Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



News and Updates
Archives - 2001

6-30-02
News: No new reviews but there should be soon as I've picked up a few new discs that I'm looking forward to throwing. Haven't had much time for playing or updates as school has kept me busy the last few weeks. The putting article will be delayed a few days. I played in the state championships this weekend and placed 4th out of 11 in the Am2 division. I did get heat stroke again so I may be deciding my tournament participation based on the weather as I'm sick of vomiting on the course. I have updated the Technique Troubleshooter to version 2.2.
6-23-02
News: Played in the Discgolferusa.com GDS Am event this weekend in Des Moines. It was a lot of fun but it was very hot. I was 2nd after round 1 in the intermediate division but I managed to succumb to a combination of food poisoning and heat stroke and finished 8th (I was glad to finish alive). I feel bad for my group having to deal with the sound of me throwing up 15+ times during round 2. Got some new reviews posted. Look for a new putting article by midweek hopefully.
New Reviews:
  • Innova SE Rhyno - Submitted by John Lacey
  • Discraft Eclipse - Submitted by John Lacey
  • Revolution Team Bag - Submitted by John Lacey
    6-20-02
    News: New submitted review posted. I'll be playing in the Discgolferusa.com GDS Tour Event on June 22nd in the Des Moines area. If any players will be in that area and would like to meet up, drop me an email. For those who haven't checked back here in a few days, the Technique Troubleshooter has been updated to version 2.1 and added a few new surveys. I am in the process of writing a "short arm technique" putting article which should be completed by mid next week.
    New Reviews:
  • Innova Teebird - Submitted by Chris
  • Innova Shark - Submitted by Chris
  • Millennium EXP1 - Submitted by Chris
    6-18-02
    News: No new reviews at the moment as I'm in the process of moving, starting class, getting my car worked on etc. Hopefully once I'm able to settle into more of a routine I'll be able to go throw more. Updated the Technique Troubleshooter to version 2.1 and added a few new surveys. I'm hoping to write up some more articles in the near future but I'll have to see what comes to mind. Feel free to email any requests you might have for tips or how to articles.
    6-13-02
    News: I have just completed a follow up article to the "Distance Secrets" article entitled "Understanding the Bent Elbow Technique". It's focus is on some of the trickier concepts of the bent elbow throw for players looking to make the transition from the reach back technique. I will be quite busy during the daytime for the next few weeks so my throwing time will be limited. I will try to write a few more articles for the new articles section but there is little chance I will be able to review any new discs. Hopefully someone will submitsome reviews to post, especially with the recent wave of new discs hitting the market.
    6-04-02
    New Reviews:
  • Innova CE Leopard - Submitted by Don Mordecai
    6-03-02
    News: The Technique Troubleshooter has been updated to v. 1.9. If anyone has anything they'd like to see added to it, let me know. I also slightly revamped the Beginner Tips section. It's not great and probably more of an "intermediate tips" section but at least now I feel it has some more worthwhile content and rules of thumb. I'm thinking about writing a follow-up article to Dave D's Distance Secrets article with the tentative title "Understanding the Bent Elbow Technique" which would be sort of a transition primer for players looking to switch over and focus on the key ingrediants and items that are most difficult to conceptualize. This would take me a bit of time but please email me if you think this would be of benefit and I'll see if there's enough demand for it. Just for reference, my werd.com email address has been very unstable as of late and my new permanent email address is blake@discgolfreview.com. I'll be moving in a week or so but I doubt I'll have internet downtime of more than a day.
    New Reviews:
  • Lightning #3 Driver - Submitted by Steve Doezema
    5-30-02
    News: The site has officially moved to its new location. A big thanks to Marty Hapner for the webspace. Check out www.discgolf.com for a variety of disc related resources. Got a few new reviews posted. The Distance Secrets is back in its complete version. Still got discs I'm unloading in the for sale page.
    New Reviews:
  • Gateway Disc Sports Blaze
  • Gateway Disc Sports Demon
  • Gateway Disc Sports Scout
    5-28-02
    News: For those of you that weren't able to access the bent elbow technique article it's back online in a temporary shortened version. Look for a parsed complete version in the near future. The Technique Troubleshooter has been updated to version 1.7 and I have added a new section on adding distance through a series of drills that will locate and accent your throwing power sources. A big thanks to Lyle Jensen for working with me on my throw and inspiring this addition. I won't have as much free time after the 2 weeks so from here on out I'm accepting any reasonable offers on 5 or more discs I have for sale, especially used and collector's discs. New surveys posted as well.
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Elite APX - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Elite Z XL - Submitted by Derek Kainz
    5-24-02
    News: Posted some new reviews. Look for more Gateway reviews in the near future thanks to Tim and Dave at GDS hooking me up with some samples. I have just about nailed and I think have almost fully understood Dave D.'s bent elbow technique so if you have any particular questions on that I may be able to answer them although I'm sure he can better answer them on the PDGA board. This was a quick late update so for those that missed yesterday's news I uploaded version 1.4 of the Technique Troubleshooter covering some new topics such as avoiding injury as well as a couple of minor revisions to exsiting stuff. I won't have as much free time after the next few weeks so from here on out I'm accepting any reasonable offers on 5 or more discs I have for sale, especially used and collector's discs.
    New Reviews:
  • Gateway Disc Sports Sabre
  • Gateway Disc Sports Wizard
    5-23-02
    News: No new reviews yet. I have to wait until I cash again probably until I can get/try a new disc unless the donations start pouring in :P I did upload Technique Troubleshooter version 1.4. I added some new categories for backhand drives and made a couple of revisions to existing categories. I won't have as much free time after the next few weeks so from here on out I'm accepting any reasonable offers on 5 or more discs I have for sale, especially used and collector's discs.
    5-19-02
    News: Played the Old Barn Rendezvous tournament on a temporary 20-hole layout this weekend and I broke my streak of finishing in the cash taking 8th out of 10. After opening with a +16 and +18 in rounds 1 and 2, I found myself on the bottom card for round 3. I did manage to correct a few errors in my throw and I was even par through 13 holes only to blow up and finish +10 for the round. A BIG thanks to Chris Sprague for helping me pinpoint find the flaws in my technique and helping me fix them. I think I have my drive back for real now and I have "found" most of the distance that I "misplaced" over the winter. Only a matter of time until I'm back to form. I have added one of the said fixes to the Technique Troubleshooter under the sections: Backhand Drives - Loss of Power - Gripping the Disc Too Tight at the Wrong Times. Hopefully at least a few readers will benefit from it. No new reviews for the moment. I won't have as much free time after the next few weeks so from here on out I'm accepting any reasonable offers on 5 or more discs I have for sale, especially used and collector's discs.
    5-14-02
    News: Got a bunch of new reviews posted. Added a "flattened hyzer" section to the technique troubleshooter. I also need a pro partner for the Pro-Am doubles at the Old Barn Rendezvous in Jordan, MN on friday, email me if you'd like to pair up. Don't know if I'm good enough to help make a run for the money, but I'm just looking to have some fun and hopefully learn something. I'm in the midst of a disc transition but I expect to be adding some discs to the for sale page soon.
  • Discraft Elite Reaper
  • Discraft Magnet - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Elite X2 - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Pro D MRV - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Elite MRX - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Elite XL - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Elite XS - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Eclipse - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Elite Xpress - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft HD Hawk - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Discraft Stratus - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova KC Cheetah - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova Dragon - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova Puma - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova CE Eagle - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova KC Whippet - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova Stingray - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova Archangel - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova CE Firebird - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova Rhyno - Submitted by Derek Kainz
  • Innova KC Teebird - Submitted by Derek Kainz
    5-11-02
    News: Played another tourney today at North Valley. Brutal 42 holes in the wind and rain. I managed to again finish 3rd, this time in a field of 7. Got a new review up. Hope to see some posts on the message board if anyone has anything at all they want to say. I've again switched up on what I throw so I'll be adding a few more discs to the for sale page in the next few days.
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Elite Z Cyclone - Submitted by Joshua Rutledge
    5-06-02
    New Reviews:
  • Innova JK Valkyrie
  • Innova Ace
    5-05-02
    News: Played in a tournament yesterday and I am sore. I finished 3rd in a field of 11 or 12. It was a lot of fun. I've added a message board and some new surveys. I should have a couple of more reviews tomorrow. I'll hopefully be playing in the North Valley Open this coming saturday. Added a couple of random discs to the for sale page. I'm currently working on some new graphics for the site, a banner in particular but I'm not very good at that kind of thing. If anyone wants to whip me up a new logo, I'd much appreciate it :)
    5-01-02
    News: Well, the updated look is for the most part complete. Not all of the Lightning discs have been reformatted but I will get to those as I receive reviews for them. Those that have reviews have been updated. I hope to start adding more content to some of the other pages soon but things will probably be more relaxed for me for the next week or so. This overhaul has left me quite burned out on web stuff. I should have a new submit review form done by the end of the week and please email me if you find any broken links or missing images. When you update 100+ pages little things tend to slip through. The comments I've received so far have all been positive, so I hope the "improved site look" selection on the surveys remains stagnant for quite a while :)
    I'm still in awe of the new distance record. Not so much the raw distance but moreso the fact that the old record was broken four times in one day. Congratulations to Christian Sandstrom, Ken Jarvis, Christian Voight, and Erin Hemmings on some monster throws. Is 900' within reach next year? I kind of hope not as that would be double my longest throw ever and I'd have to start feeling inadequate about my game again. I have done quite a few reviews in the past few days, mostly ones that I should have reviewed but never got around to. The tank is approaching empty though, so keep those reviews coming in. My upcoming tournament plans are scheduled. The Calvary Open in St. Cloud, MN on May 4th and the North Valley Open in Inver Grove Heights, MN on May 11th. If anyone that reads this is planning on attending either of those dates, drop me an email if you'd like to meet up. If you haven't had a chance to check out the Technique Troubleshooter, it's the latest addition to this site. I've also added a few discs I wasn't planning on parting with to the for sale list including some CE Eagles, etc. New Reviews:
  • Innova Leopard
  • Innova Teebird
  • Innova Eagle
    4-30-02
    News: I've been dilligently plugging away at improving the look of this site. I'm in the process of updating the look of the disc reviews and any of the recent reviews I've posted are in the new format. If you have any feedback as to the new look, please let me know. On a positive note, the Disc Golf Technique Troubleshooter has received very positive comments and I definitely think it was worth the work. I'm slated to play my first tournament of the year on Saturday, May 4th at the Calvary Open in St. Cloud, MN and also gunning for the North Valley Open on Saturday, May 11th in Inver Grove Heights, MN. If anyone that reads this page and is going to be there wants to meet up, drop me an email. I should have all the individual disc pages updated by the end of the week as well as a few subtle new changes. I've also made some updates to the for sale page and added a few more discs that I wasn't originally planning on selling.
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Cyclone
  • Discraft Elite Z X2
  • Discraft Elite Z XS
  • Discraft Elite Xtra
  • Discraft Elite MRV
    4-28-02
    New Reviews:
  • Millennium JLS
  • Millennium Aurora MF
  • Innova SE Teebird TL
  • Innova KC Cheetah
  • Innova KC Banshee
  • Innova KC Viper
  • Innova CE Eagle
    4-27-02
    New Reviews:
  • Lightning Deluxe Tour Bag
    4-26-02
    News: Well, I've just completed the Disc Golf Technique Troubleshooter. It's a little Q/A FAQ type of a thing that covers diagnosing and fixing problems for basic and intermediate technique. I've sunk 20+ hours into it so I hope at least someone finds it helpful. Got a few new submitted reviews as well. I also want to give a thank you to all the readers out there have emailed with comments and support, it's really motivated me to turn this site into more than I had originally intended. Still got discs to get rid of on my for sale page and check out the new surveys if you haven't yet.
    New Reviews:
  • Innova CE Firebird - Submitted by Brent Fiege
  • Innova CE Eagle - Submitted by Brent Fiege
  • Innova CE Gazelle - Submitted by Brent Fiege
  • Innova CE Roc - Submitted by Brent Fiege
  • Innova CE Rhyno - Submitted by Brent Fiege
  • Innova Aviar Putt & Approach - Submitted by Brent Fiege
    4-22-02
    News: I think I figured out what I've been doing wrong in my throw. Gonna give it a try tomorrow. I know most of you probably don't care how I'm throwing, but better throwing = more throwing = more reviews hehe. Got a couple more reviews although they're pretty much the same disc so they aren't very exciting. I'll try to keep plugging away but unfortunately I only have 2 discs left that I carry and havn't reviewed yet as I've since removed the SE Valk from my bag. Still got discs to get rid of on my for sale page. Also have some new surveys up for those who havn't checked here in a while.
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Swirl APX
  • DGA Atlantis
    4-21-02
    News: Got the chance to meet someone that reads my site yesterday at a local disc retailer. If you were that individual (I apologize I'm very bad at names) and would ever like to throw a round, drop me an email. That invite is also extended to anyone in the Minneapolis area. Granted, my game has been painfully off as of late, but I still know plastic hehe. I also got a chance to play a couple of courses in the St. Cloud area yesterday and had a good time. Hopefully I'll be heading back up there for a tournament or two in the future. Got a few new reviews posted as well. I've added some new surveys that will hopefully help me get a better sense of who reads the site and how I can make it better. Also, I'm down to my last few CE/Z discs on my for sale page.
    New Reviews:
  • Innova Gazelle
  • Innova Roc
  • Innova Firebird
  • Millennium Omega AP
    4-16-02
    News: Added a new survey.
    4-14-02
    News: After a few painful rounds I've finally found my throw again. Haven't gotten all my D back yet but I'm sure it'll come with a little more practice. Posted the first review I've written in a while. I've added a few more discs to my for sale page, some of which I would rather not part with but I can't quite justify keeping them. I should have some new reviews up by the end of the week as I've added/swapped a few discs in my bag including the SE Valkyrie, DX Roc, Elite Xtra, DX Gazelle, Omega AP, and a few others.
    New Reviews:
  • Innova Valkyrie
    4-11-02
    New Reviews:
  • Ching Skill-Shot DGT - Submitted by Jason Glerum
    4-09-02
    News: Well, it's spring again here in the great white north and once again I'm having to start from scratch again on my throw as I seem to have misplaced it over the winter. Got a bunch of new reviews thanks to Jon Turner. It also turns out my little suburb is probably going to be putting in a disc golf course in the very near future. Still got many discs left I'm getting rid of, you can find that list here. New Reviews:
  • Discraft Elite Z XL - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Discraft Magnet - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Discraft Elite Xtra - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Innova KC Teebird - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Wham-o 86 Softie - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Wham-o 86 Super Soft Butter Putter - Submitted by Jon Turner
    4-03-02
    New Reviews:
  • Revolution Disc Golf Team Bag - Submitted by Rich Myers
    4-02-02
    News: Finally! Some new reviews. Thanks guys. I've had a good response so far unloading some of my spare discs, thanks to everyone so far. You can find the list of discs here.
    New Reviews:
  • Lightning Deluxe Tour Bag - Submitted by W. Dan Houck
  • Ching Skill-Shot DGT - Submitted by davemyers71@comcast.net
    3-28-02
    News: I've run into some money troubles so I'm going to unload my "spare" discs. A list of what I am getting rid of can be found here. Please e-mail me if you have any questions about any of the discs or would like photos.
    3-24-02
    News: No new reviews but I figured I'd update now that I'm back in Minnesota. Unfortunately it's been quite cold and although I'll play in rain and hail, snow is out of the question. When it melts I'll be out throwing again and I have a stack of discs to review. Hopefully I can finish my ratings system as well.
    2-26-02
    News: I will be occupied with other endeavors from the 27th until approximately march 3rd so anything submitted between now and then will not be added until the 4th.
    New Reviews:
  • Lightning #2 Hyzer = Submitted by TJ Ring
    2-18-02
    News: Wow, a ton of new submitted reviews. Thanks Jon. I'm moving in 9 days but I'll still be able to post reviews until the 26th or so. After that I will not be able to make any updates until the 4th of march or so. If it's still unusually warm in the midwest when I get there I'll hopefully be able to throw some discs and get some more reviews.
    New Reviews:
  • Discraft Elite XL - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Discraft Elite X2 - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Innova Teebird - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Innova Archangel - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Innova Stingray - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Discraft Comet - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Discraft Ron Russell Comet - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Innova Roc - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Millennium Sentinel MF - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Ching Stinger - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Innova Aviar Putt & Approach - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Discraft Soft Magnet - Submitted by Jon Turner
  • Millennium Omega Supersoft - Submitted by Jon Turner
    2-17-02
    New Reviews:
  • Innova Standard Bag - Submitted by jsglerum@hotmail.com
  • Innova Aero - Submitted by John Lacey
    02-14-02
    News: Sorry for the lack of updates, I haven't had time to throw a round in over a month so I haven't had time to review any new plastic. Things are quite busy for me right now but I will be posting any submitted reviews.
    01-08-02
    News: 100 reviews! Thanks Paul. I've added some new disc golf surveys, let me know if there are any surveys you would like to see. This might be my last update until the ~16th of January but hopefully I'll have a boatload of new reviews and other things for the site when I get back to school.
    New Reviews:
  • 2000 US Disc Golf Championship Video
  • Innova Valkyrie - Submitted by Paul Wharton
  • Dolf 16 Chain Hole Basket - Submitted by Paul Wharton
    01-06-02
    News: I have added several more video reviews. It's winter here in Minnesota and I'm not quite hardcore enough to go and play in the cold and snow. I have picked up some new discs lately and I am heading to California in a few days so hopefully I will have some new reviews of discs up in the next few weeks.
    New Reviews:
  • 2001 PDGA World Disc Golf Championship Video
  • 2000 PDGA World Disc Golf Championship Video
    Back to Main Page