of the discs that have been changing my game: This review is for the OLS in both base and Sirius plastics. The ols is a very straight driver and will take much more snap than I expected. It has a bit more fade in the Sirius plastic but its not too noticeable. The OLS is making a great turnover driver as it breaks in, and I expect it will also make a great roller someday. Millennium plastic is quite durable, even their baseline plastic seems to be holding up better than Innova Pro or Discraft X. I dont carry the SOLS anymore becuase it still is just straight w/ fade, which isnt much different than a SOLF, and the LF is more predictable in general, especially in the wind. These two discs compliment eachother well. I dont see the SOLF or OLS leaving my bag soon.
Posted 10-28-06
Submitted by Thatdirtykid thatdirtykid@gmail.com
PDGA: 31101
Location: CO
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 163-172
Review: I have neglected posting any reviews lately because I spend so much time on the fourm, but thought I should talk up some of the discs that have been changing my game:

The Sirius Orion Left Fade is one of the best drivers I have thrown in a while. It has a flight path similar to a teebird, but has a speed I would say between a starfire and a wraith. I can really crank them (even my 163) and with a touch of hyzer not worry about them turning over. They are definately my new go to driver in the 350'+ range. They compliment the SOLS and OLS very well also.
Posted 10-27-06
Submitted by TexasOutlaw hankman31@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 173
Review: I really like this disc. It is a long straight flyer with a predictable fade like everyone else says. I am not sure how it fits in my bag. I'm not sure if it overlaps with my avengers or my wraith. I can turn it over and get some s but not as much as my wraith. Still I like this disc very much. It may replace my x avengers.
Posted 08-29-06
Submitted by adidadg Disc Weights: 170g
Review: The new Sirius Orion LF might be the best combination of distance and predictability that ive found in a disc. It is not way overstable which makes it more managable than other discs which may fall into the same category. I was a little suprised when I first threw the disc as I was expecting it to be more overstable because of the "LF" description, it was flying quite straight for me. But the more I threw it, the more I realized how tough it was to turn over, which makes it very dependable.

Distance wise it can fly very far. Despite it being a touch slower, I can throw it just as far if not further than my Orcs. The difference is the SoLF takes a straight flight path with a predictable left fade at the end while the Orc will do much more of an S pattern.

The Sirius plastic is nice, it feels a lot like regular Millenium plastic, but more durable and is not prone to warping. Keep a towel handy, because once this stuff gets wet its very slick (same goes for ESP and star).
Posted 08-28-06
Submitted by Bradley Walker
I saw a lot of talk about the new Star type Millennium Orions, so I grabbed a "long straight". It looked to be a tweaked Sidewinder to me, which is what I was looking for.

So far, it is a very good disc. Almost as long as a TeeRex, more overstable than a max weight Sidewinder, not as stable as TeeRex, and predictable and not a pain in the ass to throw. It reminds me of newish DX Teebird, but less touchy and longer.

The smaller rim is little easier to handle than the TeeRex, and throws are long without the tremendous snap required on the TeeRex. It will however take a bit more snap than a Sidewinder without turning. Good compromise.

The TeeRex, however, is still the boss of the bag right now.
Posted 05-28-06
Submitted by big d
Disc Weights: 174
Review: i really the straightness on this baby,it,s nice and small like a cyclone.i've hit the back wall of the pond at etobicoke ont.now it tend's to go right,but in an open field it,s a must disc.
Posted 04-10-06
Submitted by Smyith smyith2005@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 170
Review: I have had this disc for a couple of weeks now, and all i can say is WOW!!!! I love it it replaced my Pro Starfire after 2 rounds. It is great in headwind and all other wind. Its not the wid-rim drivers that have been coming out lately but goes just as far. I would say its like an X Avenger but way more stable. It doesn't require alot of room to make its flight and its actually very straight. The new Sirius plastic might just be the best plastic ever. Very grippy and durable. I hit a fence post the other day and all it did was get a small scuff.
Posted 10-22-05
Submitted by barbikes barbikes@seanet.com
PDGA: 27777
Location: seattle
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Throws:
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 167
Review: The Orion is like a "new and improved" JLS. It flys a lot like an XL in Pro-D plastic or a Teebird L but for me it has a little less fade than the XL and a little more distance than the Teebird L. If you have anhyzer tendencies you may not like this disc. It doesn't fight very hard to come back if turned over. If you release it flat or with a bit of hyzer it will fly straight and will glide a looong ways!
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page