Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



News and Updates
Archives - 2001
Archives - January-June 2002
11-24-02
News: As for an update of my status as to the long time in between updates and the lack of new articles etc., I'm quite busy with classes for the time being and have been since September. The last round I threw was about 6 weeks ago and I blew my shoulder. Nothing serious but I decided to rest it until next season. I will continue to update once ever week or so as I receive new reviews.
New Reviews:
  • Innova Shark - Submitted by David Meltzer
  • DGA Superdrive XL - Submitted by Jedidiah Brightbill
    11-11-02
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Elite X Storm - Submitted by rawtoynage@msn.com
  • Innova CE Firebird - Submitted by Joe McKee
  • Innova XD - Submitted by Anonymous
    11-04-02
    New Reviews:
  • Innova Archangel - Submitted by Jim Cubbage
  • Innova Panther - Submitted by Jim Cubbage
    10-25-02
    New Reviews:
  • Innova SE Valkyrie - Submitted by Golfindog52@aol.com
  • 2002 Minnesota Majestic - Submitted by Chester Jones
    10-09-02
    New Reviews:
  • Ching Skill Shot DGT - Submitted by MasseyFamily4@aol.com
    9-29-02
    News: Few new reviews posted. School has me a little busier now and I haven't had as much time to get out and throw discs. I'll try to get some new material for the site if I get the time.
    New Reviews:
  • Innova Roc - Submitted by MasseyFamily4@aol.com
  • Discraft Elite Z Reaper - Submitted by MasseyFamily4@aol.com
  • Lightning Deluxe Tour Bag - Submitted by Danny Reeves
    9-03-02
    News: Got a few new reviews posted. I know I said I was going to do a large update before classes started but I just didn't get around to it and didn't really have any ideas jumping out at me. Things will probably slow down a bit for me for the next few weeks but hopefully reviews will keep rolling in.
    New Reviews:
  • Innova Valkyrie - Submitted by Joe McKee
  • Innova Banshee - Submitted by Joe McKee
  • Innova Whippet - Submitted by Joe McKee
    8-28-02
    News: The site hit 10,000 hits yesterday. Wow. A big thank you to those that frequent this site. I've added 9 new players to the Throw Analysis section. There's a good mix of styles and techniques represented with this latest update, so check it out if you haven't already. If you would like to be featured here, drop me an email and find out how. I'm starting classes in about a week so I will have less time to dedicate to the site for the next couple of months. I will however, try to get in one last big update with some new reviews or articles if I can find the time.
    8-21-02
    News: Got a few more submitted reviews posted. Keep em coming! I've been busy as of late so I haven't had much time to update. Still waiting on videos from people for the Throw Analysis section and I should be shooting more video this week. If anyone has ideas for what they'd like to see next, drop me an email and let me know.
    New Reviews:
  • Innova KC Cheetah - Submitted by Mark Hanauer
  • Innova Ram - Submitted by Mark Hanauer
  • Innova Whippet - Submitted by Mark Hanauer
  • Gateway Wizard - Submitted by Mark Hanauer
    8-17-02
    New Reviews:
  • Ching Tank - Submitted by Dallas McKinley
  • Discraft Pro D Xtra - Submitted by Dallas McKinley
  • Lightning #2 Putter - Submitted by Dallas McKinley
  • Lightning #2 Hyzer - Submitted by Dallas McKinley
    8-15-02
    News: Will Murphy has been added to the Throw Analysis section. More coming soon. I'm toying with the idea of adding a "Course Review" section that would give players a place to share their thoughts on the disc golf courses they have had a chance to play. E-mail me if you have any thoughts, ideas, or feedback on this.
    8-13-02
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Elite Z XS - Submitted by Ryan R.
  • Innova CE Spider - Submitted by Ryan R.
    8-12-02
    Congratulations to Ken Climo, Des Reading, and the rest of the 2002 Pro Worlds Champions. Got some new reviews posted and have added Paul Neumann and Lightnin' Lyle to the Throw Analysis section. I'm toying with the idea of adding a "Course Review" section that would give players a place to share their thoughts on the disc golf courses they have had a chance to play. E-mail me if you have any thoughts, ideas, or feedback on this.
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Elite Z XS - Submitted by John Hopson
  • Millennium Omega Driver - Submitted by John Hopson
  • Discraft Stratus - Mats Nylund
    8-11-02
    News: Congratulations to Ken Climo, Des Reading, and the rest of the 2002 Pro Worlds Champions. Got some new reviews posted and I'm hoping to have a few new additions to the Throw Analysis section in the near future. I'm toying with the idea of adding a "Course Review" section that would give players a place to share their thoughts on the disc golf courses they have had a chance to play. E-mail me if you have any thoughts, ideas, or feedback on this.
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Juliana Bower Stratus
    08-10-02
    New Reviews:
  • Innova CE Teebird "T"
    8-08-02
    New Reviews:
  • Innova CE Leopard - Submitted by Daniel Ledford
    08-07-02
    News: Got a new review posted. Still waiting on some of those videos people are supposed to send me for the Throw Analysis section so hopefully those will arrive soon. I'm thinking about adding a course review section. If you have any comments on this, drop me an email and let me know your thoughts on it. I'm also looking for new ideas for content... articles or whatnot.
    New Reviews:
  • Innova KC Pro Roc - Submitted by Ryan R.
    08-03-02
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Elite Z Putt'r - Submitted by Phill Schmidt
    08-02-02
    News: Updated the Tecnnique Troubleshooter to v2.5. Cameron Todd and Barry Schultz have been added to the Player Throw Analysis section. I am now out of player footage so hopefully some of those tapes people have emailed me about will be coming in soon and I'm hoping to get some footage of more local players posted as well. If you would like to be featured in that section, send me an email.
    7-31-02
    News: Posted Avery Jenkins and Shawn Sinclair in the Player Throw Analysis section. I should have more of these posted soon. If you would like to be featured in that section, send me an email.
    7-30-02
    News: Got a couple of new reviews posted. Should hopefully have at least 1 or 2 more by the end of the week. For those who haven't checked in recently, the Player Throw Analysis section went live yesterday and I should have a few more throwers posted within the next few days. If you would like to be featured in that section, send me an email.
    New Reviews:
  • GDS G2i - Apache
  • Discraft Elite X Storm
  • Discraft Elite X Predator
    7-29-02
    News: The Player Throw Analysis section has gone live with the first of the throw breakdowns, 1999 World Champ Ron Russell and 1999 Am ChampTim Schreder. If you would like to be featured in this section, send me an email. I'm hoping to get a few more players posted this week. If anyone has any ideas on how to make the section better, please let me know.
    7-26-02
    News: Well, I'm finally done with summer classes and so I should have some time to get cracking on the new content for the site. Some people are already sending in some videos to be included in the Player Throw Analysis section that will be launching in the next 2 weeks. I've redone the Disc Selection Guide and hoping to add more to that. For those who haven't checked em out, there are some new disc golf surveys and a message board. I'll try to get cracking on the new site sections soon but I've been having some computer troubles lately and that may have to wait until I get those straightened out.
    7-22-02
    New Reviews:
  • Lightning #3 Driver - Submitted by M. J.
    7-21-02
    News: The new site is live. Hope you all like it. Please email me if anyone finds broken links other than ones to discs or products that have no reviews. I'm fairly burned out on html editing so it might be a few days until my next update. I have some ideas in the works including a new article and the new Player Throw Analysis section that will be launching in the near future featuring video and frame by frame breakdowns of player's throwing techniques. The first set are going to be of some footage I shot at a supertour last month and I'm hoping to add some additional footage as well. If you would like to be featured in this section and have some video or could shoot some video of yourself, email me and I can let you know what I have in mind. The Technique Troubleshooter has been updated to version 2.4.
    7-17-02
    News: Have a new review posted as well as a revision of another review. I added some footage displaying the tendon bounce to my bent elbow follow-up article as well as added some to the technique troubleshooter. Look for some major changes in the site in the very near future.
    New Reviews:
  • Lightning Tour Special Bag - Submitted by Brad Charles
  • Gateway Wizard *Addition*
    7-12-02
    News: Well, I finally broke down and bought a video capture device. I've added some pictures and video of the short arm putt in action and hopefully this will make the article easier to understand. Also, for those looking to get better insight on the bent elbow technique, I have added pictures and video of Ron Russell's drive. I will be adding some analysis soon and working on a format where I can hopefully expand to show the driving motions of more top pro players. If you think this is helpful, please drop me an email and let me know as I'm feeling rather down about dropping $70 :(
    7-07-02
    News: I have finished and posted the new article on putting entitled "Short Arm Putting". I'm anxious for feedback so please drop me an email if you have any questions or want to share your experiences with it. I should have some new reviews posted by the end of the week for the new Innova CE Teebird T and the Discraft Storm. My midterms are over so I'll hopefully have more time to throw this coming week.
    7-06-02
    News: Got a new review posted. I'm learning some new plastic so hopefully more reviews will follow as time allows. The putting article isn't turning out as I expected it to but I will make another attempt at it soon, maybe even tonight. Nothing really new other than that. Drop me an email if you have any ideas for new content.
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Magnet
    7-02-02
    News: Wow. Today is the site's 1-year anniversary. Looking back, I'm not going to say anything like "I can't believe a year has gone by..." because it's very much believable for me. What I am pleasantly surprised with is this site has become more than I had ever expected it would. Thanks to everyone that helped support me and made this possible. A big shout-out thanks to Martin H. for providing some respectable webspace, David M. and the guys at Gateway for helping with "the cause" and convincing me my opinions are worth a darn, Lyle J. who has been so helpful to me in introducing me to the disc golf world, Dave D. for helping me understand the mechanics of the throw and putting up with my endless barrage of questions, Lizz A. and Brian D. for providing another medium for me to give my disc opinions, Chris S. for fixing my throw and clicking the lightbulb on in my head, Ron J. for supporting my ideas on the future of the sport, and to all those that have supported me in any way or submitted reviews. Thanks again, this couldn't have happened without you. Based on the results of my surveys, I am pleased to say that the majority of site readers are those of the target audience I had initially intended. I'm not sure exactly where it will go, but I'm hoping for bigger and better things for this site in this next year.
    Back to Main Page