Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Millennium
Polaris LS

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Millennium

Polaris LS
Flight Rating Category Value What Millennium says:
The Polaris LS is still the sport's best embodiment of distance and predictabilityt. The LS will fly for miles downwind with a minimum of fade. In a crosswind it will hold its angle, and it will even keep its angle and speed into light and moderate headwinds. For an all-purpose driver, you can't beat it.
Maximum Flight Speed 6.5
Resistance To High Speed Turn 5.5
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 5.0
Propensity To Fade 5.0
Glide 7.0
Relative Distance 7.0
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 2.0
Predictability 2.5
Uniformity Of Break In Period 2.0
Overall Durability 3.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 06-05-07
Submitted by Graham Location: South Saint Paul, MN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 168
Review: This disc is the straightest and most predictable driver in my bag. I have also found that this disc consistently out-drives some of the faster drivers in my bag (Beast, Inferno, Wraith). I believe it is because I simply don't have enough power to get the other discs to glide as far as they should before they begin their low speed fade. With the Polaris LS I can throw it with a small amount of hyzer and it flips flat glides for ever with just a small amount of low speed fade right at the end. For someone with my type of distance (270-300 ft) I highly recommend getting this driver or something similar to use as your multi-purpose driver. I constantly find myself going back to this disc, even on wide open shots.
Posted 05-29-07
Submitted by MTF
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 250
Disc Weights: 169
Review: I agree with Millennium's description of the disc. It wins the award for "best sidearm driver evar" IMHO. It's comparable to innova's wraith, but has a much thinner rim and is more overstable. Unlike my firebird, it's not so overstable that I can't get an 'S' curve with it if I want, but I don't have to work to keep it going straight like a wraith.

If you're a sidearm player looking for something that gives you straight distance very reliably, I recommend the Polaris LS. For backhand drives, you might want to test a friend's before buying one.
Posted 10-15-05
Submitted by Alex kenshinhimura12@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 171 g
Review: I am a beginner with less than 2 month's exp. Basically the 1st driver that i picked up was the LS. It flew very nice for me(i lost it about 4 weeks ago), and in some back hand throws, it wouldn't fade at all. It would glide for a long time, then just slowly fall to the ground if i threw it well. I loved the driver and after learning more about disc golf, i plan on buying the QJLS to replace its position.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Patrick Amazing1boy@aol.com Avg Drive: 400
Throws: Righty
Throwing Style(s): Backhand, Sidearm
Manufacturer: Millennium
Disc Plastic: Millennium
Disc Weights: 168
Review: Being a found disc in almost new condition i nearly gifted it to a friend whos starting out. It was a 168, and seemed like it would glide like a dx archangel, i figured it would be a good step up from the leapord he learned with. I threw the disc a few times never throwing a millennium disc before i was interested. I throw back hand anything under 325' and side arm up to 425' I was amazed how straight this disc flied sidarm with absolutely no fade. Long story short its in my bag, my friend is still using an old leapord (may get the old tee bird the millenium seems to be taking the place of), and im using the Polaris LS for low celing drives and the occasional mellow hyzer throws. The only problem ive found is I tend to over power it if i try to throw it over 400' that is still champ viking territory.
Side armers check this one out for your main stable driver.
Posted: 11-24-03
Submitted by Shane S-T sdrawkcabenahs@aol.com
I just purchased a Millennium Polaris LS (169) to replace a lost 169 teebird that I used for rollers, anhyzers or huge hyzers that flattened out for maximum distance. I'm young (13) and throw 270 consistently and max out at 300. This disc is a wonderful disc, even fresh out of the box. I can throw it on tight anhyzer holes already or s-curve it if need be. When released at a slight hyzer angle with lots of oomph, it will flatten out and fly for a long ways, sometimes even farther than my current #1 driver, the Beast. It holds lines well and fades left at the end of the flight, but it's farther towards the end then most discs and the fade isn't very substantial. It's easy to turn over but that's probably because I'm more of an overstable thrower. After throwing the Beast and the Polaris back-to-back to work on adapting better, I can throw this like a piece of cake. I love it. The grip is good, easy to release and the plastic resembles the pro-line (not champion) from Innova. That's probably no mere coincidence since Innova owns Millennium either. All-in-all, I think the Polaris LS is a fabulous disc for players of all age and skill level and I highly recommend it.
Posted: 8-18-01
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The Polaris LS is a fast, stable driver. The LS has a fairly straight flight path that is ideal for line drive s-curves and straight control shots. Its resistance to turnover is slightly less than that of a KC Gazelle and more than that of a KC Cheetah. The LS's low speed fade is more than that of a Gazelle, closer to that of a Cheetah with similar speed. Overall, the LS will probably not be most player's longest driver but it will probably have good distance and great control in a disc with durable plastic. The LS has good glide, close to that of a Gazelle or Eagle. Beginners can throw this disc flat and it will hold a straight flight before fading left at the end. Moderate-power players should be able to throw this disc flat and it will have slight turn before flexing out and gliding straight and left. Bigger throwers should be able to throw it hyzer and have it flatten out with the same result. The LS would be a good choice for a newer player looking to make the jump to small diameter drivers as it has good carry without too much fade. The LS will also be a great s-curve disc for intermediate players and should age into a good roller over time.
Posted: 07-16-01
Submitted by Flathead777@aol.com
Polaris LS-Great disc for open shots, I achieve super helixes with this disc. I love the flight this disc has especially with a little cross breeze. I am not afraid to let this one go! Also the newest addition is the JLS. I got one at the Graceland tournament in Lamoni, Iowa, and have been awe struck as it is the straightest flier I have seen. I threw a downhill shot and out drove all my disc cohorts. This is great for threading that tunnel through the paths for an extended distance. When I go for precision distance it's in the bag. Very durable plastic and heavy duty. A slight dome gives it a little climb but that amounts to extra distance as long as I stay under the trees. More controlled than the LS and flat flying.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page